Journal profile · Social Sciences-Education
Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education
ISSN 1759-667X · Association for Learning Development in Higher Education (ALDinHE) · United Kingdom
Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 16 weeks (community reports); 251 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education is published by Association for Learning Development in Higher Education (ALDinHE). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Higher Education Practises and Engagement, Evaluation of Teaching Practices and Higher Education Research Studies, together about 45.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JLDHE is indexed in Scopus, linked to CrossRef, and listed in the following: Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) British Education Index VOCEDplus Society for Research into Higher Education (Research into Higher Education Abstracts and Educational Research Abstracts) Visit our website at jldhe.aldinhe.ac.uk
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Education
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Higher Education Practises and EngagementSocial Sciences16.9%
- Evaluation of Teaching PracticesSocial Sciences16.2%
- Higher Education Research StudiesSocial Sciences12.5%
- Online and Blended LearningSocial Sciences6.2%
- Student Assessment and FeedbackSocial Sciences4.5%
- Education during COVID-19 pandemicSocial Sciences4.4%
- Discourse Analysis in Language StudiesArts and Humanities3.3%
- Doctoral Education Challenges and SolutionsHealth Professions3.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Education | Q3 | 1172/1698 | 31st |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Crossref, British Education Index, VOCEDplusPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.1LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0LetPub ·
- h-index
- 21OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 60OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.3OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,042 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 58 | 58 | 497 |
| 2025 | 251 | 251 | 435 |
| 2024 | 109 | 109 | 261 |
| 2023 | 120 | 120 | 288 |
| 2022 | 65 | 65 | 191 |
| 2021 | 133 | 133 | 159 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 150 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
Article types accepted9, with length limits
- case studiesCase studies will be short scholarly articles of up to 5,000 words (inclusive of title, abstract, keywords, and references).Length not stated
- case studyarticle; follow the JLDHE style guide). Case Studies Case studies will be short scholarly articles of up to 5,000 words (inclusive of title, abstract, keywords,…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- letterbmission to the Opinion Pieces section. Letters Letters are articles of up to 1,000 words (inclusive of title, abstract, keywords, and references) thmain text ≤ 1,000 words
- lettersLetters are articles of up to 1,000 words (inclusive of title, abstract, keywords, and references) that offer a brief, theoretically informed argument on curren…Length not stated
- opinionsubmission to the Case Studies section. Opinion Pieces Opinion pieces will be short scholarly articles of up to 3,000 words (inclusive of title, abstract, keywo…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- opinion piecesOpinion pieces will be short scholarly articles of up to 3,000 words (inclusive of title, abstract, keywords, and references) that express an opinion on issues …Length not stated
- papersPapers will be articles of up to 8,000 words (inclusive of title, abstract, keywords, and references) that report recent high-quality research, theoretical adva…Length not stated
- reviewand use a conversational writing style. Reviews Book reviews will be approximately 1,000 words in length (excluding references). They will likely include:main text ≤ 1,000 words
- reviewsBook reviews will be approximately 1,000 words in length (excluding references).Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Self-archiving
- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Copyright retained by authors; journal right of first publication; Creative Commons Attribution License Model summary
Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. Authors are able to enter into separate, additio…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
No APCs; published online using Open Journal Systems. Model summary
JLDHE is published online using Open Journal Systems and does not charge publication fees (APCs).
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review Process
Blind review; anonymised submissions required Model summary
Authors are requested to submit to JLDHE an anonymous version of their paper, with all biographical details removed for peer review purposes. PLEASE NOTE: part of our procedure is to post a call for peer reviewers to our regular subscriber mailing lists. We might use anonymised extracts from your submission (normally your manuscript’s title and abstract) for this purpose. If you do not consent to …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Original work; not under consideration elsewhere Model summary
I confirm that the submission has not been previously published, nor is it before another journal for consideration (or an explanation has been provided in Comments to the Editor).
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving
Preprint and self-archiving permitted and encouraged Model summary
Authors are permitted and encouraged to post their work online (e.g., in institutional repositories or on their website) prior to and during the submission process, as it can lead to productive exchanges, as well as earlier and greater citation of published work
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Association for Learning Development in Higher Education (ALDinHE)
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1759-667X
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education
How long does peer review take at Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education?
Authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Learning Development in Higher Education is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .