Journal profile · CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Echo Research and Practice
ISSN 2055-0464 · Bioscientifica · United Kingdom
Echo Research and Practice: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,490; median 157 days to acceptance (70 articles, last 24 months); 36 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Echo Research and Practice is published by Bioscientifica and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiovascular Function and Risk Factors, Cardiac Valve Diseases and Treatments and Cardiac Imaging and Diagnostics, together about 42.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Echo Research and Practice aims to be the premier international journal for physicians, sonographers, nurses and other allied health professionals practising echocardiography and other cardiac imaging modalities. This open-access journal publishes quality clinical and basic research, reviews, videos, education materials and selected high-interest case reports and videos across all echocardiography modalities and disciplines, including paediatrics, anaesthetics, general practice, acute medicine and intensive care. Multi-modality studies primarily featuring the use of cardiac ultrasound in clinical practice, in association with Cardiac Computed Tomography, Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance or Nuclear Cardiology are of interest. Topics include, but are not limited to: 2D echocardiography 3D echocardiography Comparative imaging techniques – CCT, CMR and Nuclear Cardiology Congenital heart disease, including foetal echocardiography Contrast echocardiography Critical care echocardiography Deformation imaging Doppler echocardiography Interventional echocardiography Intracardiac echocardiography Intraoperative echocardiography Prosthetic valves Stress echocardiography Technical innovations Transoesophageal echocardiography Valve disease
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Editor-in-chief Paul LeesonPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 42, United States 5, Greece 2, Japan 1, Germany 1 (60 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cardiovascular Function and Risk FactorsMedicine16.5%
- Cardiac Valve Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine13.6%
- Cardiac Imaging and DiagnosticsMedicine12.7%
- Ultrasound in Clinical ApplicationsMedicine5.7%
- Infective Endocarditis Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine5.6%
- Cardiomyopathy and Myosin StudiesMedicine4.9%
- Cardiovascular Effects of ExerciseMedicine4.7%
- Congenital Heart Disease StudiesMedicine4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EmbasePublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.4Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 5.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.2LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.24LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.52LetPub ·
- h-index
- 36OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 136OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.97OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 9.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 34LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 457,800Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 512 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 36 | 36 | 7 |
| 2025 | 36 | 36 | 88 |
| 2024 | 29 | 29 | 306 |
| 2023 | 23 | 23 | 252 |
| 2022 | 12 | 12 | 125 |
| 2021 | 6 | 6 | 252 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
157 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 105 days – 233 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 48 days (70 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 207 days
- Sample
- 70 articles with submission and acceptance dates (77 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 8 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 17 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,090 / USD 2,490 / GBP 1,790 | Yes | CC BY, CC0 | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,390 / EUR 1,990 / GBP 1,690 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 1,590 / USD 2,290 / EUR 1,890 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 179 / GBP 1,790 / USD 2,490 / EUR 2,090 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted8
- case reportReview Research Case Report Guideline Meeting Report Letter Reply Echo EducationLength not stated
- echo educationReview Research Case Report Guideline Meeting Report Letter Reply Echo EducationLength not stated
- guidelineReview Research Case Report Guideline Meeting Report Letter Reply Echo EducationLength not stated
- letterReview Research Case Report Guideline Meeting Report Letter Reply Echo EducationLength not stated
- meeting reportReview Research Case Report Guideline Meeting Report Letter Reply Echo EducationLength not stated
- replyReview Research Case Report Guideline Meeting Report Letter Reply Echo EducationLength not stated
- researchReview Research Case Report Guideline Meeting Report Letter Reply Echo EducationLength not stated
- reviewReview Research Case Report Guideline Meeting Report Letter Reply Echo EducationLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship
Manuscript must be submitted by an author, not a third party. Model summary
Please note that a manuscript can only be submitted by an author of the manuscript and may not be submitted by a third party.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
CC0 data policy applies to all published data in this journal. Model summary
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Echo Research & Practice articles are published open access under a CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
APC waiver/discount applications must be made at manuscript submission. Model summary
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Bioscientifica
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2055-0464
- Society / sponsor
- British Society of Echocardiography
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Echo Research and Practice
What CAS zone is Echo Research and Practice in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Echo Research and Practice is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Echo Research and Practice?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.4 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.2, h-index 36.
How long does peer review take at Echo Research and Practice?
Based on the dates recorded on 70 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 157 days (interquartile range 105–233 days); authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Echo Research and Practice based?
Of the 60 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (42), United States (5) and Greece (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Echo Research and Practice?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Echo Research and Practice is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Embase; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Echo Research and Practice open access, and what is the APC?
Echo Research and Practice is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,490.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .