Journal profile · Nutrition & Dietetics
Nutrition in Clinical Practice
ISSN 0884-5336 · eISSN 1941-2452 · John Wiley & Sons Inc. · UNITED STATES · Bimonthly · Founded 1986
Nutrition in Clinical Practice: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.65; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,570; median 123 days to acceptance (87 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 25%; 190 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Nutrition in Clinical Practice is published by John Wiley & Sons Inc. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Clinical Nutrition and Gastroenterology, Nutrition and Health in Aging and Child Nutrition and Feeding Issues, together about 54% of its articles. Its main subfields are Nutrition and Dietetics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
NCP is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary publication that publishes articles about the scientific basis and clinical application of nutrition and nutrition support. NCP contains comprehensive reviews, clinical research, case observations, and other types of papers written by experts in the field of nutrition and health care practitioners involved in the delivery of specialized nutrition support. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Nutrition & Dietetics
Editor-in-chief Russell J. MerrittPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 31, Brazil 2, United Kingdom 1, Japan 1, Canada 1 (40 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Clinical Nutrition and GastroenterologyNursing28.2%
- Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine19.1%
- Child Nutrition and Feeding IssuesMedicine6.6%
- Dietetics, Nutrition, and EducationHealth Professions4.6%
- Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine3.9%
- Infant Nutrition and HealthNursing3.2%
- Enhanced Recovery After SurgeryMedicine2.8%
- Electrolyte and hormonal disordersMedicine2.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Nutrition & Dietetics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Nutrition & Dietetics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Nutrition & Dietetics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCASCAB AbstractsCINAHLCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.65LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.7Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 5.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 5.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.75LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.08LetPub ·
- h-index
- 61LetPub ·
- h-index
- 114OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,772OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.41OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 11.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 31.6%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 156LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 177Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 856,786Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,789 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 106 | 51 | 21 |
| 2025 | 190 | 101 | 331 |
| 2024 | 159 | 85 | 745 |
| 2023 | 172 | 103 | 1,328 |
| 2022 | 139 | 49 | 1,328 |
| 2021 | 163 | 39 | 2,334 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
123 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 79 days – 193 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 29 days (87 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 157 days
- Sample
- 87 articles with submission and acceptance dates (341 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 3 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 25%LetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 23%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 23%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 126 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 30 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,570 / EUR 3,010 / GBP 2,380 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 20,000 words
- Reference style
- AMA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Graphical abstract
- Required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- editorialEditorials are short, narrowly focused articles usually commissioned by the journal. They provide critical or alternative viewpoints on key issues and generally…Length not stated
- letter to the editorLetters to the Editor provide substantive comments on papers published in the Journal, or on topics of broad interest to the clinical nutrition and metabolic su…main text ≤ 500 words
- original articleReview Reviews are complete, critical evaluations of the current state of knowledge in a particular subject area. In addition to presenting and discussing resea…Length not stated
- original paperReview Reviews are complete, critical evaluations of the current state of knowledge in a particular subject area. In addition to presenting and discussing resea…Length not stated
- research paperReview Reviews are complete, critical evaluations of the current state of knowledge in a particular subject area. In addition to presenting and discussing resea…Length not stated
- reviewReview Reviews are complete, critical evaluations of the current state of knowledge in a particular subject area. In addition to presenting and discussing resea…main text ≤ 20,000 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Plagiarism
- Authorship Statement of Authorship.
You must conduct a brief statement for inclusion in your manuscript that lists the role(s) of each author using criteria defined by the International Committee for Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE). Please DO NOT add this statement directly to your manuscript; upload it into the appropriate text box in Manuscript Central. The submitting author affirms that all individuals listed as authors have met …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest
When a paper is submitted to NCP, all authors must disclose any personal or financial conflicts of interest within the online submission system. A conflict of interest may exist when an author (or his or her institution or employer) has financial or personal relationships or affiliations that could influence (or bias) the decisions, work, or manuscript of the author(s). All authors are required to…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics ASPEN Policy on Academic Misconduct.
The society takes seriously its role in safeguarding the research record and ensuring the reliability of our publications. ASPEN's approach to academic misconduct is primarily preventive, asking authors to provide information about prior submission of their work and to use citations to traceable sources as well as conducting our internal refereeing and double-blind peer review processes. For more …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Transfer of Copyright
All accepted manuscripts become the property of ASPEN and may not be published elsewhere without written permission from ASPEN. Copyright will be transferred to ASPEN on behalf of all coauthors by the submitting author through Manuscript Central. Copyright will revert to authors for any manuscripts that are rejected.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism.
NCP takes a firm stance against plagiarism and other forms of academic misconduct. Submitted manuscripts will be subject to plagiarism screening through the use of a plagiarism detection software. Any manuscripts that are found to be plagiarized, in whole or in part (including self-plagiarism), will be subject to immediate rejection, and the author’s institution may be contacted for further action…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- John Wiley & Sons Inc.
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1986
- ISSN
- 0884-5336
- Electronic ISSN
- 1941-2452
- Society / sponsor
- American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 50, Issue 6 (August 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Nutrition in Clinical Practice
What CAS zone is Nutrition in Clinical Practice in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Nutrition in Clinical Practice is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Nutrition & Dietetics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Nutrition in Clinical Practice?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.65; CiteScore 5.2, h-index 114.
How long does peer review take at Nutrition in Clinical Practice?
Based on the dates recorded on 87 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 123 days (interquartile range 79–193 days); authors report an average review time of about 3 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 25%”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 23% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Nutrition in Clinical Practice?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 20,000 words; Reference style: AMA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Graphical abstract: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Nutrition in Clinical Practice based?
Of the 40 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (31), Brazil (2) and United Kingdom (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Nutrition in Clinical Practice?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Nutrition in Clinical Practice is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, CAS, CAB Abstracts, CINAHL and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Nutrition in Clinical Practice open access, and what is the APC?
Nutrition in Clinical Practice is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,570.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .