Journal profile · Nursing-Nutrition and Dietetics

BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health

ISSN 2516-5542 · BMJ Publishing Group · United Kingdom

BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.6 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 154 days to acceptance (97 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 28% (journal website); 90 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor2.6From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time154 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 97 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCCharged, amount not publishedFully open access
Acceptance28%From the journal's website (2025)
Articles per year902025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health is published by BMJ Publishing Group and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nutritional Studies and Diet, Child Nutrition and Water Access and Nutrition and Health in Aging, together about 30.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

BMJ Nutrition, Prevention & Health is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal published by BMJ in partnership with the NNEdPro Global Institute for Food, Nutrition and Health. The journal exists at the intersection of nutritional science, preventive medicine, and public health, publishing work that advances understanding of how diet, food systems, and nutrition-related behaviours shape health outcomes at the individual, community, and population level. The journal publishes research that advances understanding of how dietary exposures, nutritional status, and related behavioural, environmental, and biological factors influence prevention, development, and management of disease. Emphasis is placed on work with clear relevance to clinical decision-making, health service delivery, public health policy, population health, and nutrition education. Submissions are welcomed across a broad range of interrelated areas, including cardiometabolic health; clinical nutrition and dietetic practice; public health nutrition; global food security and sustainable food systems; and the environmental dimensions of diet, including climate change and sustainable dietary patterns. The journal also covers nutrition and immunity, alongside emerging areas such as food, mood, and mental health. Research addressing behavioural nutrition, dietary behaviour change, and food environments is within scope, as is work examining social determinants of health, equity, and disparities in nutrition outcomes. The journal supports studies of nutrition interventions and implementation strategies in healthcare and community settings aimed at improving prevention and health outcomes.The journal further welcomes contributions in precision nutrition, including the use of genetic, metabolic, and microbiome data to individualise dietary recommendations, as well as work applying data science and artificial intelligence to dietary assessment, prediction modelling, and population nutrition research. Nutrition across the life course is of interest, including women’s health, reproductive nutrition, pregnancy, and menopause. Education and workforce development are also central, with consideration given to innovations in nutrition training, curriculum development, and translation of evidence into practice. Methodological studies are encouraged where they strengthen dietary assessment, food classification, or evaluation of nutritional exposures and interventions. The journal publishes original research, systemati

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Nursing-Nutrition and Dietetics

Editor-in-chief Kathy MartynPublisher website

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Nutritional Studies and DietMedicine12.6%
  2. Child Nutrition and Water AccessNursing9.8%
  3. Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine8.4%
  4. Obesity, Physical Activity, DietMedicine8.3%
  5. Obesity and Health PracticesHealth Professions6.4%
  6. Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine6.2%
  7. Consumer Attitudes and Food LabelingMedicine4.1%
  8. Vitamin D Research StudiesMedicine4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

PMCPublisher website

Other: Google Scholar

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
2.6Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
4Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.86LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.95LetPub ·
h-index
37OpenAlex ·
i10-index
128OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.58OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Volume

Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
68,902Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 433 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026515124
20259090150
20245555332
20236161493
20224242675
202159591,435

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

154 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 101 days – 231 days

Acceptance to online
median 22 days (98 articles)
Submission to online
median 176 days
Sample
97 articles with submission and acceptance dates (126 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 12 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
28%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
11 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
23 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 25 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJGBP 2,390YesCC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexGBP 1,500——
LetPubGBP 1,948Yes—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted4
  1. editorialEditorialLength not stated
  2. original researchOriginal researchLength not stated
  3. reviewReviewLength not stated
  4. systematic reviewSystematic reviewLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePeer review
Peer review Peer Review Model

Single anonymised; the names of reviewers are hidden from the author

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
BMJ Publishing Group
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2516-5542
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health

What CAS zone is BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Nutrition & Dietetics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.6; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4, h-index 37.

How long does peer review take at BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health?

Based on the dates recorded on 97 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 154 days (interquartile range 101–231 days); authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 28% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Which databases index BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health open access, and what is the APC?

BMJ Nutrition, Prevention and Health is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .