Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Curriculum Journal

ISSN 0958-5176 · eISSN 1469-3704 · Taylor & Francis

Curriculum Journal: CAS Zone 4 · Education (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.9 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,430; median 159 days to acceptance (94 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 24% (journal website); 92 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.9From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 2 · Education
Review time159 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 94 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 3,430Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance24%From the journal's website (2025)
Articles per year922025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Curriculum Journal is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Educator Training and Historical Pedagogy, Teacher Education and Leadership Studies and Global Education and Multiculturalism, together about 35.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Curriculum Journal is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes original contributions to the study of curriculum theory, as well as curriculum-making practices. It encompasses issues relating to governance and policy development, teacher professional learning, assessment and pedagogy, insofar as they pertain to curriculum. The Journal aims to contribute to the renewal of the field of curriculum studies, enrich curriculum conversations and enable practitioners and scholars to engage with curricular issues, thus placing consideration of curriculum firmly at the heart of educational discourse and practice. The journal welcomes papers – original research and review articles – that: address current and historical global debates and traditions from the complex landscape of curriculum studies pose challenging curricular questions from different perspectives, including reflexive questions about whom curriculum research is for and its purposes, and wider historical, sociological and political questions about the curriculum draw upon diverse theoretical and methodological approaches focus on formal and informal educational settings within and beyond schooling (including early years, primary and secondary schools, further education, higher education and teacher education, vocational education and training, community education, professions and work-based education). Continuing a long tradition of connecting scholarly research and school-based practice, the journal particularly welcomes contributions focussing on the ‘basics’ of curriculum structure, organisation, development, enactment and evaluation in practice settings.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 6, Hong Kong, China 1, United States 1, Germany 1, Norway 1 (12 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Educator Training and Historical PedagogySocial Sciences14.9%
  2. Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences12.6%
  3. Global Education and MulticulturalismSocial Sciences8.4%
  4. Global Educational Policies and ReformsSocial Sciences8.3%
  5. Student Assessment and FeedbackSocial Sciences5.4%
  6. Educational Theory and Curriculum StudiesSocial Sciences5.2%
  7. Education Systems and PolicySocial Sciences4.6%
  8. Education and Critical Thinking DevelopmentSocial Sciences3.3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 4
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 2
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ERICERIH PLUSPublisher website

Other: EBSCO, ProQuest, OCLC

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
1.9Publisher website ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.1LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
4.1Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
4.1Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.58LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.38LetPub ·
h-index
72OpenAlex ·
i10-index
558OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.47OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
21.1%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
62.04%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
48LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher) 2025
63Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
219,099Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,637 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026763317
20259260126
202410084252
20235849340
20226031562
20215021491

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

159 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 72 days – 243 days

Acceptance to online
median 15 days (94 articles)
Submission to online
median 174 days
Sample
94 articles with submission and acceptance dates (145 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Acceptance rate (publisher)
24%Publisher website ·
Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
24%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
20 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to first decision 2025
20 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance 2025
164 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication 2025
15 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,430 / EUR 2,870 / GBP 2,310——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Reference style
Author–date
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted8, with length limits
  1. book reviewArticle Type Description Original Article Reports of original research, with methods, findings and conclusions. Review Article Overview of developments in field…Length not stated
  2. editorialArticle Type Description Original Article Reports of original research, with methods, findings and conclusions. Review Article Overview of developments in field…Length not stated
  3. opinionArticle Type Description Original Article Reports of original research, with methods, findings and conclusions. Review Article Overview of developments in field…Length not stated
  4. original articleArticle Type Description Original Article Reports of original research, with methods, findings and conclusions. Review Article Overview of developments in field…Length not stated
  5. original researchArticle Type Description Original Article Reports of original research, with methods, findings and conclusions. Review Article Overview of developments in field…Length not stated
  6. perspectiveachers. There are two article types: 1. Perspectives and reflections 1,000 words, max. 10 references, max. 1 table/figure Focussed on profesmain text ≤ 1,000 words
  7. review articleArticle Type Description Original Article Reports of original research, with methods, findings and conclusions. Review Article Overview of developments in field…Length not stated
  8. short reviewArticle Type Description Original Article Reports of original research, with methods, findings and conclusions. Review Article Overview of developments in field…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Data availability, License & copyright, Peer review, Plagiarism
AI use Artificial Intelligence Generated Content

Please also see the BERA Artificial Intelligence (AI) Statement.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Authorship

Wiley updates and republishes the paper and redelivers metadata to indexing services for author name changes after publication. Model summary

On initial submission, the submitting author will be prompted to provide the email address and country for all contributing authors. Authors should be listed in order of contribution to the paper. Only include those authors who have made a substantive contribution either to the writing and/or to the underpinning research; those who have made marginal contributions (for example, colleagues or super…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability

Data must be cited just like manuscripts, books, and websites; data citations are required in the reference list. Model summary

Data must be cited just like manuscripts, books, and websites. You are required to include data citations as part of their reference list.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright

Upon acceptance, the corresponding author completes a copyright license agreement via the Wiley Author Licensing Service (WALS) on behalf of all authors. Model summary

If a paper is accepted for publication, the author identified as the formal corresponding author will receive an e-mail prompting them to log in to Author Services, where via the Wiley Author Licensing Service (WALS) they will be required to complete a copyright license agreement on behalf of all authors of the paper.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer Review

Manuscripts must be submitted for double-blind peer review with author identity not revealed. Model summary

Original Articles and review Articles submitted to the journal will usually be peer reviewed anonymously by at least two reviewers. The editors reserve the right to reject papers before peer review where the articles do not meet the scope or basic quality standards of the journal. The editors aim to make a decision on whether manuscripts will be sent to external peer review within 2 weeks. The edi…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

Wiley is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics and Curriculum Journal adheres to the COPE Guidelines. When submitting a manuscript authors are required to sign an agreement that the manuscript is an original work, has not been published before and is not being considered for publication elsewhere in its final form.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
ISSN
0958-5176
Electronic ISSN
1469-3704
Society / sponsor
British Educational Research Association
Latest issue on the website
Volume 37, Issue 3 (September 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Curriculum Journal

What CAS zone is Curriculum Journal in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Curriculum Journal is in Zone 4 of Education, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Education & Educational Research. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Curriculum Journal?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.9 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.1, h-index 72.

How long does peer review take at Curriculum Journal?

Based on the dates recorded on 94 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 159 days (interquartile range 72–243 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 24% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Curriculum Journal?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Reference style: Author–date; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Curriculum Journal based?

Of the 12 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (6), Hong Kong, China (1) and United States (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Curriculum Journal?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Curriculum Journal is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists ERIC and ERIH PLUS; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Curriculum Journal open access, and what is the APC?

Curriculum Journal is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,430.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .