Journal profile

Irish Journal of Academic Practice

ISSN 2009-7387 · Technological University Dublin · Ireland

Irish Journal of Academic Practice: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 8 weeks (community reports).

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartile—No CiteScore rank
Review timeabout 8 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year—No count yet

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

The journal is based the areas of learning, teaching, technology and professional development. Specific topics will include curriculum development, language and education, teacher education, the education of special groups, education and learning technologies/media, educational leadership, theories of education, literacy, educational research and policy. Special emphasis is on innovative practices in teaching and learning. Articles on other related topics may be accepted if they have a clear relationship to research or practice in this field. Its primary audience is all those who teach, research and support learning in higher education, and those who make or influence policy and practice, within TU Dublin and externally across the third-level sector in Ireland. IJAP is designed to have maximum impact through being freely available online, fully archived and peer-reviewed. IJAP encourages dissemination of good practice and promote networking and collaboration and offers the opportunity for higher education staff to engage in debates on learning and teaching and to contribute to pedagogical research.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
0OpenAlex ·
i10-index
0OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 8 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY-NC-SA
LetPubNo APCNo—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
300–500 words
Keywords
4–6
Manuscript length
≤ 6,000 words
Reference style
APA
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted7, with length limits
  1. book reviewsBook Reviews – a critical overview of a book related to learning and teaching (a maximum of 750 words).Length not stated
  2. case studiesCase Studies - based on learning or teaching in practice, typically describing: the organisational and historical context, technical specifications of the proje…Length not stated
  3. conference reflection piecesConference Reflection Pieces – a short and thought provoking piece responding to issues raised at a conference at keynotes or individual presentations (a maximu…Length not stated
  4. opinion piecesOpinion Pieces - short and thought provoking, stating a position and drawing on facts and evidence to support it (a maximum of 750 words).Length not stated
  5. research articlesResearch Articles - longer papers, providing a clear rationale for the study within the body of published research, an overview of the research methodology adop…Length not stated
  6. research paperwise indicated. Types of Contributions: Research papers (4000-6000 words) are welcomed from all disciplines and subject areas. Thesemain text ≤ 6,000 words
  7. technology reviewsTechnology Reviews – a critique or review of a technology application, outlining its application for learning and teaching and its strengths and weaknesses (a m…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review
License & copyright

Authors are responsible for obtaining written permission to quote or reproduce material from other publications. Model summary

It is the author’s responsibility to obtain written permission to quote or reproduce material that has appeared in another publication, including the author’s own work published elsewhere.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer Review Procedures

Double-blind peer review process. Model summary

All contributions to IJAP are peer reviewed by The Editorial Advisory Panel and/or copy-edited. Additional editorial/review expertise may be sought by the Editorial Team as appropriate. Authors may be contacted directly by copy editors for clarifications. Authors will receive edited/peer reviewed copy for final approval before publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Technological University Dublin
Country or region
Ireland
Language
English
ISSN
2009-7387
Latest issue on the website
Volume 14, Issue 1 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Irish Journal of Academic Practice

How long does peer review take at Irish Journal of Academic Practice?

Authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Irish Journal of Academic Practice?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 300–500 words; Keywords: 4–6; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Irish Journal of Academic Practice?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Irish Journal of Academic Practice is indexed in DOAJ.

Is Irish Journal of Academic Practice open access, and what is the APC?

Irish Journal of Academic Practice is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .