Journal profile · Multiple

Journal of Power Sources Advances

ISSN 2666-2485 · Elsevier · United Kingdom

Journal of Power Sources Advances: CAS Zone 3 · Materials Science (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,630; review about 68 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 30 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor4.3From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 3 · Materials Science2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Materials Science
Review time68 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance · community reports about 11 weeks
APCUSD 2,630Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year302025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Power Sources Advances is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 3 of Materials Science in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Advancements in Battery Materials, Advanced Battery Technologies Research and Advanced Battery Materials and Technologies, together about 47% of its articles. Its main subfields are Electrical and Electronic Engineering. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Journal of Power Sources Advances, a companion title to the highly-regarded Journal of Power Sources, is a gold open access journal that offers fast track review and publication to researchers and technologists working on the science, technology and applications of advanced sources of electrochemical power. Journal of Power Sources Advances focusses on lithium, sodium, and other battery technologies, supercapacitors, polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells, biofuel cells, high temperature fuel cells, photo-electrochemical cells, and other high-end electrochemical devices.This journal welcomes contributions that support and advance the UN's sustainable development goals, in particular SDG 7 (Affordable and clean energy)

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Editor-in-chief Dominic BresserPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 7 in mainland China (about 21%); most named Mainland China 7, United States 6, Germany 6, Spain 2, Switzerland 2 (33 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Advancements in Battery MaterialsEngineering19.2%
  2. Advanced Battery Technologies ResearchEngineering14.1%
  3. Advanced Battery Materials and TechnologiesEngineering13.7%
  4. Fuel Cells and Related MaterialsEngineering6.6%
  5. Advanced battery technologies researchEngineering6.2%
  6. Electrocatalysts for Energy ConversionEnergy5.1%
  7. Extraction and Separation ProcessesEngineering5.1%
  8. Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Materials Science Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMaterials ScienceZone 3
MinorElectrochemistryZone 3
MinorMaterials Science, MultidisciplinaryZone 3
MinorEnergy & FuelsZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Materials Science Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMaterials ScienceZone 3
MinorChemistry, PhysicalZone 3
MinorElectrochemistryZone 3
MinorEnergy & FuelsZone 4
MinorMaterials Science, MultidisciplinaryZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
4.3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
5.4LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
5.4Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.76LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.82LetPub ·
h-index
28OpenAlex ·
i10-index
69OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
5.6OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
2.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
30LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 182 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026181829
20253030170
20243434260
20231717195
20221919321
20212929815

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

68 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 11 weeks

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Average review time (community reports)
about 11 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
4 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
26 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
68 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
9 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 11 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,630YesCC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 3,460 / EUR 3,240 / GBP 2,770 / JPY 429,140——
LetPubUSD 2,500Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 3,350——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
1–7
Manuscript length
≤ 5,000 words
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted7, with length limits
  1. mini reviewThe Journal of Power Sources Advances considers the following types of papers for publication:Short Communications (1,000-3,000 words)Research Papers (maximum 5…main text ≤ 7,000 words
  2. mini reviewsMini Reviews (maximum of 7,000 words)Length not stated
  3. research paperThe Journal of Power Sources Advances considers the following types of papers for publication:Short Communications (1,000-3,000 words)Research Papers (maximum 5…main text ≤ 5,000 words
  4. research papersResearch Papers (maximum 5,000 words)Length not stated
  5. reviewThe Journal of Power Sources Advances considers the following types of papers for publication:Short Communications (1,000-3,000 words)Research Papers (maximum 5…Length not stated
  6. short communicationThe Journal of Power Sources Advances considers the following types of papers for publication:Short Communications (1,000-3,000 words)Research Papers (maximum 5…main text ≤ 3,000 words
  7. short communicationsShort Communications (1,000-3,000 words)Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Single anonymized review process Model summary

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2666-2485
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Power Sources Advances

What CAS zone is Journal of Power Sources Advances in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Power Sources Advances is in Zone 3 of Materials Science, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Electrochemistry / Materials Science, Multidisciplinary / Energy & Fuels. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Materials Science. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Power Sources Advances?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 5.4, h-index 28.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Power Sources Advances?

The publisher reports about 68 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 11 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Power Sources Advances?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Power Sources Advances based?

Of the 33 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 7 (about 21%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (7), United States (6) and Germany (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Power Sources Advances?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Power Sources Advances is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Journal of Power Sources Advances open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Power Sources Advances is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,630.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .