Journal profile · PHARMACOLOGY & PHARMACY

Canadian Pharmacists Journal

ISSN 1715-1635 · eISSN 1913-701X · Canadian Pharmacists Association

Canadian Pharmacists Journal: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,150; review about 33 days (submission to first decision, publisher); acceptance rate 35.2% (journal website); 57 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus; the journal's website says it has moved to a new publisher.

The journal's website says it has moved to a new publisher: The Canadian Pharmacists Journal is now published by the University of Toronto Press as of January 1, 2026. For further information and to access the journal, please visit the new website: https://utppublishing.com/journal/cpj Source ↗Publisher website ·

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time33 daysPublisher-reported, submission to first decision (includes desk rejections)
APCUSD 4,150Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance35.2%From the journal's website
Articles per year572025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Canadian Pharmacists Journal is published by Canadian Pharmacists Association and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Pharmaceutical Practices and Patient Outcomes, Health Systems, Economic Evaluations, Quality of Life and Pharmaceutical Economics and Policy, together about 41.8% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Canadian Pharmacists Journal is now published by the University of Toronto Press as of January 1, 2026. For further information and to access the journal, please visit the new website: https://utppublishing.com/journal/cpj This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): PHARMACOLOGY & PHARMACY

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 4, Australia 3, United States 1, United Kingdom 1, Japan 1 (10 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Pharmaceutical Practices and Patient OutcomesMedicine30.3%
  2. Health Systems, Economic Evaluations, Quality of LifeEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.9%
  3. Pharmaceutical Economics and PolicyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.6%
  4. Medication Adherence and ComplianceMedicine5.2%
  5. Primary Care and Health OutcomesHealth Professions4.9%
  6. Pharmaceutical industry and healthcarePharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics4.6%
  7. Pharmaceutical studies and practicesMedicine3.9%
  8. Health Sciences Research and EducationHealth Professions3.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPharmacology & PharmacyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPharmacology & PharmacyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
2.6LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.42LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.66LetPub ·
h-index
42OpenAlex ·
i10-index
282OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.29OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
33.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
59.79%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
26LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,226 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202650413
2025575064
20246161149
20235757251
20225858325
20217272454

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed

Not usableThis publisher's "received" date is mostly when the revised manuscript arrived (37% of articles were "accepted" within 3 days), so it cannot measure review time

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
35.2%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
33 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
34 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,150 / GBP 3,043——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Submission fee
USD 800

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 3,000 words
Reference style
Vancouver
Templates
Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted12, with length limits
  1. clinical briefClinical Brief: A shorter update in a clinical topic area—therapeutic category, drug, disease or research.Length not stated
  2. commentarylso submit a stand-alone practice tool. Commentaries: These short articles (up to 1200 words) are opinion pieces relating to any number of topics includmain text ≤ 1,200 words
  3. editoriall be published in a future issue. Guest Editorials: CPJ will occasionally solicit authors to provide guest editorials (up to 1500 words) as commentaries about t…main text ≤ 1,500 words
  4. hypothesisPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. We encourage submissions relating to the design, conduct a…Length not stated
  5. meta-analysisPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. We encourage submissions relating to the design, conduct a…Length not stated
  6. original paperPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. We encourage submissions relating to the design, conduct a…main text ≤ 3,000 words
  7. original research paperPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. We encourage submissions relating to the design, conduct a…Length not stated
  8. original research papersOriginal research papers: These articles report original findings that are relevant to our goal of advancing patient care through the dissemination of research …Length not stated
  9. practice guidelines for pharmacistsPractice Guidelines for Pharmacists: These articles will coincide with the release of major national or international practice guidelines, with a focus on their…Length not stated
  10. practice toolsPractice Tools: CPJ welcomes short articles (up to 2000 words) that highlight an innovative practice or element of practice, including first person articles by …Length not stated
  11. research/practice briefResearch/Practice Brief: These are brief (up to 2000 words, with no more than 2 tables or figures) reports of novel findings that are relevant to pharmacy pract…Length not stated
  12. systematic reviewPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. We encourage submissions relating to the design, conduct a…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Authorship

All listed authors must meet the following criteria: Made a significant contribution to the concept, design, acquisition, analysis or interpretation of data Drafted the article or revised it critically for important intellectual content Approved the final version of the article for publication Agreed to be accountable for all aspects of the work and resolved any issues related to its accuracy or i…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

Data sharing encouraged; data availability statement required. Model summary

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

COPE member. Model summary

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. If you wish to have color figures in the printed version, the following fees apply: The first color image is $800, and it is $200 for any additional color images within the same contribution. Optional open access publishing is availa…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprints accepted; DOI required at submission; do not post updated versions during peer review. Model summary

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Canadian Pharmacists Association
ISSN
1715-1635
Electronic ISSN
1913-701X
Society / sponsor
Canadian Pharmacists Association
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Canadian Pharmacists Journal

What CAS zone is Canadian Pharmacists Journal in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Canadian Pharmacists Journal is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Pharmacology & Pharmacy. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

How long does peer review take at Canadian Pharmacists Journal?

The publisher reports about 33 days (submission to first decision); first decisions include desk rejections; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 35.2%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Canadian Pharmacists Journal?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Templates: Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Canadian Pharmacists Journal based?

Of the 10 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (4), Australia (3) and United States (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Canadian Pharmacists Journal?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Canadian Pharmacists Journal is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is Canadian Pharmacists Journal open access, and what is the APC?

Canadian Pharmacists Journal is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,150.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .