Journal profile · Multiple
Knee Surgery & Related Research
ISSN 2234-2451 · Springer Nature · United Kingdom
Knee Surgery & Related Research: CAS Zone 1 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 4.9 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,990; median 114 days to acceptance (93 articles, last 24 months); 48 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Knee Surgery & Related Research is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 1 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Total Knee Arthroplasty Outcomes, Knee injuries and reconstruction techniques and Orthopaedic implants and arthroplasty, together about 51.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Knee Surgery & Related Research covers all aspects of knee surgery relating to knee joint diseases, trauma and treatment as well as basic research with clinical relevance. Knee Surgery and Related Research is the official journal of the Korean Knee Society with affiliation of the Asian societies relating Knee joint; Thailand Hip and Knee Society, Taiwan Joint Reconstruction Society, Indonesian Hip and Knee Society, Malaysian Society for Hip and Knee Surgeons, Taiwan Arthroscopy and Knee Society, Indonesian Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine and Arthroscopy, Singapore Orthopaedic Association, and Adult Reconstruction Chapter of the Hong Kong Orthopaedic Association. As an international journal publishing high-quality research articles and reviews, our aim is to provide emerging trends and new approaches to knee surgeons, imaging specialists, rehabilitation personnel, basic researchers, biomechanical engineers, materials scientists, and all those with an interest in knee surgery. Moreover, the journal strives to be the representative journal published in Asia in the field of knee surgery.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Sang JunPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 4 in mainland China (about 5%); most named South Korea 30, Taiwan, China 7, Japan 6, Thailand 6, United States 5 (77 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine25.3%
- Knee injuries and reconstruction techniquesMedicine17.1%
- Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine9.3%
- Lower Extremity Biomechanics and PathologiesEngineering6.9%
- Orthopedic Infections and TreatmentsMedicine6.6%
- Osteoarthritis Treatment and MechanismsMedicine6.4%
- Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine3.7%
- Legal and Regulatory AnalysisSocial Sciences2.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic ScholarPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.9Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.68LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.07LetPub ·
- h-index
- 55OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 434OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 6.21OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 46LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 325,900Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,012 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 48 | 48 | 25 |
| 2025 | 48 | 48 | 274 |
| 2024 | 48 | 48 | 595 |
| 2023 | 29 | 29 | 426 |
| 2022 | 45 | 45 | 934 |
| 2021 | 46 | 46 | 1,027 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
114 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 94 days – 147 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 21 days (93 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 143 days
- Sample
- 93 articles with submission and acceptance dates (117 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 19 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 19 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,490 / USD 2,990 / GBP 2,190 | No | CC BY, CC0 | |
| OpenAlex | USD 0 | — | — | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 2,190 / USD 2,990 / EUR 2,490 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Templates
- LaTeX
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted2
- research articleFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Review articleLength not stated
- review articleFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Review articleLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
CC0 data policy for published data. Model summary
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Open access under CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence). Model summary
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Knee Surgery & Related Research articles are published open access under a CC BY (Creative Commons Attributi…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2234-2451
- Society / sponsor
- Korean Knee Society
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Knee Surgery & Related Research
What CAS zone is Knee Surgery & Related Research in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Knee Surgery & Related Research is in Zone 1 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Orthopedics / Surgery; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Knee Surgery & Related Research?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.9 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 7.7, h-index 55.
How long does peer review take at Knee Surgery & Related Research?
Based on the dates recorded on 93 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 114 days (interquartile range 94–147 days); authors report an average review time of about 19 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Knee Surgery & Related Research?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Templates: LaTeX; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Knee Surgery & Related Research based?
Of the 77 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 4 (about 5%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Korea (30), Taiwan, China (7) and Japan (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Knee Surgery & Related Research?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Knee Surgery & Related Research is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Knee Surgery & Related Research open access, and what is the APC?
Knee Surgery & Related Research is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,990.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .