Journal profile · CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review
ISSN 2050-3369 · eISSN 2050-3377 · Radcliffe Medical Media · United Kingdom
Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 93 days to acceptance (61 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 50% (journal website); 37 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review is published by Radcliffe Medical Media and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac Arrhythmias and Treatments, Cardiac electrophysiology and arrhythmias and Atrial Fibrillation Management and Outcomes, together about 63.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Arrhythmia and Electrophysiology Review (AER) is an international, English language, peer-reviewed journal that is published continuously. It aims to assist time-pressured physicians to stay abreast of key advances and opinion in the area of arrhythmia and cardiac electrophysiology. The journal comprises comprehensive reviews, original research papers, and systematic review articles and expert opinions written by leading authorities. The journal provides updates on a range of salient issues to support physicians in developing their knowledge and effectiveness in day-to-day clinical practice. The journal endeavours to support the continuous medical education of specialist and general cardiologists and disseminate knowledge of the field to the wider cardiovascular community.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Editor-in-chief Demosthenes G KatritsisPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 11, Israel 3 (14 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cardiac Arrhythmias and TreatmentsMedicine27.8%
- Cardiac electrophysiology and arrhythmiasMedicine18.8%
- Atrial Fibrillation Management and OutcomesMedicine16.6%
- Cardiac pacing and defibrillation studiesMedicine15.8%
- Cardiovascular Syncope and Autonomic DisordersMedicine2.4%
- Cardiovascular Effects of ExerciseMedicine1.8%
- Neurological disorders and treatmentsMedicine1.7%
- Cardiomyopathy and Myosin StudiesMedicine1.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: yes
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PMCPubMedPublisher website
Other: Crossref, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 5.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.12LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.94LetPub ·
- h-index
- 48OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 243OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.55OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 98.73%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 32LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 4Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 8,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 552 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 32 | 32 | 15 |
| 2025 | 37 | 37 | 128 |
| 2024 | 23 | 23 | 184 |
| 2023 | 32 | 32 | 447 |
| 2022 | 22 | 22 | 266 |
| 2021 | 43 | 43 | 682 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
93 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 53 days – 116 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 89 days (61 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 185 days
- Sample
- 61 articles with submission and acceptance dates (73 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 7 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 50%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 38.5 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to final decision
- 91 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 7 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | GBP 1,750 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | GBP 1,750 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 1,750 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 1,750 / EUR 2,069 / USD 2,299 / GBP 3,300 / EUR 3,816 / USD 4,426 / GBP 3,900 / EUR 4,508 / USD 5,232 / GBP 2,600 / EUR 3,005 / USD 3,488 / GBP 1,500 / EUR 1,770 / USD 1,970 / GBP 2,000 / EUR 2,420 / USD 2,550 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- 3–7
- Templates
- Word
Article types accepted9, with length limits
- case reportve services available. Submission types Case Reports: 1,500 - 3,000 words excl abstract & refs. Max. 50 references. Editorial: 1500 -main text ≤ 3,000 words
- editorialcl abstract & refs. Max. 50 references. Editorial: 1500 - 2000 words excl abstract & refs. Max. 15 references. Editorials are bymain text ≤ 2,000 words
- expert opinionexpert opinionsLength not stated
- letterexcl abstract & ref. Max. 20 references Letter: 1500 words. Max 10 references. Review Article: 2,500 – 5,000 words excmain text ≤ 1,500 words
- opinionitorials are by invitation only. Expert Opinion: 1,500 – 2500 words excl abstract & ref. Max. 20 references Letter: 1500 words.main text ≤ 2,500 words
- original researchxcl abstract & ref. Max. 80 references. Original Research: 2,500 – 5,000 words excl abstract & Ref. Max 100 references. Articles submittedmain text ≤ 5,000 words
- reviewcomprehensive reviewsLength not stated
- review articleLetter: 1500 words. Max 10 references. Review Article: 2,500 – 5,000 words excl abstract & ref. Max. 80 references. Original Research:main text ≤ 5,000 words
- systematic reviewsystematic review articlesLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteConflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, Peer review, Plagiarism
- Conflicts of interest
Conflict of interest declaration Model summary
A conflict of interest exists when an opinion may be influenced or biased by a secondary interest, such as financial gain.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Data sharing policy Model summary
We protect an individual's data and will not publish any author or patient data that might identify an individual without their written and informed consent.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
ICMJE and COPE guidelines Model summary
The journal follows the International Committee of Medical Journals (ICMJE) recommendations and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPES) for editors and publisher's best practice guidelines.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blind peer review Model summary
All peer review is double blind and submission is online via Editorial Manager.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Similarity checking Model summary
Our journals use similarity checking software to detect unoriginal material and to avoid unattributed copying and duplication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Radcliffe Medical Media
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2050-3369
- Electronic ISSN
- 2050-3377
- Society / sponsor
- British Heart Rhythm Society
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review
What CAS zone is Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.3 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 5.8, h-index 48.
How long does peer review take at Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review?
Based on the dates recorded on 61 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 93 days (interquartile range 53–116 days); authors report an average review time of about 7 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 50%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: 3–7; Templates: Word. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review based?
Of the 14 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (11) and Israel (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review open access, and what is the APC?
Arrhythmia & Electrophysiology Review is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .