Journal profile
International Journal of Clinical Legal Education
ISSN 1467-1069 · eISSN 2056-3930 · Northumbria University Library · United Kingdom
International Journal of Clinical Legal Education: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 9 weeks (community reports); 16 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
International Journal of Clinical Legal Education is published by Northumbria University Library. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Legal Education and Practice Innovations, Innovations in Medical Education and Service-Learning and Community Engagement, together about 58.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Law and Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Papers will be delineated by strand. Clinic, the University and Society: this strand addresses the role of clinic as an instrument for civic engagement, access to justice and societal change. Reviewed Articles in this strand will engage with the theory of clinic, relating to purpose, ideals and conceptualising the value that clinic offers to students, staff, the institution and wider society. These papers will explore the complex relationships between clinical education and social justice agendas, between university vision statements, student expectations and the demands of the legal profession. Teaching and Learning in Clinic: this strand investigates the curriculum, pedagogy and assessment used to prepare students for and support students during their clinical experience. Reviewed Articles in this strand will contribute to the wider pedagogic literature, contextualising on-going debates in education within the particular disciplinary and local contexts. They may contain detailed empirical explorations of the impact of particular learning environments, opportunities or processes. From a policy perspective, some papers may explore the tensions between legal education and preparation for practice as a lawyer. Research and Impact: this strand will focus on the evidence base for clinical education and will explore the weight of evidence and the knowledge claims. The issues will develop our sense of how secure our conception of the impact of clinic is by giving the rigorous presentation of a range of empirical data a strong critical and epistemological frame. Papers in this strand may therefore have a topic focus from another strand but the balance of the paper will be weighted towards an exploration of the research methods used (in a report of a particular empirical study) or of the balance of approaches to research in CLE (in a review of existing studies). Reviewed Articles in this strand will engage critically with the tools and methodologies used to investigate clinic and provide evidence about the unique opportunities and limitations afforded by these choices of research design. Public Legal Education: this strand addresses the role of public legal education (PLE) as an instrument for community empowerment, access to justice and societal change. PLE is interpreted widely to include activities designed to educate members of the public on legal issues with aims such as improving legal capability and confidence and promoting social justice. This strand will
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 6 (6 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Legal Education and Practice InnovationsSocial Sciences38%
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine11.9%
- Service-Learning and Community EngagementSocial Sciences8.8%
- Comparative and International Law StudiesSocial Sciences8.4%
- Innovative Teaching Methodologies in Social SciencesSocial Sciences8%
- Legal Issues in EducationSocial Sciences3.9%
- Problem and Project Based LearningSocial Sciences2.2%
- Legal Studies and PoliciesSocial Sciences1.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 10OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 17OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.6OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 383 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 7 | 7 | 52 |
| 2025 | 16 | 16 | 63 |
| 2024 | 20 | 20 | 54 |
| 2023 | 25 | 25 | 89 |
| 2022 | 10 | 10 | 69 |
| 2021 | 13 | 13 | 80 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 9 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- editorialEditorial Lyndsey Bengtsson 1-3 PDF XMLLength not stated
- from the fieldFrom the Field – 2,000- 4,000 wordsLength not stated
- reviewrds From the Field – 2,000- 4,000 words Reviews (Books and other media) – 2,000- 3,000 words. An advantage of the online journal is that we have the capmain text ≤ 3,000 words
- reviewed articlesReviewed Articles – 6,000- 8,000 wordsLength not stated
- reviewsReviews How to embed authenticity in legal assessment: responding to generative AI, Veronica Ni Driscoll, Jo Wilson and Jeanette Ashton (Edward Elgar), 2026 Ric…Length not stated
- reviews (books and other media)Reviews (Books and other media) – 2,000- 3,000 words.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Publication ethics Allegations of misconduct
All allegations of misconduct are referred to the full Editorial Board for review a. All allegations, whether from authors, reviewers, readers, whether anonymous or named, will be investigated equally. b. The Managing Editor will have responsibility to investigate in the first instance and to provide a prima facie summation firstly for the Complainant, who will have the right to submit any additio…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal.Authors are able to enter into separate, addition…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access Policy
Welcomes submissions from practitioners from all legal and educational jurisdictions and allied fields. Model summary
This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge. This journal does not charge APCs or submission charges. Articles are licensed with a CC BY Attribution 4.0 International Licence. You are free to: Share — copy and redistribute the material in any medium or format Adapt — …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review Process
Peer reviewed open access journal. Model summary
Reviewed articles (of up to 8,000 words each) will be blind peer-reviewed by an Editorial Board Member and an external reviewer. Feedback from these reviews will be given to the author by the section editor. Authors wishing to submit papers as Reviewed Articles will need to remove all identifying details from the paper before submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Northumbria University Library
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1467-1069
- Electronic ISSN
- 2056-3930
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 33, Issue 1 (2026)
- Official links
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about International Journal of Clinical Legal Education
How long does peer review take at International Journal of Clinical Legal Education?
Authors report an average review time of about 9 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of International Journal of Clinical Legal Education based?
Of the 6 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index International Journal of Clinical Legal Education?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, International Journal of Clinical Legal Education is indexed in DOAJ.
Is International Journal of Clinical Legal Education open access, and what is the APC?
International Journal of Clinical Legal Education is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .