Journal profile · Medicine-Rheumatology
Advances in Rheumatology
ISSN 2523-3106 · BioMed Central Ltd. · ENGLAND · Continuous publication · Founded 2018
Advances in Rheumatology: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.74; fully open access; APC about USD 2,590; median 181 days to acceptance (95 articles, last 24 months); 76 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Advances in Rheumatology is published by BioMed Central Ltd. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Research, Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and Therapies and Autoimmune and Inflammatory Disorders Research, together about 35.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Rheumatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Advances in Rheumatology is an international, open access journal publishing pre-clinical, translational and clinical studies on all aspects of paediatric and adult rheumatic diseases, including degenerative, inflammatory and autoimmune conditions. We welcome original research (including systematic reviews and meta-analyses), reviews, guidelines and letters arising from published material. Important notice: Please include the corresponding author’s ORCID iD in your manuscript file, as required for SciELO indexing. We recommend all co-authors include an ORCID iD, it is the responsibility of the submitting author to ensure ORCID iDs are included prior to publication. Please take note that as part of the editorial team (EiC, Editor, Editorial Board Member etc.) you would also need to state that in the Conflict of Interest section accordingly, please click here to find out more.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Rheumatology
Editor-in-chief Marcos Renato de AssisPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Brazil 3 (3 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Systemic Lupus Erythematosus ResearchMedicine13.2%
- Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and TherapiesMedicine12.9%
- Autoimmune and Inflammatory Disorders ResearchMedicine9.8%
- Systemic Sclerosis and Related DiseasesMedicine7.5%
- Spondyloarthritis Studies and TreatmentsMedicine6.3%
- Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome ResearchMedicine4.8%
- Inflammatory Myopathies and DermatomyositisMedicine4.6%
- Vasculitis and related conditionsMedicine4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEEmbaseCASPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.74LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.72LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.9LetPub ·
- h-index
- 55OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 628OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.94OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 68LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 640,600Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,928 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 67 | 67 | 10 |
| 2025 | 76 | 76 | 116 |
| 2024 | 92 | 92 | 566 |
| 2023 | 58 | 58 | 464 |
| 2022 | 49 | 49 | 474 |
| 2021 | 74 | 74 | 1,070 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
181 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 123 days – 250 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 20 days (95 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 197 days
- Sample
- 95 articles with submission and acceptance dates (158 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 53 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 9 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 53 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,190 / USD 2,590 / GBP 1,890 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,490 / EUR 2,090 / GBP 1,790 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 1,690 / USD 2,390 / EUR 1,990 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 189 / GBP 1,890 / USD 2,590 / EUR 2,190 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
Article types accepted5
- correspondenceResearch Review Position article and guidelines Correspondence EditorialLength not stated
- editorialResearch Review Position article and guidelines Correspondence EditorialLength not stated
- position article and guidelinesResearch Review Position article and guidelines Correspondence EditorialLength not stated
- researchResearch Review Position article and guidelines Correspondence EditorialLength not stated
- reviewResearch Review Position article and guidelines Correspondence EditorialLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Advances in Rheumatology articles are published open access under a CC BY licence (Creative Commons Attribut…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BioMed Central Ltd.
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Continuous publication
- Founded
- 2018
- ISSN
- 2523-3106
- Society / sponsor
- Brazilian Society of Rheumatology
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Advances in Rheumatology
What CAS zone is Advances in Rheumatology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Advances in Rheumatology is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Rheumatology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Advances in Rheumatology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.74; CiteScore 3.6, h-index 55.
How long does peer review take at Advances in Rheumatology?
Based on the dates recorded on 95 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 181 days (interquartile range 123–250 days); authors report an average review time of about 53 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Advances in Rheumatology based?
Of the 3 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Brazil (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Advances in Rheumatology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Advances in Rheumatology is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Advances in Rheumatology open access, and what is the APC?
Advances in Rheumatology is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,590.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .