Journal profile · Electrochemistry

Electrochemistry Communications

ISSN 1388-2481 · eISSN 1873-1902 · Elsevier Inc. · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 1999

Electrochemistry Communications: CAS Zone 3 · Chemistry (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.15; fully open access; APC about USD 2,680; review about 66 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 183 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor4.15Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Chemistry2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Chemistry
Review time66 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance · community reports about 1.2 months
APCUSD 2,680Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year1832025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Electrochemistry Communications is published by Elsevier Inc. and is in Zone 3 of Chemistry in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Electrochemical Analysis and Applications, Electrocatalysts for Energy Conversion and Electrochemical sensors and biosensors, together about 31.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Electrical and Electronic Engineering. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Electrochemistry Communications is an open access journal that publishes short communications, research articles and reviews covering the whole field of electrochemistry.Short communications, which are meant for rapid dissemination of research that merits urgent publication are limited to a maximum of 20,000 characters (including spaces). Supplementary information is not permitted for short communications. We aim to be the fastest journal in electrochemistry for these types of papers.Areas of interest include, but are not limited to, the following topics:Fundamental electrochemistryElectrode reaction mechanismsComputational and theoretical electrochemistryProperties of interfacesElectrochemical surface scienceBatteries and power sourcesOrganic and organometallic electrochemistryBioelectrochemistrySpectroelectrochemistry and sonoelectrochemistry.The journal welcomes papers of general or specialist electrochemical importance which merit more rapid publication. However, papers primarily devoted to materials research or to chemical analysis are probably better directed towards journals which focus on these areas.In addition to individual articles, the journal publishes collections of articles of a thematic nature. These may be by invitation, or potential Guest Editors may approach the Journal with a proposal for consideration. Contributions will be subject to peer review in the normal manner.All papers should be submitted via the journal's online submission system which can be accessed at https://www.editorialmanager.com/ELECOM.All inquiries, including those related to current submissions and papers accepted for publication and currently in production should be addressed to elchem@elsevier.com.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Electrochemistry

Editor-in-chief Kenneth Ikechukwu OzoemenaPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 10 in mainland China (about 22%); most named Mainland China 10, Germany 7, France 6, United Kingdom 5, United States 2 (46 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Electrochemical Analysis and ApplicationsChemistry14.6%
  2. Electrocatalysts for Energy ConversionEnergy9.3%
  3. Electrochemical sensors and biosensorsEngineering7.9%
  4. Advancements in Battery MaterialsEngineering7.8%
  5. Conducting polymers and applicationsMaterials Science6.5%
  6. Advanced Battery Materials and TechnologiesEngineering5.9%
  7. Analytical Chemistry and SensorsChemical Engineering5.9%
  8. Fuel Cells and Related MaterialsEngineering4.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Chemistry Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorChemistryZone 3
MinorElectrochemistryZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Chemistry Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorChemistryZone 3
MinorElectrochemistryZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Engineering Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEngineeringZone 3
MinorElectrochemistryZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
4.15LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
4.2Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
7.4LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
7.4Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.77LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.79LetPub ·
h-index
174LetPub ·
h-index
227OpenAlex ·
i10-index
6,302OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
4.83OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
2.4%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
153LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 8,343 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026101101133
2025183183924
20241431431,006
20231641642,025
20221671672,736
20212102105,652

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

66 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 1.2 months

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Average review time (community reports)
about 1.2 monthsLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
73%LetPub ·
Submission to first decision
2 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
34 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
66 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
3 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 11 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,680YesCC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 2,630 / EUR 2,460 / GBP 2,110 / JPY 326,200——
Publisher websiteUSD 2,880——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Open calls for papers4, by deadline
  1. High-temperature electrolysis and CO2 conversion: New materials for efficient CO2 catalysis; Electrochemical Reaction Processes and Rate-Limiting Steps in CO2 catalysisDeadline
  2. High-temperature electrolysis and fuel cells: Novel electrode materials for efficient energy conversion; Electrochemical reaction processes and rate-limiting steps in electrode reaction processesDeadline
  3. In-situ and operando characterizations of electrode interfaceDeadline
  4. Reversible Solid Oxide Cell Technologies: From Materials to StacksDeadline
Publisher website
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
1–7
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted8
  1. discussionsDiscussions should contain critical comments on papers already published in the Journal.Length not stated
  2. original researchShort communications are short papers (a maximum of 20,000 characters including spaces) that present original and significant material for rapid dissemination. …Length not stated
  3. research articleShort communications are short papers (a maximum of 20,000 characters including spaces) that present original and significant material for rapid dissemination. …Length not stated
  4. research articlesResearch Articles should be complete and authoritative accounts of original research work, not previously published in other periodicals, that has special signi…Length not stated
  5. reviewShort communications are short papers (a maximum of 20,000 characters including spaces) that present original and significant material for rapid dissemination. …Length not stated
  6. reviewsReviews should be complete and authoritative accounts of original research work, not previously published in other periodicals, that has special significance an…Length not stated
  7. short communicationShort communications are short papers (a maximum of 20,000 characters including spaces) that present original and significant material for rapid dissemination. …Length not stated
  8. short communicationsShort communications are short papers (a maximum of 20,000 characters including spaces) that present original and significant material for rapid dissemination.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy Model summary

Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Single anonymized review process Model summary

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier Inc.
Country or region
UNITED STATES
Language
English
Frequency
Monthly
Founded
1999
ISSN
1388-2481
Electronic ISSN
1873-1902
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Electrochemistry Communications

What CAS zone is Electrochemistry Communications in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Electrochemistry Communications is in Zone 3 of Chemistry, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Electrochemistry. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Chemistry. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Electrochemistry Communications?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.15; CiteScore 7.4, h-index 227.

How long does peer review take at Electrochemistry Communications?

The publisher reports about 66 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 1.2 months. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Electrochemistry Communications?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Electrochemistry Communications based?

Of the 46 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 10 (about 22%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (10), Germany (7) and France (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Electrochemistry Communications?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Electrochemistry Communications is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Electrochemistry Communications open access, and what is the APC?

Electrochemistry Communications is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,680.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .