Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy
ISSN 1081-3004 · eISSN 1936-2706 · Wiley-Blackwell
Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.52; hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,870; median 191 days to acceptance (84 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 13% (journal website); 54 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Literacy, Media, and Education, Reading and Literacy Development and Child Development and Digital Technology, together about 34% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy highlights innovative, peer-reviewed, research-based practices aimed at improving engagement and achievement among literacy learners ages 12 and older. Abstracting & Indexing Academic ASAP (GALE Cengage) General Reference Center (GALE Cengage) Academic OneFile (GALE Cengage) InfoTrac (GALE Cengage) Academic Search Alumni Edition (EBSCO Publishing) InfoTrac Junior Edition (GALE Cengage) Academic Search Complete (EBSCO Publishing) InfoTrac Student Edition (GALE Cengage) Academic Search Elite (EBSCO Publishing) Linguistics Collection (ProQuest) Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Publishing) Linguistics Database (ProQuest) Art, Design & Architecture Collection (ProQuest) MLA International Bibliography (MLA) ArticleFirst (OCLC) Professional Collection (GALE Cengage) Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) Professional Development Collection (EBSCO Publishing) Arts Premium Collection (ProQuest) ProQuest Central (ProQuest) Book Review Index Online (GALE Cengage) ProQuest Central K-279 Education Collection (ProQuest) ProQuest Professional Education (ProQuest) Education Database (ProQuest) Psychology Collection (GALE Cengage) Education Full Text (HW Wilson) Research Library (ProQuest) Education Index/Abstracts (EBSCO Publishing) Research Library Prep (ProQuest) Education Research Complete (EBSCO Publishing) SCOPUS (Elsevier) Educator’s Reference Complete (GALE Cengage) Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) ERA: Educational Research Abstracts Online (T&F) Social Sciences Citation Index (Clarivate Analytics) ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center (CSC) Student Resources in Context (GALE Cengage) Expanded Academic ASAP (GALE Cengage) Studies on Women & Gender Abstracts (T&F) Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO Publishing) TOC Premier (EBSCO Publishing) General OneFile (GALE Cengage) Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named South Africa 2, Taiwan, China 1, Germany 1, Singapore 1, Jordan 1 (7 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Literacy, Media, and EducationArts and Humanities19.5%
- Reading and Literacy DevelopmentPsychology7.8%
- Child Development and Digital TechnologySocial Sciences6.7%
- Digital Storytelling and EducationHealth Professions6.5%
- Educator Training and Historical PedagogySocial Sciences5.8%
- Themes in Literature AnalysisArts and Humanities4.9%
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences4.5%
- Educational Methods and Media UseComputer Science4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Education Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Education | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Education & Educational Research | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceERICPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest, OCLC
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.52LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.52Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.43LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.68LetPub ·
- h-index
- 89OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,034OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.7OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 42.06%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 29LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 38Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 242,270Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,726 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 50 | 23 | 7 |
| 2025 | 54 | 29 | 50 |
| 2024 | 87 | 57 | 267 |
| 2023 | 58 | 27 | 300 |
| 2022 | 63 | 18 | 326 |
| 2021 | 103 | 15 | 839 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
191 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 139 days – 253 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 17 days (85 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 213 days
- Sample
- 84 articles with submission and acceptance dates (115 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 13%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 13%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 35 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 35 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 205 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 18 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,870 / EUR 2,370 / GBP 1,930 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- Author–date
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Article types accepted11
- articleArticle reports original research, with methods, findings, and conclusions. Most articles are between 6000-6500 words. 7,000 recommended word limitLength not stated
- commentariesCommentaries expert opinion that contextualizes one or more articles previously published in JAAL, commenting on where the field stands now in relation to the t…Length not stated
- commentaryArticle Type Description Recommended Word Limit Abstract / Structure Other Requirements Article reports original research, with methods, findings, and conclusio…Length not stated
- discussionDiscussion Articles that discuss applied practice or current issues in the field. The article can be practical or conceptual. These are shorter pieces that not …Length not stated
- letterArticle Type Description Recommended Word Limit Abstract / Structure Other Requirements Article reports original research, with methods, findings, and conclusio…Length not stated
- letter to the editorArticle Type Description Recommended Word Limit Abstract / Structure Other Requirements Article reports original research, with methods, findings, and conclusio…Length not stated
- literature reviewArticle Type Description Recommended Word Limit Abstract / Structure Other Requirements Article reports original research, with methods, findings, and conclusio…Length not stated
- media reviewMedia Review review of print and digital texts (including videos and websites) that inform literacy teaching and related educational practices. 1,500 recommende…Length not stated
- opinionArticle Type Description Recommended Word Limit Abstract / Structure Other Requirements Article reports original research, with methods, findings, and conclusio…Length not stated
- original researchArticle Type Description Recommended Word Limit Abstract / Structure Other Requirements Article reports original research, with methods, findings, and conclusio…Length not stated
- reviewArticle Type Description Recommended Word Limit Abstract / Structure Other Requirements Article reports original research, with methods, findings, and conclusio…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, License & copyright, Peer review
- AI use Artificial Intelligence Generated Content
Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools—such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs)—cannot be considered capable of initiating an original piece of research without direction by human authors. They also cannot be accountable for a published work or for research design, which is a generally held requirement of authorship (as discussed in the previous section), no…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
Name change policy: Wiley updates and republishes paper and redelivers metadata to indexing services. Model summary
All listed authors should have contributed to the manuscript substantially and have agreed to the final submitted version. Review editorial standards and scroll down for a description of authorship criteria.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Reproduction of Copyright Material
Copyright & licensing: standard copyright agreement or Open Access under Creative Commons; journal uses CC-BY/CC-BY-NC/CC-BY-NC-ND. Model summary
If excerpts from copyrighted works owned by third parties are included, credit must be shown in the contribution. It is your responsibility to also obtain written permission for reproduction from the copyright owners. For more information visit Wiley’s Copyright Terms & Conditions FAQ.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 1. Submission and Peer Review Process
Double-anonymized peer review; papers sent to review only if Editor-in-Chief determines quality and relevance requirements are met. Model summary
Once the submission materials have been prepared in accordance with the Author Guidelines, manuscripts should be submitted online at https://authors.wiley.com/journal/jaal. For help with submissions, please contact: submissionhelp@wiley.com. This journal does not charge submission fees. Article Preparation Support Wiley Editing Services offers expert help with English Language Editing, as well as …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- ISSN
- 1081-3004
- Electronic ISSN
- 1936-2706
- Society / sponsor
- International Literacy Association
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 70, Issue 3 (December 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy
What CAS zone is Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.52; CiteScore 2.2, h-index 89.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy?
Based on the dates recorded on 84 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 191 days (interquartile range 139–253 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 13% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Reference style: Author–date; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy based?
Of the 7 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Africa (2), Taiwan, China (1) and Germany (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy is indexed in SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science and ERIC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,870.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .