Journal profile · DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE

Head & Face Medicine

ISSN 1746-160X · BioMed Central · ENGLAND · Founded 2005

Head & Face Medicine: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.94; fully open access; APC about USD 2,990; median 110 days to acceptance (95 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 102 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor2.94Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 2 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time110 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 95 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 2,990Fully open access
AcceptanceEasyCommunity average
Articles per year1022025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Head & Face Medicine is published by BioMed Central and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics, Dental Radiography and Imaging and Temporomandibular Joint Disorders, together about 29.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Oral Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Head & Face Medicine is an open access journal that publishes basic and clinical research in all fields related to cranial, facial and oral health, including but not limited to: oral and maxillofacial medicine, oto-rhino-laryngology, dentistry, facial reconstructive surgery, neurology, neurosurgery and ophthalmology. The journal welcomes research on the development, etiology, epidemiology and therapy of head and face diseases, and on the basic science aspects of these diseases. Disease management encompasses all aspects of surgical and non-surgical treatments, including psychopharmacological therapies. New clinical research that has an immediate impact on clinical practice is of particular interest. Studies that address health conditions from a multidisciplinary perspective, combine methods and options from several disciplines or have implications for disciplines beyond their core approach are particularly welcome. Contributions are peer-reviewed and selected by a global editorial board representing the disciplines covered by the journal.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE

Editor-in-chief Thomas StammPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Germany 18, United States 7, United Kingdom 3, Italy 3, Japan 2 (47 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Orthodontics and Dentofacial OrthopedicsDentistry14.7%
  2. Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry7.6%
  3. Temporomandibular Joint DisordersHealth Professions7.5%
  4. Dental Implant Techniques and OutcomesDentistry6.2%
  5. dental development and anomaliesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.7%
  6. Dental materials and restorationsDentistry5.2%
  7. Facial Trauma and Fracture ManagementMedicine4.9%
  8. Cleft Lip and Palate ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.1%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

MEDLINEEmbaseCASPublisher website

Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
2.94LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
3Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
3.3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.1LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.77LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.47LetPub ·
h-index
32LetPub ·
h-index
73OpenAlex ·
i10-index
538OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
3.72OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
3.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
99LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
851,600Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 989 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026777722
2025102102333
20247272579
20235656558
20224141572
20215151880

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

110 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 84 days – 163 days

Acceptance to online
median 18 days (95 articles)
Submission to online
median 135 days
Sample
95 articles with submission and acceptance dates (198 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
over 12 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
EasyLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
19 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 20 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Open peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJEUR 2,590 / USD 2,990 / GBP 2,290YesCC BY, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 2,890 / EUR 2,490 / GBP 2,190——
LetPubGBP 2,090 / USD 2,790 / EUR 2,390Yes—
Publisher websiteGBP 2,290 / USD 2,990 / EUR 2,590——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted4
  1. brief reportResearch Correspondence Review Brief reportLength not stated
  2. correspondenceResearch Correspondence Review Brief reportLength not stated
  3. researchResearch Correspondence Review Brief reportLength not stated
  4. reviewResearch Correspondence Review Brief reportLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript

Data sharing strongly encouraged or required; deposit in public repositories where appropriate. Model summary

The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Licensing and copyright

Creative Commons licences: CC BY-NC-ND or CC BY; authors retain copyright. Model summary

Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Head & Face Medicine articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution No…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Benefits of open access

Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Peer review by a global editorial board. Model summary

Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
BioMed Central
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
Founded
2005
ISSN
1746-160X
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Head & Face Medicine

What CAS zone is Head & Face Medicine in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Head & Face Medicine is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Head & Face Medicine?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.94; CiteScore 4.1, h-index 73.

How long does peer review take at Head & Face Medicine?

Based on the dates recorded on 95 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 110 days (interquartile range 84–163 days); authors report an average review time of over 12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Head & Face Medicine based?

Of the 47 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Germany (18), United States (7) and United Kingdom (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Head & Face Medicine?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Head & Face Medicine is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Head & Face Medicine open access, and what is the APC?

Head & Face Medicine is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,990.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .