Journal profile · DERMATOLOGY
Journal of Drugs in Dermatology
ISSN 1545-9616 · Journal of Drugs in Dermatology · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 2002
Journal of Drugs in Dermatology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.7; subscription journal; review 3–6 weeks (community reports); community-reported acceptance: easy; 218 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Drugs in Dermatology is published by Journal of Drugs in Dermatology and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dermatologic Treatments and Research, Acne and Rosacea Treatments and Effects and Dermatology and Skin Diseases, together about 31.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Dermatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
We present original articles, award-winning case reports, and timely features pertaining to new methods, techniques, drug therapy, and devices in dermatology that provide readers with peer reviewed content of the utmost quality.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): DERMATOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Deborah S. SarnoffPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Dermatologic Treatments and ResearchMedicine11.2%
- Acne and Rosacea Treatments and EffectsMedicine10.8%
- Dermatology and Skin DiseasesMedicine9.8%
- Psoriasis: Treatment and PathogenesisImmunology and Microbiology7.8%
- Skin Protection and AgingMedicine7.3%
- Nonmelanoma Skin Cancer StudiesMedicine5.5%
- Hair Growth and DisordersMedicine5.2%
- Autoimmune Bullous Skin DiseasesMedicine4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.62LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.69LetPub ·
- h-index
- 57LetPub ·
- h-index
- 30OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 210OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.61OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 9.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0.53%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 194LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 13,760Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,373 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 180 | 0 | 22 |
| 2025 | 218 | 5 | 292 |
| 2024 | 204 | 38 | 658 |
| 2023 | 220 | 60 | 1,101 |
| 2022 | 149 | 38 | 956 |
| 2021 | 146 | 65 | 1,348 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–6 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Single-anonymous peer review, at least 2 reviewersPublisher website · model-extracted
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
No source has fee information yet; check the journal's website.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- USD 25
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- AMA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Cover letter
- Required
- Not considered
- supplemental materials
Article types accepted13
- brief communicationsPreliminary findings, novel hypotheses, or significant observations not requiring a full article.Length not stated
- case reportsDetails unique, rare, or instructive clinical cases with new insights or questions.Length not stated
- editorialsInvited expert commentary or perspectives on current issues or topics of interest.Length not stated
- featuresWe present original articles, award-winning case reports, and timely features pertaining to new methods, techniques, drug therapy, and devices in dermatologyLength not stated
- letters to the editorCritical commentary on recent articles or brief original observations.Length not stated
- news, views, and reviewsInvited submissions that offer expert commentary, editorial perspective, or curated highlights on emerging trends and topics in dermatology.Length not stated
- original articlesWe present original articles, award-winning case reports, and timely features pertaining to new methods, techniques, drug therapy, and devices in dermatologyLength not stated
- original articles / review articlesPresents new and significant research or synthesizes literature for insights and future directions.Length not stated
- pipeline previewsHighlights early-phase research, clinical trial updates, or product innovations. May be company-submitted.Length not stated
- podcastsPodcastsLength not stated
- research lettersShort reports of original research or clinical studies with significant interest.Length not stated
- supplementsSupplement LibraryLength not stated
- video abstractsVideo AbstractsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism
- AI use
AI authorship policy Model summary
Artificial Intelligence (AI) does not meet the Journal of Drugs in Dermatology requirements for authorship. AI-based tools such as large language models (LLMs), generative AI, and chatbots (ChatGPT) do not meet ICMJE or COPE authorship requirements, given the need for accountability. AI-based tools must be disclosed and clearly explained in all Journal of Drugs in Dermatology publications.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Supplemental materials policy Model summary
The JDD does not host or publish supplemental materials.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Limited Copyright Transfer Agreement
Copyright transfer agreement Model summary
In order to proceed with the peer review process, the Submitting Author must complete and electronically sign the Limited Copyright Transfer Agreement. This form is required to complete the submission process. This form transfers copyright from authors to the Journal of Drugs in Dermatology only if the submission has been accepted for publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Online-only publication policy Model summary
At the discretion of the editorial board, the following categories—Editorials, Research Letters, Letters to the Editor, Brief Communications, and Case Reports—may be published exclusively in the online version of the journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Peer review process Model summary
Our high standards of content are maintained through a balanced, peer-review process.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Duplicate publication policy Model summary
Any manuscript submitted to JDD must be original, and the manuscript, or substantial parts of it, must not be under consideration by any other journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Journal of Drugs in Dermatology
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 2002
- ISSN
- 1545-9616
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Drugs in Dermatology
What CAS zone is Journal of Drugs in Dermatology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Drugs in Dermatology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Dermatology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Drugs in Dermatology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.7; CiteScore 2.6, h-index 30.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Drugs in Dermatology?
Authors report an average review time of 3–6 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Drugs in Dermatology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: AMA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Journal of Drugs in Dermatology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Drugs in Dermatology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Drugs in Dermatology open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Drugs in Dermatology is a subscription journal. Fee information is not available yet; check the journal's website.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .