Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Journal of Continuing Higher Education

ISSN 0737-7363 · eISSN 1948-4801 · Taylor & Francis

Journal of Continuing Higher Education: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.9 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 69 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 22% (journal website); 25 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor0.9From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Education
Review time69 daysPublisher-reported, first decision after review
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance22%From the journal's website
Articles per year252025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Continuing Higher Education is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diverse Scientific and Economic Studies, Higher Education Learning Practices and Higher Education Research Studies, together about 31.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Continuing Higher Education (JCHE) strives to support continuing higher education by serving as a forum for the reporting and exchange of information based on research, observations, and experience relevant to the field. JCHE serves the leaders, administrators, faculty, and staff who work with adult/nontraditional/post-traditional students or provide programs of continuing education within higher education. Thesestudents are often defined by age (most often 25 and above) and typically hold concurrent life roles that compete with their roles as students (e.g. workers, family providers, and community leaders) . They are served through credit and noncredit offerings in both traditional and innovative formats (i.e., online, off-campus, accelerated, etc.) in either undergraduate or graduate studies. JCHE publishes quantitative and mixed methods research regularly. The majority of our articles fall within the qualitative tradition. We are currently seeking submission of major articles (current research articles, of up to 7,000 words on the following topics: Adult and nontraditional students, including veterans, enrolled in undergraduate studies. Adult students at the graduate-level looking for career and academic guidance as well as financial management and work/life balance in programs that feature innovative instructional strategies tailored to the unique needs of graduate learners. These programs often utilize technology-enhanced learning tools to support advanced learners and feature scholar-practitioner oriented content and interdisciplinary approaches in graduate programs. Leadership and management in applied professional education settings Students who are served by adult and continuing higher education organizations Organization and administration of continuing higher education Development and implementation of new continuing higher education program initiatives Programs and services designed to support continuing higher education (undergraduate, graduate, certificate, degree and noncredit) students Social justice issues within continuing higher education Design and implementation of effective online and hybrid teaching in continuing higher education serving adult students Use of technology to advance program design, teaching and learning in continuing higher education Continuing higher education's role in preparing for the job impact of AI and/or robotics The journal occasionally publishes continuing higher education articles that are the

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance11.4%
  2. Higher Education Learning PracticesSocial Sciences10.6%
  3. Higher Education Research StudiesSocial Sciences9.4%
  4. Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering9.4%
  5. Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science8%
  6. Online and Blended LearningSocial Sciences6.7%
  7. Education Systems and PolicySocial Sciences6%
  8. Higher Education and EmployabilitySocial Sciences5.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of ScienceERICPublisher website

Other: ProQuest, OCLC, EBSCOhost, Elsevier BV, ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), Ovid, Taylor & Francis, Thomson Reuters

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
0.9Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.5Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.8LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
2.8Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.47LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.47Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.64LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.64Publisher website ·
h-index
40OpenAlex ·
i10-index
208OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.9OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
22.2%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
7.69%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
24LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
34,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,591 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20261860
202525511
202418444
202312031
2022253156
2021262228

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

69 daysfirst decision after review

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
22%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
5 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
69 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
49 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted5, with length limits
  1. book reviewsThe journal occasionally publishes book reviews of current publications in the field—prospective authors are advised to consult with the editor prior to prepari…Length not stated
  2. editorialASSOCIATION FOR CONTINUING HIGHER EDUCATION OFFICERS President Julie Shankle Executive Director, University of Central Florida President-Elect Bryan Best Sr. In…Length not stated
  3. ideas in practiceThe journal also encourages the submission of " Ideas in Practice" articles of up to 5,000 words.Length not stated
  4. major articlesWe are currently seeking submission of major articles (current research articles, of up to 7,000 words on the following topics:Length not stated
  5. research articleg submission of major articles (current research articles, of up to 7,000 words on the following topics: Adult and nontraditional students,main text ≤ 7,000 words
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
Open access Open access

The Journal of Continuing Higher Education is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Double anonymized peer review and editorial review for all research, conceptual, theoretical, literature review, and Ideas in Practice articles. Model summary

All research, conceptual, theoretical, literature review, and Ideas in Practice articles in this journal have undergone anonymous double anonymized and editorial review.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
ISSN
0737-7363
Electronic ISSN
1948-4801
Society / sponsor
Association for Continuing Higher Education
Latest issue on the website
Volume 74, Issue 2 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Continuing Higher Education

What CAS zone is Journal of Continuing Higher Education in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Continuing Higher Education is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Continuing Higher Education?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.9 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.8, h-index 40.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Continuing Higher Education?

The publisher reports about 69 days (first decision after review); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 22%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Which databases index Journal of Continuing Higher Education?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Continuing Higher Education is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science and ERIC; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of Continuing Higher Education open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Continuing Higher Education is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .