Journal profile · CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS

European Cardiology Review

ISSN 1758-3756 · eISSN 1758-3764 · Radcliffe Medical Media · United Kingdom

European Cardiology Review: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.6 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 72 days to acceptance (74 articles, last 24 months); 39 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor4.6From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time72 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 74 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCCharged, amount not publishedFully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year392025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

European Cardiology Review is published by Radcliffe Medical Media and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac Imaging and Diagnostics, Atrial Fibrillation Management and Outcomes and Coronary Interventions and Diagnostics, together about 26.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

European Cardiology Review (ECR) is an international, English-language, peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles continuously on ECRjournal.com. It aims to assist time-pressured physicians to stay abreast of key advances and opinions in the area of cardiovascular disease. The journal comprises balanced and comprehensive review articles written by leading authorities. The journal provides updates on a range of salient issues to support physicians in developing their knowledge and effectiveness in day-to-day clinical practice. The journal endeavours to support the continuous medical education of specialist and general cardiologists and disseminate knowledge of the field to the wider cardiovascular community.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS

Editor-in-chief Juan CarlosPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 23, Italy 7, Singapore 2, Hong Kong, China 1, United States 1 (36 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Cardiac Imaging and DiagnosticsMedicine11.6%
  2. Atrial Fibrillation Management and OutcomesMedicine7.6%
  3. Coronary Interventions and DiagnosticsMedicine6.9%
  4. Cardiovascular Function and Risk FactorsMedicine6.5%
  5. Cardiac Arrhythmias and TreatmentsMedicine6%
  6. Heart Failure Treatment and ManagementMedicine5.5%
  7. Cardiac Valve Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine5.3%
  8. Acute Myocardial Infarction ResearchMedicine5.3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorCardiac & Cardiovascular SystemsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorCardiac & Cardiovascular SystemsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

PMCPubMedPublisher website

Other: Crossref

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
4.6Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
5.7LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
5.7Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
1.19LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.66LetPub ·
h-index
44OpenAlex ·
i10-index
206OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.22OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
2.2%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
96.59%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
29LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
4Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
11,900Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,091 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026919140
20253939134
20243535193
20236565620
20223232468
202174741,074

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

72 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 36 days – 102 days

Acceptance to online
median 100 days (74 articles)
Submission to online
median 175 days
Sample
74 articles with submission and acceptance dates (97 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 12 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
43 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to final decision
91 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJGBP 1,750YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexGBP 1,750——
LetPubGBP 1,750Yes—
Publisher websiteGBP 1,750 / EUR 2,069 / USD 2,299 / GBP 3,300 / EUR 3,816 / USD 4,426 / GBP 3,900 / EUR 4,508 / USD 5,232 / GBP 2,600 / EUR 3,005 / USD 3,488 / GBP 1,500 / EUR 1,770 / USD 1,970 / GBP 2,000 / EUR 2,420 / USD 2,550——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
Keywords
3–7
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted12, with length limits
  1. case reportve services available. Submission types Case Reports: 1,500 - 3,000 words excl abstract & refs. Max. 50 references. Editorial: 1500 -main text ≤ 3,000 words
  2. editorialcl abstract & refs. Max. 50 references. Editorial: 1500 - 2000 words excl abstract & refs. Max. 15 references. Editorials are bymain text ≤ 2,000 words
  3. editorialsThe journal consists of review articles, original research, meta-analyses, systematic reviews, editorials, expert opinions and letters to the editor.Length not stated
  4. expert opinionsThe journal consists of review articles, original research, meta-analyses, systematic reviews, editorials, expert opinions and letters to the editor.Length not stated
  5. letterexcl abstract & ref. Max. 20 references Letter: 1500 words. Max 10 references. Review Article: 2,500 – 5,000 words excmain text ≤ 1,500 words
  6. letters to the editorThe journal consists of review articles, original research, meta-analyses, systematic reviews, editorials, expert opinions and letters to the editor.Length not stated
  7. meta-analysesThe journal consists of review articles, original research, meta-analyses, systematic reviews, editorials, expert opinions and letters to the editor.Length not stated
  8. opinionitorials are by invitation only. Expert Opinion: 1,500 – 2500 words excl abstract & ref. Max. 20 references Letter: 1500 words.main text ≤ 2,500 words
  9. original researchxcl abstract & ref. Max. 80 references. Original Research: 2,500 – 5,000 words excl abstract & Ref. Max 100 references. Articles submittedmain text ≤ 5,000 words
  10. review articleLetter: 1500 words. Max 10 references. Review Article: 2,500 – 5,000 words excl abstract & ref. Max. 80 references. Original Research:main text ≤ 5,000 words
  11. review articlesThe journal consists of review articles, original research, meta-analyses, systematic reviews, editorials, expert opinions and letters to the editor.Length not stated
  12. systematic reviewsThe journal consists of review articles, original research, meta-analyses, systematic reviews, editorials, expert opinions and letters to the editor.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteConflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism
Conflicts of interest Declarations: Conflict of Interest and Intellectual Property

A conflict of interest exists when an opinion may be influenced or biased by a secondary interest, such as financial gain. Conflicts of interest may occur from commercial or financial interests, such as research funding, consultancy services, serving on speakers’ bureaux, travel expenses, appearance fees, the receipt of share options, or direct employment by a commercial entity. they may also occu…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability

Requires written and informed consent for identifying data Model summary

We protect an individual's data and will not publish any author or patient data that might identify an individual without their written and informed consent.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

Follows ICMJE recommendations and COPE best practice guidelines Model summary

The journal follows the International Committee of Medical Journals (ICMJE) recommendations and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) best practice guidelines.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access

Articles deposited in digital archives (PubMed Central, British Library, Agency for Legal Deposit Libraries) Model summary

In the event the journal is no longer published, articles are deposited in digital archives to guarantee their long-term provision. These include: PubMed Central The British Library The Agency for Legal Deposit Libraries

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Double-blind peer review via Editorial Manager Model summary

All submissions are subject to initial appraisal by the Editor in Chief, and, if found suitable for further consideration, sent forward for peer review by independent, anonymous expert referees. All peer review is double blind and submission is online via Editorial Manager.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism

Uses similarity checking software to detect plagiarism Model summary

Our journals use similarity checking software to detect unoriginal material and to avoid plagiarism and duplication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Radcliffe Medical Media
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1758-3756
Electronic ISSN
1758-3764
Society / sponsor
British Heart Rhythm Society
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about European Cardiology Review

What CAS zone is European Cardiology Review in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, European Cardiology Review is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of European Cardiology Review?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.6 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 5.7, h-index 44.

How long does peer review take at European Cardiology Review?

Based on the dates recorded on 74 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 72 days (interquartile range 36–102 days); authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of European Cardiology Review based?

Of the 36 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (23), Italy (7) and Singapore (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index European Cardiology Review?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, European Cardiology Review is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is European Cardiology Review open access, and what is the APC?

European Cardiology Review is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .