Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Journal of Language and Cultural Education

ISSN 1339-4045 · eISSN 1339-4584 · Sciendo · Poland

Journal of Language and Cultural Education: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); fully open access; APC about USD 194; review about 12 weeks (community reports); indexed in ESCI.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Education
Review timeabout 12 weeksCommunity average
APCUSD 194Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year—No count yet

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Language and Cultural Education is published by Sciendo and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are EFL/ESL Teaching and Learning, Second Language Learning and Teaching and Second Language Acquisition and Learning, together about 40.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Language and Linguistics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Journal of Language and Cultural Education (JoLaCE) is a double-blind peer-reviewed international journal promoting international scholarly exchange among researchers, academics, and professionals. It carries only original, previously unpublished full-length research and survey articles that reflect the latest research and developments in both theoretical and practical aspects of language, literary and cultural education. Review studies, research-in-progress reports, short research notes, commentaries, and in-field publications reviews are invited to be published as well.Rejection Rate53,2%

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Editor-in-chief Silvia PokrivčákováPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 25%); most named Slovakia 3, Mainland China 1 (4 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. EFL/ESL Teaching and LearningArts and Humanities18%
  2. Second Language Learning and TeachingArts and Humanities15.1%
  3. Second Language Acquisition and LearningPsychology7.6%
  4. Discourse Analysis in Language StudiesArts and Humanities5.2%
  5. Language, Metaphor, and CognitionPsychology5.2%
  6. Linguistics, Language Diversity, and IdentityArts and Humanities4.5%
  7. Multilingual Education and PolicySocial Sciences4.3%
  8. Translation Studies and PracticesArts and Humanities3.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCILetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
17OpenAlex ·
i10-index
32OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.5OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 273 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2024202010
20233131170
2022181819
2021212144

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 12 weeksLetPub ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewLetPub

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessLetPub

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexEUR 180——
LetPubEUR 180No—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted6
  1. commentariesReview studies, research-in-progress reports, short research notes, commentaries, and in-field publications reviews are invited to be published as well.Length not stated
  2. in-field publications reviewsReview studies, research-in-progress reports, short research notes, commentaries, and in-field publications reviews are invited to be published as well.Length not stated
  3. research articlesIt carries only original, previously unpublished full-length research and survey articles that reflect the latest research and developments in both theoretical …Length not stated
  4. research-in-progress reportsReview studies, research-in-progress reports, short research notes, commentaries, and in-field publications reviews are invited to be published as well.Length not stated
  5. review studiesReview studies, research-in-progress reports, short research notes, commentaries, and in-field publications reviews are invited to be published as well.Length not stated
  6. short research notesReview studies, research-in-progress reports, short research notes, commentaries, and in-field publications reviews are invited to be published as well.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright
License & copyright Copyright 2026 © Paradigm. All rights reserved.

Currency:EUR €USD $GBP £ Terms of servicePrivacy policyEthical policiesAccessibility

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Sciendo
Country or region
Poland
Language
English
ISSN
1339-4045
Electronic ISSN
1339-4584
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Language and Cultural Education

What CAS zone is Journal of Language and Cultural Education in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Language and Cultural Education is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Language and Cultural Education?

Authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Language and Cultural Education based?

Of the 4 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 25%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Slovakia (3) and Mainland China (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Language and Cultural Education?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Language and Cultural Education is indexed in ESCI.

Is Journal of Language and Cultural Education open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Language and Cultural Education is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 194.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .