Journal profile
Educate
ISSN 1477-5557 · eISSN 2049-9558 · University College London · United Kingdom
Educate: fully open access; no APC; review about 18 weeks (community reports); 0 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Educate is published by University College London. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Teacher Education and Leadership Studies, Doctoral Education Challenges and Solutions and Higher Education Governance and Development, together about 29.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Educate~ is published once a year under the auspices of the Centre for Doctoral Education at the UCL Institute of Education, University College London. It was first published in 2001 and past issues are available by clicking on the 'Archives' link above or by browsing using the links on the right. Educate~ aims to provide: opportunities for the dissemination of the work of current doctoral students at any stage of their research, and recent doctoral graduates, on any aspect of education or related areas opportunities for the dissemination of “work in progress” to the academic community a resource for professionals involved in educational enquiry and research
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 5, Norway 1 (6 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences13.1%
- Doctoral Education Challenges and SolutionsHealth Professions10.2%
- Higher Education Governance and DevelopmentSocial Sciences5.8%
- Global Educational Policies and ReformsSocial Sciences5.8%
- Academic Writing and PublishingArts and Humanities5.8%
- Evaluation of Teaching PracticesSocial Sciences5.1%
- Educational Leadership and PracticesSocial Sciences5.1%
- Higher Education Research StudiesSocial Sciences4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
Indexed in: no record yet.
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 11OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 12OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 83 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 18 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 40 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 30 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 64 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 68 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 18 weeksLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,000 words
- Reference style
- Harvard
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- book reviewlds of study An abstract of 200 words A book review (600 – 1,000 words). All submissions should be in A4 (not letter) size, with smain text ≤ 1,000 words
- critical review of an area of literatureCritical review of an area of literature (2,500 – 5,000 words).Length not stated
- research noteA research note (500 – 1,500 words). These are intended to alert the research community to research in progress.Length not stated
- research paperhe research questions under discussion. Research papers (2,500 – 6,000 words). This offers students who are in the final stages of theirmain text ≤ 6,000 words
- research papersResearch papers (2,500 – 6,000 words). This offers students who are in the final stages of their PhD the opportunity to present their main research findings.Length not stated
- reviewis and discussion of findings. Critical review of an area of literature (2,500 – 5,000 words). A summary of 200 words should locate the critical reviewmain text ≤ 5,000 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Authors retain copyright, exclusive licence to publish. Model summary
Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant Educate~ an exclusive licence to publish, in return for which they can reuse their papers in their future printed work without first requiring permission from the publisher of this journal. The work is simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unpor…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access Policy
Educate~ believes in distributing research outputs as widely as possible. Educate~ therefore supports unrestricted access to research outputs and published articles. As an Open Access journal, all content published by Educate~ is freely available without charge to authors, readers or their institutions. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review Process
Double anonymised review by two referees and editorial board. Model summary
Educate~ articles are peer reviewed by both an established academic and a current doctoral student. Articles are further reviewed by the editorial board as a whole.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- University College London
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1477-5557
- Electronic ISSN
- 2049-9558
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Educate
How long does peer review take at Educate?
Authors report an average review time of about 18 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Educate?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: Harvard. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Educate based?
Of the 6 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (5) and Norway (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Is Educate open access, and what is the APC?
Educate is a fully open-access journal. It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .