Journal profile · Clinical Neurology

Clinical Autonomic Research

ISSN 0959-9851 · eISSN 1619-1560 · Springer Berlin Heidelberg · UNITED STATES · Bimonthly · Founded 1991

Clinical Autonomic Research: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.53; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,790; median 117 days to acceptance (89 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 82 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor4.53Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time117 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 89 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 4,790Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceEasyCommunity average
Articles per year822025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Clinical Autonomic Research is published by Springer Berlin Heidelberg and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Heart Rate Variability and Autonomic Control, Cardiovascular Syncope and Autonomic Disorders and Neuroscience of respiration and sleep, together about 52.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Clinical Autonomic Research is a bimonthly peer-reviewed international biomedical journal publishing high-quality original research and reviews on all aspects related to the autonomic nervous system and its disorders. The journal also accepts case reports in the form of Letter to the Editors. Although the journal has an emphasis on clinical medicine, it also welcomes preclinical and translational research studies with clinical applications. Clinical Autonomic Research is the benchmark journal for autonomic medicine and the official journal of the American Autonomic Society, the European Federation of Autonomic Societies and the Australasian Society for Autonomic Neuroscience. Its international Editorial Board is composed of the top autonomic experts globally.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Clinical Neurology

Editor-in-chief Jens JordanPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 28, Germany 5, Australia 4, Italy 3, Canada 3 (53 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Heart Rate Variability and Autonomic ControlMedicine27.5%
  2. Cardiovascular Syncope and Autonomic DisordersMedicine20.1%
  3. Neuroscience of respiration and sleepNeuroscience4.7%
  4. Parkinson's Disease Mechanisms and TreatmentsMedicine4.6%
  5. Cardiovascular and exercise physiologyMedicine3.6%
  6. Non-Invasive Vital Sign MonitoringEngineering3.3%
  7. Sympathectomy and Hyperhidrosis TreatmentsMedicine3.3%
  8. Genetic Neurodegenerative DiseasesNeuroscience2.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 3
MinorNeurosciencesZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 3
MinorNeurosciencesZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 3
MinorNeurosciencesZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

MEDLINEEmbaseCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
4.53LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
4.6Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
4.3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
5LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
1.07LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.43LetPub ·
h-index
53LetPub ·
h-index
91OpenAlex ·
i10-index
1,123OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.89OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
8.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
35.9%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
56LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
435,900Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,456 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026592819
20258235164
20249043485
20238950773
20227744591
202191631,342

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

117 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 80 days – 173 days

Acceptance to online
median 21 days (89 articles)
Submission to online
median 146 days
Sample
89 articles with submission and acceptance dates (173 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
over 12 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
EasyLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
9 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer review, Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,790 / EUR 3,690 / GBP 2,990——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
150–250 words
Keywords
≥ 4
Manuscript length
≤ 5,000 words
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted17, with length limits
  1. case reportResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…Length not stated
  2. editorialResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…Length not stated
  3. editorialsEditorials are almost always invited. If you would like to contribute with an editorial comment, please, contact the editorial office of the journal. Editorials…Length not stated
  4. letterResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…main text ≤ 1,500 words
  5. letters to the editorResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…main text ≤ 1,500 words · references ≤ 15
  6. meta-analysisResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…Length not stated
  7. narrative reviewResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…Length not stated
  8. original paperResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…Length not stated
  9. original researchResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…Length not stated
  10. research articleResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…main text ≤ 5,000 words
  11. research articlesResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…main text ≤ 5,000 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
  12. reviewResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…Length not stated
  13. review articleResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…main text ≤ 10,000 words
  14. review articlesReview Articles can have up to 10,000 words, excluding references, and must be accompanied by an abstract of 250 words or less.main text ≤ 10,000 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
  15. systematic reviewResearch Articles are full-length reports of important original research. Research Articles typically have no more than 5,000 words, excluding references, and m…Length not stated
  16. viewpointffering perspectives on a shared topic. Viewpoints should not exceed 2,500 words, excluding references, and include a maximum of 15 referencmain text ≤ 2,500 words
  17. viewpointsViewpoints should not exceed 2,500 words, excluding references, and include a maximum of 15 references. Please do not include an abstract.main text ≤ 2,500 words · references ≤ 15
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
AI use Generative AI Images

Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Authorship principles

4 to 6 keywords for indexing purposes Model summary

These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Conflict of interest

Authors must indicate whether or not they have a financial relationship with the organization that sponsored the research. This note should be added in a separate section before the reference list. If no conflict exists, authors should state: The authors declare that they have no conflict of interest. Back to top

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical standards

Ethical standards: approval by appropriate ethics committee, Declaration of Helsinki, informed consent Model summary

Manuscripts submitted for publication must contain a statement to the effect that all human and animal studies have been approved by the appropriate ethics committee and have therefore been performed in accordance with the ethical standards laid down in the 1964 Declaration of Helsinki and its later amendments. It should also be stated clearly in the text that all persons gave their informed conse…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright

Open Choice articles do not require transfer of copyright as the copyright remains with the author. In opting for open access, the author(s) agree to publish the article under a Creative Commons license. Details of the OA licences offered to authors can be found on the individual journal website, in the journal's How to publish with us guide. Back to top

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access publishing

To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Clinical Autonomic Research, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Single-blind peer review

Single-blind peer review Model summary

This journal follows a single-blind reviewing procedure. Back to top

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Springer Berlin Heidelberg
Country or region
UNITED STATES
Language
English
Frequency
Bimonthly
Founded
1991
ISSN
0959-9851
Electronic ISSN
1619-1560
Society / sponsor
American Autonomic Society and the European Federation of Autonomic Societies
Latest issue on the website
Volume 36, Issue 4 (August 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Clinical Autonomic Research

What CAS zone is Clinical Autonomic Research in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Clinical Autonomic Research is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Clinical Neurology / Neurosciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Clinical Autonomic Research?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.53; CiteScore 5, h-index 91.

How long does peer review take at Clinical Autonomic Research?

Based on the dates recorded on 89 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 117 days (interquartile range 80–173 days); authors report an average review time of over 12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Clinical Autonomic Research?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Clinical Autonomic Research based?

Of the 53 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (28), Germany (5) and Australia (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Clinical Autonomic Research?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Clinical Autonomic Research is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Clinical Autonomic Research open access, and what is the APC?

Clinical Autonomic Research is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,790.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .