Journal profile · Geriatrics & Gerontology

Aging Cell

ISSN 1474-9718 · eISSN 1474-9726 · Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd · ENGLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 2002

Aging Cell: CAS Zone 1 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 7.68; fully open access; APC about USD 3,790; median 164 days to acceptance (116 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: hard; 428 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor7.68Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 1 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · Top journal · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 1 · Medicine
Review time164 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 116 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 3,790Fully open access
AcceptanceHardCommunity average
Articles per year4282025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Aging Cell is published by Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd and is in Zone 1 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Genetics, Aging, and Longevity in Model Organisms, Telomeres, Telomerase, and Senescence and Mitochondrial Function and Pathology, together about 34.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Physiology and Molecular Biology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Aging Cell is an Open Access publication addressing the fundamental issues in the biology of aging. The journal covers all areas of geroscience, highlighting research that reports the mechanistic aspects of the aging process, as well as the links between aging and age-related disease. Aging Cell considers for publication, articles on the following topics: Basic molecular and cellular aging processes Established and emerging hallmarks of aging Disease conditions informed by aging science Clinical trials based on geroscience leads Academic-industry studies in geroscience Basic and clinical biomarkers of aging New theories of aging and comparative studies OUT OF SCOPE: Purely descriptive studies will not be considered unless they report major new advances within the field of study. Papers that focus on the pathogenesis of a specific age-related disease will be considered if they offer new insights into fundamental questions in the biology of aging.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Geriatrics & Gerontology

Editor-in-chief Alexei MaklakovPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 5 in mainland China (about 7%); most named United States 43, United Kingdom 7, Mainland China 5, South Korea 2, Germany 2 (71 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Genetics, Aging, and Longevity in Model OrganismsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology18.2%
  2. Telomeres, Telomerase, and SenescenceMedicine9.6%
  3. Mitochondrial Function and PathologyBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology6.6%
  4. Adipose Tissue and MetabolismMedicine5.9%
  5. Epigenetics and DNA MethylationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.8%
  6. Alzheimer's disease research and treatmentsMedicine4.8%
  7. Circadian rhythm and melatoninNeuroscience4.7%
  8. Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience4.6%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 1
MinorGeriatrics & GerontologyZone 1
MinorCell BiologyZone 2

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 1
MinorCell BiologyZone 2
MinorGeriatrics & GerontologyZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 1
MinorGeriatrics & GerontologyZone 1
MinorCell BiologyZone 2

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of ScienceMEDLINEPMCEmbaseCASPublisher website

Other: EBSCO, ProQuest

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
7.68LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
7.7Publisher website ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
7.7Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
11.4LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
11.4Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
11.4Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
2.88LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.58LetPub ·
h-index
121LetPub ·
h-index
221OpenAlex ·
i10-index
2,827OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
6.24OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
3.9%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
339LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher) 2025
364Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
2,349,804Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,293 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026387387291
20254284282,128
20243923925,110
20233223227,923
20222372378,380
202124724711,916

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

164 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 106 days – 219 days

Acceptance to online
median 16 days (116 articles)
Submission to online
median 184 days
Sample
116 articles with submission and acceptance dates (892 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 2 monthsLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
HardLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
20%Publisher website ·
Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
20%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
10 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to first decision 2025
10 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance 2025
148 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication 2025
19 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Unspecified peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 3,790 / GBP 2,360 / EUR 3,040YesCC BY
OpenAlexUSD 3,790 / EUR 3,040 / GBP 2,360——
LetPubUSD 3,190 / GBP 1,990 / EUR 2,560Yes—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted10, with length limits
  1. editorialsEditorials -Editorials are a versatile article type used to announce any topic relevant to the aging research community.Length not stated
  2. mini-reviewsMini-reviews - Mini-reviews follow the criteria for Review Articles as described above, but with a suggested word count of 4,000 words.Length not stated
  3. perspectivePerspective - A Perspective is a lightly referenced scholarly opinion piece about current or future directions in a field.Length not stated
  4. research articlebject to an Article Publication Charge. Research articles – Research articles should be no more than 7,500 words in length, excluding Author Checklist, Title Pa…main text ≤ 7,500 words
  5. research articlesResearch articles – Research articles should be no more than 7,500 words in length, excluding Author Checklist, Title Page, Tables, Figures, and References.Length not stated
  6. reviewPublication Charge. Mini-reviews - Mini-reviews follow the criteria for Review Articles as described above, but with a suggested word count of 4,000 words. Mini…main text ≤ 4,000 words
  7. review articlewords in length with limited references Review articles – For review papers a maximum word count of 7,500 words is imposed for all sections except the Author Ch…main text ≤ 7,500 words
  8. review articlesReview articles – For review papers a maximum word count of 7,500 words is imposed for all sections except the Author Checklist, Title Page, Tables, Figures, an…Length not stated
  9. short communicationr rapid dissemination takes precedence. Short Communications can have a maximum of 1,500 words, defined as above for research articles. In addition, Shortmain text ≤ 1,500 words
  10. short communicationsShort Communications - The Editor-in-Chief will consider short papers that report findings of exceptional relevance and interest.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteConflicts of interest, Data availability
Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest statement

Funding statement: All sources of funding should be listed in the Acknowledgments section (e.g. “Funding: This work was supported by the National Institutes of Health [grant numbers xxxx, yyyy]”). Authors are responsible for the accuracy of their funder designation, in order to facilitate compliance with funder requirements. If in doubt, please check the Open Funder Registry for the correct nomenc…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability statement (where applicable)

References: Please ensure that all references cited in the text are also present in the reference list (and vice versa). References should be prepared according to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition), i.e. text citations should follow the author-date form, whereby the author's last name and the year of publication for the source should appear in the text,…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
Frequency
Bimonthly
Founded
2002
ISSN
1474-9718
Electronic ISSN
1474-9726
Society / sponsor
Anatomical Society
Latest issue on the website
Volume 25, Issue 9 (September 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Aging Cell

What CAS zone is Aging Cell in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Aging Cell is in Zone 1 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Geriatrics & Gerontology / Cell Biology; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Aging Cell?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 7.68; CiteScore 11.4, h-index 221.

How long does peer review take at Aging Cell?

Based on the dates recorded on 116 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 164 days (interquartile range 106–219 days); authors report an average review time of about 2 months; the community-reported acceptance is “Hard”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 20% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Aging Cell based?

Of the 71 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 5 (about 7%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (43), United Kingdom (7) and Mainland China (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Aging Cell?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Aging Cell is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PMC, Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Aging Cell open access, and what is the APC?

Aging Cell is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,790.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .