Journal profile · Multiple
Inflammation and Regeneration
ISSN 1880-8190 · BMC · JAPAN
Inflammation and Regeneration: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 7.71; fully open access; APC about USD 2,590; median 95 days to acceptance (87 articles, last 24 months); 37 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Inflammation and Regeneration is published by BMC and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Mesenchymal stem cell research, Pluripotent Stem Cells Research and Immune Response and Inflammation, together about 23.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Immunology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Inflammation and Regeneration is the official journal of the Japanese Society of Inflammation and Regeneration (JSIR). This journal provides an open access forum which covers a wide range of scientific topics in the basic and clinical researches on inflammation and regenerative medicine. It also covers investigations of infectious diseases, including COVID-19 and other emerging infectious diseases, which involve the inflammatory responses. Inflammation research and regenerative medicine are tightly linked research areas in life sciences and their significance in translational research is rapidly increasing. From this aspect, this journal encourages the submission of manuscripts whose scope bridges these fields of research. The journal publishes papers in the following categories: research, case report, brief report and review.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Hideyuki OkanoPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Japan 63, Australia 2, Taiwan, China 1, Mexico 1 (67 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Mesenchymal stem cell researchMedicine10.5%
- Pluripotent Stem Cells ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology7.7%
- Immune Response and InflammationImmunology and Microbiology5.3%
- Tissue Engineering and Regenerative MedicineMedicine5.2%
- T-cell and B-cell ImmunologyImmunology and Microbiology4.7%
- Immune Cell Function and InteractionImmunology and Microbiology4.7%
- Immune cells in cancerImmunology and Microbiology4.6%
- Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and TherapiesMedicine4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Immunology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Immunology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Immunology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EmbaseCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 7.71LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 7.7Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 7.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 13.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 2.22LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.4LetPub ·
- h-index
- 57OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 303OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 8.19OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 1.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 37LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 583,800Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,134 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 45 | 45 | 33 |
| 2025 | 37 | 37 | 266 |
| 2024 | 50 | 50 | 782 |
| 2023 | 62 | 62 | 1,424 |
| 2022 | 65 | 65 | 2,095 |
| 2021 | 35 | 35 | 930 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
95 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 73 days – 127 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 14 days (87 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 107 days
- Sample
- 87 articles with submission and acceptance dates (95 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 11 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 11 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,290 / USD 2,590 / GBP 1,890 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,577 / EUR 2,267 / GBP 1,853 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 1,790 / USD 2,490 / EUR 2,190 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 1,890 / USD 2,590 / EUR 2,290 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted4
- brief reportThe journal publishes papers in the following categories: research, case report, brief report and review.Length not stated
- case reportThe journal publishes papers in the following categories: research, case report, brief report and review.Length not stated
- researchThe journal publishes papers in the following categories: research, case report, brief report and review.Length not stated
- reviewThe journal publishes papers in the following categories: research, case report, brief report and review.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Open access under CC BY-NC-ND or CC BY licence; authors retain copyright. Model summary
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Inflammation and Regeneration articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attri…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions.Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research method…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BMC
- Country or region
- JAPAN
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1880-8190
- Society / sponsor
- Japanese Society of Inflammation and Regeneration
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Inflammation and Regeneration
What CAS zone is Inflammation and Regeneration in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Inflammation and Regeneration is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Immunology / Medicine, Research & Experimental. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Inflammation and Regeneration?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 7.71; CiteScore 13.7, h-index 57.
How long does peer review take at Inflammation and Regeneration?
Based on the dates recorded on 87 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 95 days (interquartile range 73–127 days); authors report an average review time of about 11 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Inflammation and Regeneration based?
Of the 67 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Japan (63), Australia (2) and Taiwan, China (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Inflammation and Regeneration?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Inflammation and Regeneration is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Embase, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Inflammation and Regeneration open access, and what is the APC?
Inflammation and Regeneration is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,590.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .