Journal profile · ANESTHESIOLOGY
Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine
ISSN 1472-0299 · eISSN 1878-7584 · Elsevier
Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.3 (journal website); subscription journal; APC about USD 2,800; 164 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical Outcomes, Anesthesia and Pain Management and Airway Management and Intubation Techniques, together about 29% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine, an invaluable source of up-to-date information, with the curriculum of both the Primary and Final FRCA examinations covered over a three-year cycle. Published monthly this ever-updating text book is an invaluable source for both trainee and experienced anaesthetists. The enthusiastic editorial board, under the guidance of two eminent and experienced series editors, ensures Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine covers all the key topics in a comprehensive and authoritative manner. Articles include learning objectives, and each issue features MCQs, facilitating self-directed learning and enabling readers at all levels to test their knowledge.Each issue is divided between basic scientific and clinical sections. The basic science articles include anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, physics and clinical measurement, while the clinical sections cover anaesthetic agents and techniques, assessment and perioperative management. Further sections cover audit, trials, statistics, ethical and legal medicine, and the management of acute and chronic pain.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): ANESTHESIOLOGY
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 20, Ireland 5, Australia 4, Hong Kong, China 2 (31 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical OutcomesMedicine11.9%
- Anesthesia and Pain ManagementMedicine8.7%
- Airway Management and Intubation TechniquesMedicine8.4%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering7.6%
- Anesthesia and Sedative AgentsMedicine7.4%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5%
- Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science4.7%
- Hemodynamic Monitoring and TherapyMedicine4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Anesthesiology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Anesthesiology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.5Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.25LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.37LetPub ·
- h-index
- 36OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 282OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.76OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0.26%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 131LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,812 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 110 | 3 | 4 |
| 2025 | 164 | 4 | 67 |
| 2024 | 170 | 19 | 267 |
| 2023 | 183 | 26 | 353 |
| 2022 | 181 | 18 | 444 |
| 2021 | 171 | 21 | 444 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,800 / EUR 2,440 / GBP 2,200 / JPY 300,910 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 1
- Reference style
- Author–date
- Highlights
- Optional
Article types accepted4
- case reportFor case reports you are required to follow CARE guidelines and provide the CARE checklist at manuscript submission.Read the CARE guidelinesFollow the CARE chec…Length not stated
- review articleReview articles (clinical and basic science) and self assessment content.Length not stated
- review articles (clinical and basic science)Review articles (clinical and basic science) and self assessment content.Length not stated
- self assessment contentReview articles (clinical and basic science) and self assessment content.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Submissions by invitation only Model summary
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of one reviewer for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Rea…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 1472-0299
- Electronic ISSN
- 1878-7584
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine
What CAS zone is Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Anesthesiology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1, h-index 36.
What are the manuscript requirements of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 1; Reference style: Author–date; Highlights: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine based?
Of the 31 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (20), Ireland (5) and Australia (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine is a subscription journal. APC about USD 2,800.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .