Journal profile · PATHOLOGY

Clinical Pathology

ISSN 2632-010X · eISSN 3050-2098 · SAGE · United Kingdom

Clinical Pathology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); fully open access; APC about USD 2,650; review about 4 weeks (community reports); 3 articles a year; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review timeabout 4 weeksCommunity average; too few article dates (4)
APCUSD 2,650Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year3LetPub annual count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Clinical Pathology is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are COVID-19 Clinical Research Studies, SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 Research and Sarcoma Diagnosis and Treatment, together about 22.4% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Sage Open Pathology is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal that focuses on all aspects of clinical pathology, including pathogenesis, diagnostics, the genetic basis of pathology, translational research, infection control, and medical microbiology. Manuscripts regarding Digital Pathology, Molecular Pathology, and Ethics and Policy are of particular interest. View full journal description

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): PATHOLOGY

Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 4%); most named United States 15, India 7, Italy 5, Egypt 4, Mainland China 2 (51 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. COVID-19 Clinical Research StudiesMedicine7.9%
  2. SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 ResearchMedicine7.9%
  3. Sarcoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine6.7%
  4. Lymphoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.9%
  5. Bone Tumor Diagnosis and TreatmentsMedicine4.9%
  6. Salivary Gland Tumors Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.9%
  7. Cholangiocarcinoma and Gallbladder Cancer StudiesMedicine4.9%
  8. Oral and Maxillofacial PathologyDentistry4.9%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPathologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPathologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
2.2LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.29LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.34LetPub ·
h-index
17OpenAlex ·
i10-index
30OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
6.47OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 196 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20243030194
20233030167
20224848381
20212020104

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

Too few articlesOnly 4 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 4 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 4 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,650YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 1,848——
LetPubUSD 2,650Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 3,200 / USD 2,560——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
150–200 words
Manuscript length
≤ 2,500 words
Reference style
AMA
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted19, with length limits
  1. brief communicationView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
  2. brief reportView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…main text ≤ 2,500 words
  3. brief reportsBrief Reports Presents new research that adds to previous studies.Length not stated
  4. case reportView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…main text ≤ 2,500 words
  5. case reportsCase Reports Provides a summary of an interesting or rare case, finding, or outcome.Length not stated
  6. commentariesCommentaries Discusses the findings, implications, and/or outcomes of research on a particular topic.Length not stated
  7. commentaryView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
  8. correspondenceView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
  9. letter to the editorView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
  10. letters to the editorView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
  11. methodologiesMethodologies Explains a new methodology or an improvement in existing methodologies in therapeutic techniques or medical procedures.Length not stated
  12. opinionView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
  13. original researchView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
  14. perspectiveView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
  15. perspectivesPerspectives Presents an opinion based on practical experience.Length not stated
  16. reviewView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
  17. reviewsReviews A detailed examination including the benefits and drawbacks of a medicine, therapeutic technique, computer program, policy, or anything else appropriate…Length not stated
  18. technical advancesTechnical Advances Reports on advances for procedures, standard practices, tests, experimental methods, or computational methods.Length not stated
  19. viewpointView our topical sections currently accepting submissions View our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Sage Open Pathology welcomes submissions…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright

Manuscript content licensed under Creative Commons Licenses Model summary

Manuscript content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons Licenses

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

Online-only journal Model summary

Sage Open Pathology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publishing, paid by the funde…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Single anonymized review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2632-010X
Electronic ISSN
3050-2098
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Clinical Pathology

What CAS zone is Clinical Pathology in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Clinical Pathology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Pathology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

How long does peer review take at Clinical Pathology?

Authors report an average review time of about 4 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Clinical Pathology?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 2,500 words; Reference style: AMA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Clinical Pathology based?

Of the 51 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (15), India (7) and Italy (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Clinical Pathology?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinical Pathology is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Clinical Pathology open access, and what is the APC?

Clinical Pathology is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,650.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .