Journal profile · Rehabilitation

Neurorehabilitation and neural repair

ISSN 1545-9683 · eISSN 1552-6844 · SAGE Publications Inc. · UNITED STATES · Quarterly · Founded 1999

Neurorehabilitation and neural repair: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.89; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,400; review about 193 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); community-reported acceptance: fairly hard; 86 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor3.89Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 2 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 2 · Medicine
Review time193 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance · community reports 6–12 weeks
APCUSD 4,400Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceFairly hardCommunity average
Articles per year862025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Neurorehabilitation and neural repair is published by SAGE Publications Inc. and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Stroke Rehabilitation and Recovery, Balance, Gait, and Falls Prevention and Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation Studies, together about 39.6% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Neurorehabilitation & Neural Repair offers neurologists, neurosurgeons, physiatrists, rehabilitation nurses, discharge planners, social workers, basic scientists working in neural regeneration and plasticity, and physical, occupational, and speech therapists innovative and reliable reports relevant to functional recovery from neural injury and long term neurologic care. The journal's unique focus is evidence-based basic and clinical practice and research.NNR deals with the management and fundamental mechanisms of functional recovery from conditions such as stroke, multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy, Parkinson’s disease and other movement disorders, Alzheimer’s disease and dementia, traumatic and acquired brain injuries and related secondary conditions, spinal cord injuries, and peripheral nerve injuries.Some of the key topics covered in recent issues include cortical remodeling after stroke, traumatic brain injury or spinal cord injury studied by transcranial magnetic stimulation and functional magnetic resonance imaging, mechanisms of sprouting and regeneration, development of cell lines for transplantation and trophic factor replacement strategies to promote functional recovery in human patients, multidisciplinary management of neurologic disease, bioengineering and assistive devices used in the management of neurologic impairment or pain syndromes, pharmacological management of multiple sclerosis, pharmacology of motor recovery, cognitive rehabilitation, and design of randomized multicenter trials in neurorehabilitation.The journal carries articles designed to appeal to a variety of audiences: clinical practice, research, brief communications, case reports, reviews, and media reviews. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).Submit your manuscript today at https://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/NNR.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Rehabilitation

Editor-in-chief Randolph NudoPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 3%); most named United States 27, Canada 3, Switzerland 2, Mainland China 1, United Kingdom 1 (40 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Stroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryMedicine22.4%
  2. Balance, Gait, and Falls PreventionHealth Professions8.9%
  3. Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation StudiesNeuroscience8.3%
  4. Cerebral Palsy and Movement DisordersMedicine7%
  5. Motor Control and AdaptationNeuroscience5.3%
  6. Botulinum Toxin and Related Neurological DisordersMedicine5.2%
  7. Traumatic Brain Injury ResearchMedicine5.1%
  8. Muscle activation and electromyography studiesEngineering4.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorRehabilitationZone 1
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 2
MinorRehabilitationZone 1

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorRehabilitationZone 1
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
3.89LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
4Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
5.1Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
6.9LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
1.28LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.56LetPub ·
h-index
92LetPub ·
h-index
161OpenAlex ·
i10-index
1,676OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
3.88OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
5%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
32.76%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
81LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,752 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026915044
20258659264
20248368700
202379681,238
202263351,320
2021104633,040

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

193 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports 6–12 weeks

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Average review time (community reports)
6–12 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
Fairly hardLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
11%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
10 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
193 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
51 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,400 / GBP 3,226——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted3, with length limits
  1. brief communicationiated reports of intervention efficacy. Brief Communications must not exceed 1,000 words, may include up to 10 references, and are limited to a combmain text ≤ 1,000 words
  2. perspectiveThemes Neurorehabilitation and Neural Repair considers manuscripts addressing clinical or basic science questions relevant to understanding, promoting, or measu…Length not stated
  3. reviewThemes Neurorehabilitation and Neural Repair considers manuscripts addressing clinical or basic science questions relevant to understanding, promoting, or measu…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Author contributions

As part of our commitment to ensuring an ethical, transparent and fair peer review and publication process, this journal has adopted CRediT (Contributor Roles Taxonomy). CRediT is a high-level taxonomy, including 14 roles, which is used to describe each author’s individual contributions to the work. You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures supplied in color will appear in color online regardless of whether or not these illustrations are reproduced in color in the printed version. For specifically requested color reproduction in print, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. The fee is $500 per image. NNR…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Single anonymized peer review Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract. For this purpose, a clinical trial is defined as any research project th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE Publications Inc.
Country or region
UNITED STATES
Language
English
Frequency
Quarterly
Founded
1999
ISSN
1545-9683
Electronic ISSN
1552-6844
Society / sponsor
American Society of Neurorehabilitation
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Neurorehabilitation and neural repair

What CAS zone is Neurorehabilitation and neural repair in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Neurorehabilitation and neural repair is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Rehabilitation / Clinical Neurology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Neurorehabilitation and neural repair?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.89; CiteScore 6.9, h-index 161.

How long does peer review take at Neurorehabilitation and neural repair?

The publisher reports about 193 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly hard”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 11%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Neurorehabilitation and neural repair based?

Of the 40 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (27), Canada (3) and Switzerland (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Neurorehabilitation and neural repair?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Neurorehabilitation and neural repair is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Is Neurorehabilitation and neural repair open access, and what is the APC?

Neurorehabilitation and neural repair is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,400.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .