Journal profile · Medicine-Rehabilitation
Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine
ISSN 1877-0657 · eISSN 1877-0665 · Elsevier Masson · France
Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.95; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,030; median 149 days to acceptance (109 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 11% (journal website); 102 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine is published by Elsevier Masson and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Stroke Rehabilitation and Recovery, Cerebral Palsy and Movement Disorders and Botulinum Toxin and Related Neurological Disorders, together about 33.2% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Official Journal of the French Society of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (Société Française de Médecine Physique et de Rédaptation, SOFMER)Academic and scholarly abstracted journal publishing worldwide clinical and basic research in the field of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine.Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine publishes original peer-reviewed clinical and research articles, epidemiological studies, new methodological clinical approaches, review articles, editorials and guidelines.Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine covers all areas of Rehabilitation and Physical Medicine; such as: methods of evaluation of motor, sensory, cognitive and visceral impairments; acute and chronic musculoskeletal disorders and pain; disabilities in adult and children ; processes of rehabilitation in orthopaedic, rhumatological, neurological, cardiovascular, pulmonary and urological diseases.One of the Journals of the UEMS PRM Section. Published in association with ISPRM.8 issues/year.Indexed in all major international databases.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Rehabilitation
Editor-in-chief Christelle NguyenPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named France 27, Italy 4, United States 3, Denmark 3, Australia 2 (48 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Stroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryMedicine13.2%
- Cerebral Palsy and Movement DisordersMedicine10.8%
- Botulinum Toxin and Related Neurological DisordersMedicine9.2%
- Musculoskeletal pain and rehabilitationMedicine7.4%
- Health, Medicine and SocietyHealth Professions7%
- Healthcare Systems and PracticesHealth Professions4.3%
- Traumatic Brain Injury ResearchMedicine3.8%
- Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Rehabilitation | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.95LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 8.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 8.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.36LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.98LetPub ·
- h-index
- 88OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 738OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.94OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 44.53%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 64LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 8,222 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 93 | 55 | 25 |
| 2025 | 102 | 86 | 203 |
| 2024 | 58 | 58 | 264 |
| 2023 | 62 | 62 | 527 |
| 2022 | 82 | 82 | 1,325 |
| 2021 | 114 | 114 | 2,249 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
149 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 117 days – 200 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 54 days (109 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 209 days
- Sample
- 109 articles with submission and acceptance dates (194 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 11%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 49 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 151 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,030 / EUR 3,680 / GBP 3,230 / JPY 499,840 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 4,430 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Page charges
- No page charges
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
Article types accepted11, with length limits
- case study• Original articles: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 5000 + supplemental material • Abstract ≤ 300 words • References ≤…Length not stated
- correspondance: comment on having a scientific scopeCorrespondance: Comment on having a scientific scope • 1000 words • References ≤ 5 • No figure/No tableLength not stated
- editorial• Original articles: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 5000 + supplemental material • Abstract ≤ 300 words • References ≤…main text ≤ 1,500 words · references ≤ 20
- editorialsEditorials: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 1500 • No Abstract • References ≤ 12 • Figures/Tables ≤ 3Length not stated
- letter• Original articles: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 5000 + supplemental material • Abstract ≤ 300 words • References ≤…main text ≤ 1,800 words · references ≤ 20
- meta-analysis• Original articles: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 5000 + supplemental material • Abstract ≤ 300 words • References ≤…Length not stated
- original article• Original articles: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 5000 + supplemental material • Abstract ≤ 300 words • References ≤…main text ≤ 5,000 words · abstract ≤ 300 words · figures and tables ≤ 6 · references ≤ 50
- original articlesOriginal articles: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 5000 + supplemental material • Abstract ≤ 300 words • References ≤ 5…Length not stated
- original research• Original articles: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 5000 + supplemental material • Abstract ≤ 300 words • References ≤…Length not stated
- review• Original articles: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 5000 + supplemental material • Abstract ≤ 300 words • References ≤…main text ≤ 6,000 words · abstract ≤ 300 words · references ≤ 80
- reviews - meta-analyses - update papers - position papersReviews - Meta-analyses - Update papers - Position papers: • Word count (excluding abstract, tables, figure captions, references) ≤ 6000 + supplemental material…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Changes to authorship
Authors are expected to consider carefully the list and order of authors before submitting their manuscript and provide the definitive list of authors at the time of the original submission. Any addition, deletion or rearrangement of author names in the authorship list should be made only before the manuscript has been accepted and only if approved by the journal Editor. To request such a change, …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or a link to the online version of this agreement.Subscribers may reproduce tables of contents or prepare lists of articles includ…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Free access after 1 year Model summary
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review Model summary
This journal operates a single anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor'…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Please note that preprints can be shared anywhere at any time, in line with Elsevier's sharing policy. Sharing your preprints e.g. on a preprint server will not count as prior publication (see 'Multiple, redundant or concurrent publication' for more information).
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Masson
- Country or region
- France
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1877-0657
- Electronic ISSN
- 1877-0665
- Society / sponsor
- French Society of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine
What CAS zone is Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Rehabilitation. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.95; CiteScore 8.9, h-index 88.
How long does peer review take at Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine?
Based on the dates recorded on 109 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 149 days (interquartile range 117–200 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 11%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine based?
Of the 48 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are France (27), Italy (4) and United States (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,030.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .