Journal profile

Journal of Fasting and Health

ISSN 2345-2587 · eISSN 2821-2746 · Mashhad University of Medical Sciences · Iran, Islamic Republic of

Journal of Fasting and Health: fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 16 weeks (community reports).

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartile—No CiteScore rank
Review timeabout 16 weeksCommunity average
APCCharged, amount not publishedFully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year—No count yet

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Fasting and Health is published by Mashhad University of Medical Sciences. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dietary Effects on Health, Circadian rhythm and melatonin and Religion, Spirituality, and Psychology, together about 55.6% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Nutrition, Fasting and Health (JNFH) is a peer review English language journal that provides publication of articles in a different areas of nutrition and such as: Clinical nutrition Community nutrition Public health nutrition Nutrigenomics Mulecular nutrition Nutritional biochemistry Food health and safety Sport nutrition Nutrition physiology ERAS (Enhanced Recovery After Surgery) Food Security Health Sciences and also all aspects of fasting in health and diseases such as: prolonged fasting, fasting and weight loss, fasting therapy, intermittent fasting, preoperative fasting, postprandial fasting and water fasting

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Editor-in-chief Mohsen NematyPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Iran 10, United Kingdom 4, Saudi Arabia 2, Pakistan 2, Türkiye 1 (21 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Dietary Effects on HealthMedicine33.3%
  2. Circadian rhythm and melatoninNeuroscience11.1%
  3. Religion, Spirituality, and PsychologySocial Sciences11.1%
  4. Mindfulness and Compassion InterventionsPsychology11.1%
  5. Thermoregulation and physiological responsesMedicine11.1%
  6. Sleep and Work-Related FatiguePsychology11.1%
  7. Occupational Health and PerformanceHealth Professions11.1%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

EBSCO, ISC, Index Copernicus, HINARIPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
1OpenAlex ·
i10-index
0OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026001
2021110

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 16 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Unspecified peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJIRR 3,500,000NoCC BY
LetPubNo APCNo—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
≥ 3
Manuscript length
≤ 5,000 words
Reference style
Vancouver
Suggested reviewers
Required
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted8, with length limits
  1. case reportould be limited to less than 150 words. Case Reports: Total word count of the manuscript from introduction to discussion should not exceed 1500 words. The Journ…main text ≤ 1,500 words
  2. case reportsCase Reports: Total word count of the manuscript from introduction to discussion should not exceed 1500 words.Length not stated
  3. research paperould not exceed 60 for review articles. Research Papers: Total word count of the manuscript from introduction to discussion should not exceed 4000 words and the…main text ≤ 4,000 words
  4. research papersResearch Papers: Total word count of the manuscript from introduction to discussion should not exceed 4000 words and the entire manuscript, including figures, t…Length not stated
  5. review articlenuscript for submission of the journal: Review Articles: Total word count of the manuscript from introduction to discussion should not exceed 5000 words and the…main text ≤ 5,000 words
  6. review articlesReview Articles: Total word count of the manuscript from introduction to discussion should not exceed 5000 words and the entire manuscript, including figures, t…Length not stated
  7. short communicationould not exceed 50 for research papers. Short Communications: Total word count of the manuscript from introduction to discussion should not exceed 2000 words. T…main text ≤ 2,000 words
  8. short communicationsShort Communications: Total word count of the manuscript from introduction to discussion should not exceed 2000 words.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, Plagiarism
Publication ethics

Uses COPE guidelines for all editorial and ethical principles Model summary

Journal of Nutrition, Fasting and Health supported and uses COPE (Committee On Publication Ethics) guidelines for all editorial and ethical principles.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism

Plagiarism checked with iThenticate; acceptable similarity under 20% Model summary

All submitted manuscripts will checks for plagiarism with "iThenticate Plagiarism Detection Software", before acceptance. The acceptable percentage of similarity report for the JNFH is under 20%.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Mashhad University of Medical Sciences
Country or region
Iran, Islamic Republic of
Language
English
ISSN
2345-2587
Electronic ISSN
2821-2746
Latest issue on the website
Volume 14, Issue 3 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Fasting and Health

How long does peer review take at Journal of Fasting and Health?

Authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Fasting and Health?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Suggested reviewers: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Fasting and Health based?

Of the 21 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Iran (10), United Kingdom (4) and Saudi Arabia (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Fasting and Health?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Fasting and Health is indexed in DOAJ.

Is Journal of Fasting and Health open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Fasting and Health is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .