Journal profile · Pharmacology & Pharmacy
Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy
ISSN 0753-3322 · eISSN 1950-6007 · Elsevier Masson · FRANCE · Monthly · Founded 1982
Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 9.85; fully open access; APC about USD 3,610; median 77 days to acceptance (141 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 50%; 1,074 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus; flagged on an early-warning list or for an indexing change: check before submitting.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy is published by Elsevier Masson and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cancer-related molecular mechanisms research, MicroRNA in disease regulation and Circular RNAs in diseases, together about 27.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cancer Research and Molecular Biology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy is a multidisciplinary journal publishing high-quality, full-length original research articles, reviews, preliminary communications, and letters to the editor within the fields of basic, translational, and preclinical biomedicine and pharmacology.The journal welcomes studies that provide clear mechanistic, pharmacological, or therapeutic insight into disease biology and treatment. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to, cancer, nutraceuticals, neurodegenerative diseases, cardiovascular diseases, and infectious diseases.The journal places particular emphasis on studies addressing molecular mechanisms, gene regulation in normal and pathological cells, susceptibility and response to oncogenic agents, preclinical pharmacology, drug action and efficacy, and the roles of bacteria, viruses, and parasites in disease processes in animals and humans.Submitted manuscripts should present a strong biomedical or pharmacological rationale and, where applicable, robust experimental validation. Studies involving natural products, extracts, or isolated compounds must include adequate compound characterisation and both in vitro and in vivo experimental validation to be considered within scope.The journal does not normally consider the following article types or study categories:Natural product studies lacking adequate compound characterisation and both in vitro and in vivo experimental validation.Purely in silico, computational, docking, network pharmacology, or bioinformatics studies without experimental validation.Clinical trials, clinical association studies, case reports, or case series.Traditional Chinese Medicine studies, including TCM formula, prescription, or materia medica studies, unless they meet the journal’s standards for compound characterisation, mechanistic pharmacology, and experimental validation.Meta-analyses and systematic reviews are not considered.Evaluation of agents for infectious diseases without in vivo validation of efficacy.Microbiome studies that are primarily descriptive, observational, taxonomic, or associative, and that do not provide clear mechanistic or pharmacological insight into drug action, therapeutic intervention, disease biology, or treatment response.Authors are encouraged to assess carefully whether their manuscript demonstrates sufficient mechanistic, pharmacological, and experimental depth before submission.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Pharmacology & Pharmacy
Editor-in-chief Danyelle TownsendPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 6%); most named United States 22, Italy 10, Brazil 8, Mainland China 3, Argentina 3 (53 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cancer-related molecular mechanisms researchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology10.5%
- MicroRNA in disease regulationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology9.8%
- Circular RNAs in diseasesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology7.3%
- RNA modifications and cancerBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.8%
- Autophagy in Disease and TherapyMedicine4.4%
- Liver Disease Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.1%
- Cancer, Hypoxia, and MetabolismBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.9%
- Genomics, phytochemicals, and oxidative stressBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
Early warning / risk: On hold in SCIE (checked 20 August 2026). CAS Early Warning Journal List: listed in the March 2026 Xinrui edition (Under Review) and the 2020 edition (medium risk); not listed in the other 4 editions.LetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 9.85LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 7.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 15.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 15.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 2.07LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.77LetPub ·
- h-index
- 78LetPub ·
- h-index
- 228OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 13,596OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 8.66OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 99.87%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 1,317LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 20,843 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 494 |
| 2025 | 1,074 | 1,074 | 5,208 |
| 2024 | 1,660 | 1,660 | 26,653 |
| 2023 | 1,891 | 1,891 | 51,615 |
| 2022 | 1,561 | 1,561 | 51,827 |
| 2021 | 1,413 | 1,413 | 60,169 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
77 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 48 days – 96 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 5 days (141 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 84 days
- Sample
- 141 articles with submission and acceptance dates (2,340 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 2 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 50%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 40 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 77 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,610 / EUR 3,380 / GBP 2,890 / JPY 447,750 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,610 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
- South American Special IssueDeadline
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted5
- letters to the editorpublishing high-quality, full-length original research articles, reviews, preliminary communications, and letters to the editorLength not stated
- original research articlespublishing high-quality, full-length original research articles, reviews, preliminary communications, and letters to the editorLength not stated
- preliminary communicationspublishing high-quality, full-length original research articles, reviews, preliminary communications, and letters to the editorLength not stated
- review articleAuthors are requested to upload a separate "Review Proposal" file in Editorial Manager, in addition to their Cover Letter and Manuscript. Please see our Review …Length not stated
- reviewspublishing high-quality, full-length original research articles, reviews, preliminary communications, and letters to the editorLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Masson
- Country or region
- FRANCE
- Language
- Multi-Language
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1982
- ISSN
- 0753-3322
- Electronic ISSN
- 1950-6007
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy
What CAS zone is Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Medicine, Research & Experimental / Pharmacology & Pharmacy. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 9.85; CiteScore 15.9, h-index 228.
How long does peer review take at Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy?
Based on the dates recorded on 141 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 77 days (interquartile range 48–96 days); authors report an average review time of about 2 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 50%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy based?
Of the 53 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 6%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (22), Italy (10) and Brazil (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy is indexed in Scopus.
Is Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy open access, and what is the APC?
Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,610.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .