Journal profile · Social Sciences-Education

Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice

ISSN 2405-4526 · Elsevier

Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice: subscription journal; APC about USD 2,820; review about 316 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 58 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartileQ2Education · rank 725/1698 · 57th percentile
Review time316 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 2,820Subscription journal
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year582025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Interprofessional Education and Collaboration, Innovations in Medical Education and Interdisciplinary Research and Collaboration, together about 74.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice, a quarterly online-only journal, provides innovative ideas for interprofessional educators and practitioners through peer-reviewed articles and reports. Each issue examines current issues and trends in interprofessional healthcare topics, offering progressive solutions to the challenges facing the profession. The Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice (JIEP) is affiliated with University of Nebraska Medical Center and the official journal of National Academies of Practice (NAP) and supports its mission to serve the public and the health profession by advancing education, policy, practice & research. This Journal uses double-anonymized peer review. For more details, please see the following link: (Link)

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Education

Editor-in-chief Devin R. NickolPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 41 (41 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Interprofessional Education and CollaborationHealth Professions35.7%
  2. Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine24%
  3. Interdisciplinary Research and CollaborationDecision Sciences14.7%
  4. Simulation-Based Education in HealthcareMedicine6.4%
  5. Team Dynamics and PerformancePsychology2.2%
  6. Patient Safety and Medication ErrorsHealth Professions2%
  7. Pharmacy and Medical PracticesPharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics1.7%
  8. Healthcare professionals’ stress and burnoutHealth Professions1.6%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)

SubjectQuartileRankPercentile
EducationQ2725/169857th

Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub

Database indexing

ScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
2.6LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
2.6Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.53LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.74LetPub ·
h-index
28OpenAlex ·
i10-index
154OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.47OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 916 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20267023552
20255824815
2024454782
20239321808
202210326606
20217920599

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

316 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Submission to first decision
63 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
155 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
316 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
2 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Subscription journalLetPub

A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 2,820 / EUR 2,810 / GBP 2,400 / JPY 372,090——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Open calls for papers7, by deadline
  1. Technology-Enabled Learning in Interprofessional Education and Collaborative PracticeDeadline
  2. Theoretical Foundations of Interprofessional PracticeDeadline
  3. Measuring the impact of interprofessional education and practice interventions: tools and strategiesDeadline
  4. Advancing Healthcare through Interprofessional Continuing Education InitiativesDeadline
  5. Interprofessional Practices in Death, Dying, and DispositionDeadline
  6. Interprofessional Approaches to Medication Management & DeprescribingDeadline
  7. Interprofessional Teamwork to Improve Diabetes and Obesity CareDeadline
Publisher website
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
1–7
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Highlights
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted8, with length limits
  1. case reportCase Reports describe complex patient cases or small case series highlighting unique or novel interprofessional practice‑based interventions. Manuscripts must c…main text ≤ 3,500 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
  2. commentaryCommentaries provide evidence‑informed perspectives from experts and thought leaders on emerging topics, recently published work, policy issues, or conceptual d…main text ≤ 2,000 words
  3. curricular resourceCurricular Resources provide structured descriptions of interprofessional educational activities that can be replicated or adapted by others. Submissions should…Length not stated
  4. editorialThe Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice accepts eight article types, described below. At submission, authors must select an Article Type and ident…main text ≤ 2,000 words
  5. research paperResearch Papers report completed empirical studies that contribute new knowledge to interprofessional education and/or interprofessional practice. Quantitative,…Length not stated
  6. reviewThe Journal of Interprofessional Education & Practice accepts eight article types, described below. At submission, authors must select an Article Type and ident…Length not stated
  7. review articleReview Articles synthesize existing literature on interprofessional education or practice to summarize current knowledge, identify gaps, and propose future dire…main text ≤ 6,000 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
  8. short communicationShort Communications present concise reports of new and significant research or quality improvement findings that warrant rapid dissemination to the interprofes…main text ≤ 2,500 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
ISSN
2405-4526
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice

How long does peer review take at Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice?

The publisher reports about 316 days (submission to acceptance). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Highlights: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice based?

Of the 41 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (41). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice is indexed in Scopus.

Is Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice is a subscription journal. APC about USD 2,820.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .