Journal profile · SOCIAL WORK
Journal of Community Practice
ISSN 1070-5422 · eISSN 1543-3706 · Taylor & Francis
Journal of Community Practice: CAS Zone 3 · Sociology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.5 (journal website); JCR Q2 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 227 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 16% (journal website); 29 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Community Practice is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 3 of Sociology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Social Work Education and Practice, Community Health and Development and Homelessness and Social Issues, together about 38.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JOIN ACOSA Association for Community Organization and Social Action – submit an online application. ACOSA Members receive the Journal of Community Practice as a benefit of membership. The Journal of Community Practice is an interdisciplinary journal grounded in social welfare. The journal provides a forum for community practice, including community organizing, planning, social administration, organizational development, community development, social action, and social change. The journal contributes to the advancement of knowledge related to numerous disciplines, including social work and the social sciences, urban planning, social and economic development, community organizing, policy analysis, urban and rural sociology, community health, public administration, and nonprofit management. As a forum for authors and a resource for readers, this journal makes an invaluable contribution to practice in community settings from conceptualization to implementation to evaluation. The Journal of Community Practice articulates contemporary and emerging issues, providing direction on how to think about social problems, developing innovative approaches to dealing with them, and outlining ways to implement these concepts and approaches in classroom, research, and practice settings. As the only journal focusing on community practice, it covers research, theory, practice, and curriculum strategies for the full range of work with communities and organizations. This unique interdisciplinary journal publishes manuscripts utilizing a range of research methods, including: case studies historical studies participatory and/or action research program evaluation qualitative, quantitative, or mixed methods theory and model development The Journal accepts manuscripts in four format types: full-length original research manuscripts, From the Field, From the Classroom, and Innovations in Community Research. All manuscripts submitted to the journal must reflect originality, conceptual and empirical soundness, and be well-argued in the context of the literature. All manuscripts submitted to the journal undergo double anonymous peer review. For information or questions about the journal, please contact the Managing Editor directly at jcp@acosa.org. Peer Review Policy: All research articles in this journal have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and refereeing by two anonymous reviewers.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): SOCIAL WORK
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Social Work Education and PracticeSocial Sciences14.5%
- Community Health and DevelopmentHealth Professions13.7%
- Homelessness and Social IssuesHealth Professions10.5%
- Service-Learning and Community EngagementSocial Sciences9.5%
- Youth Development and Social SupportSocial Sciences4.4%
- Urban, Neighborhood, and Segregation StudiesSocial Sciences4%
- Mental Health and Patient InvolvementHealth Professions3.9%
- Health Policy Implementation ScienceHealth Professions3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Sociology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Sociology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Social Work | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Sociology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Sociology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Social Work | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- JCR Q2 · best quartile · 2025
- CiteScore Q2 · 2025
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
CINAHLPublisher website
Other: Academic Search Complete, Academic Search Premier, Academic Source Premier, ASSIA: Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts, CAB International Abstracts, Family Index Database, MegaFile, Social Work Abstracts, SOCIndex, TOCPremier, Violence and Abuse Abstracts
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 2.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.39LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.39Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.69LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 0.69Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 54OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 396OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.69OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 7.69%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 24LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 114,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,082 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 33 | 10 | 32 |
| 2025 | 29 | 9 | 38 |
| 2024 | 31 | 14 | 87 |
| 2023 | 30 | 11 | 184 |
| 2022 | 29 | 8 | 234 |
| 2021 | 29 | 6 | 231 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
227 daysfirst decision after review
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 16%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 164 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 227 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 100 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4
- from the classroomThe Journal accepts manuscripts in four format types: full-length original research manuscripts, From the Field, From the Classroom, and Innovations in Communit…Length not stated
- from the fieldThe Journal accepts manuscripts in four format types: full-length original research manuscripts, From the Field, From the Classroom, and Innovations in Communit…Length not stated
- full-length original research manuscriptsThe Journal accepts manuscripts in four format types: full-length original research manuscripts, From the Field, From the Classroom, and Innovations in Communit…Length not stated
- innovations in community researchThe Journal accepts manuscripts in four format types: full-length original research manuscripts, From the Field, From the Classroom, and Innovations in Communit…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
- Open access Open access
Journal of Community Practice is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverabili…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
All manuscripts submitted to the journal undergo double anonymous peer review. Model summary
All manuscripts submitted to the journal undergo double anonymous peer review.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor & Francis
- ISSN
- 1070-5422
- Electronic ISSN
- 1543-3706
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 34, Issue 1 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Community Practice
What CAS zone is Journal of Community Practice in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Community Practice is in Zone 3 of Sociology, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Social Work. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Sociology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Community Practice?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.5 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.9, h-index 54.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Community Practice?
The publisher reports about 227 days (first decision after review); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 16%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What JCR quartile is Journal of Community Practice in?
The journal's website gives JCR Q2 (best quartile). JCR quartiles are Clarivate's to confirm and a different system from the CAS zones; in the CAS ranking the journal is in Zone 3 of Sociology.
Which databases index Journal of Community Practice?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Community Practice is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists CINAHL; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Community Practice open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Community Practice is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .