Journal profile · ENDOCRINOLOGY & METABOLISM
Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews
ISSN 1871-4021 · eISSN 1878-0334 · Elsevier
Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.4 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,450; median 216 days to acceptance (96 articles, last 24 months); 119 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and Lipoproteins, Adipokines, Inflammation, and Metabolic Diseases and Diabetes Management and Research, together about 31.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome: Clinical Research and Reviews is the official journal of DiabetesIndia and the National Diabetes, Obesity and Cholesterol Foundation (NDOC).Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome: Clinical Research and Reviews aims to reach out to healthcare professionals, diabetes educators and other stakeholders, providing them with a global platform to submit their research on diabetes care. The journal publishes research covering various aspects of diabetes and related diseases like cardiovascular diseases, diabetic neuropathy, weakening eyesight, sexual dysfunction, management of diabetes mellitus, obesity, insulin management and metabolic syndrome, among others.The journal publishes peer-reviewed original articles, reviews, short communication, case reports, letter to the Editor and expert comments. Reviews and mini-reviews are especially welcomed for those areas within endocrinology undergoing rapid changes.In addition to general articles on clinical aspects of diabetes mellitus, Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome: Clinical Research and Reviews also presents articles on basic research in all areas of diabetes and the metabolic syndrome. Topics include prevention, diagnosis, pathogenesis, clinical management of diabetes and all its complications, including neuropathy, retinopathy, nephropathy, peripheral vascular disease, foot problems (amongst others), as well as atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease. All aspects of disorders associated with the metabolic syndrome with a special emphasis on clinical aspects (prevalence, pathogenesis, risk factors management and prevention, etc.) of comorbid conditions such as hypertension, obesity, dyslipidemias and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease are also of relevance to the journal. Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome: Clinical Research and Reviews also publishes papers on the general pathogenesis and prevention of diabetes. Criteria for initial considerations for papers submitted will be originality, statistical rigour, and relevance to the aims of the journal.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): ENDOCRINOLOGY & METABOLISM
Editor-in-chief Anoop MisraPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named India 30, United States 15, United Kingdom 7, Australia 3, United Arab Emirates 2 (66 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and LipoproteinsMedicine17.7%
- Adipokines, Inflammation, and Metabolic DiseasesMedicine7.2%
- Diabetes Management and ResearchMedicine6.9%
- Diabetes Treatment and ManagementMedicine6.9%
- Diabetes Management and EducationMedicine6.4%
- COVID-19 Clinical Research StudiesMedicine4.9%
- Diabetes and associated disordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.7%
- Hyperglycemia and glycemic control in critically ill and hospitalized patientsMedicine3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 8.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 8.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.17LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.25LetPub ·
- h-index
- 121OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,725OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 5.37OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 2.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 21.07%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 72LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,130 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 71 | 22 | 59 |
| 2025 | 119 | 36 | 498 |
| 2024 | 173 | 63 | 1,393 |
| 2023 | 155 | 25 | 2,141 |
| 2022 | 228 | 45 | 3,915 |
| 2021 | 359 | 146 | 10,042 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
216 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 125 days – 329 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 2 days (96 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 223 days
- Sample
- 96 articles with submission and acceptance dates (164 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 211 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,450 / EUR 4,160 / GBP 3,560 / JPY 551,930 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 3–12
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
Article types accepted15, with length limits
- brief reportences; Figures and tables with legends. Brief reports These reports should not exceed 1000 words, including a summary of no more than 50 words (but not inclmain text ≤ 1,000 words · references ≤ 20
- brief reportsThese reports should not exceed 1000 words, including a summary of no more than 50 words (but not including up to 20 references) and may be a preliminary report…Length not stated
- commentariesThey (1000 words not including a maximum of 20 references and one small figure) offer a stimulating, journalistic and accessible insight into issues of common i…Length not stated
- commentaryEditorialsThese are either written or commissioned by the Editors and should not exceed 1000 words (not including a maximum of 20 references; one small figure c…main text ≤ 1,000 words · references ≤ 20
- editorialthe aims of the journal. Article types Editorials These are either written or commissioned by the Editors and should not exceed 1000 words (not including a maxi…main text ≤ 1,000 words · references ≤ 20
- editorialsThese are either written or commissioned by the Editors and should not exceed 1000 words (not including a maximum of 20 references; one small figure can be incl…Length not stated
- letterEditorialsThese are either written or commissioned by the Editors and should not exceed 1000 words (not including a maximum of 20 references; one small figure c…Length not stated
- letters to the editorThese should be no more than 400 words.Length not stated
- opinionEditorialsThese are either written or commissioned by the Editors and should not exceed 1000 words (not including a maximum of 20 references; one small figure c…Length not stated
- original researchEditorialsThese are either written or commissioned by the Editors and should not exceed 1000 words (not including a maximum of 20 references; one small figure c…Length not stated
- original research articlecontext of the generally accepted view. Original research articles These should be a maximum of 5000 words. The word limit includes a maximum of five figures or…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- original research articlesThese should be a maximum of 5000 words.Length not stated
- reviewEditorialsThese are either written or commissioned by the Editors and should not exceed 1000 words (not including a maximum of 20 references; one small figure c…Length not stated
- review articleation not requiring a lengthy write-up. Review articles Review articles should be a maximum of 5000 words, including a summary of no more than 100 words (not in…main text ≤ 5,000 words · references ≤ 75
- review articlesReview articles should be a maximum of 5000 words, including a summary of no more than 100 words (not including up to 75 references) with subheadings in the tex…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 1871-4021
- Electronic ISSN
- 1878-0334
- Society / sponsor
- DiabetesIndia and the National Diabetes
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews
What CAS zone is Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Endocrinology & Metabolism. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 8.6, h-index 121.
How long does peer review take at Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews?
Based on the dates recorded on 96 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 216 days (interquartile range 125–329 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 3–12; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews based?
Of the 66 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are India (30), United States (15) and United Kingdom (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews open access, and what is the APC?
Diabetes & Metabolic Syndrome-Clinical Research & Reviews is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,450.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .