Journal profile · Obstetrics & Gynecology
Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica
ISSN 0001-6349 · eISSN 1600-0412 · Wiley-Blackwell · DENMARK · Monthly · Founded 1926
Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.47; fully open access; APC about USD 3,370; median 127 days to acceptance (100 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 269 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Pregnancy and preeclampsia studies, Maternal and Perinatal Health Interventions and Maternal and fetal healthcare, together about 24.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Obstetrics and Gynecology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Acta Obstetricia et Gynecologica Scandinavica (AOGS) is an international journal of obstetrics and gynecology and publishes articles on all aspects of women´s health. Priority is given to articles containing original and innovative research data that have clinical relevance.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Obstetrics & Gynecology
Editor-in-chief Amarnath BhidePublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Sweden 4, United Kingdom 2, Canada 1, Denmark 1, Norway 1 (9 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Pregnancy and preeclampsia studiesMedicine9.5%
- Maternal and Perinatal Health InterventionsMedicine8.1%
- Maternal and fetal healthcareMedicine7.1%
- Preterm Birth and ChorioamnionitisMedicine5.1%
- Pelvic floor disorders treatmentsMedicine5.1%
- Endometriosis Research and TreatmentMedicine5%
- Uterine Myomas and TreatmentsMedicine4.6%
- Assisted Reproductive Technology and Twin PregnancyMedicine4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
AHCIMEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCAB AbstractsCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest, OCLC
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.47LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.5Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 5.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 5.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.29LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.49LetPub ·
- h-index
- 93LetPub ·
- h-index
- 161OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 7,811OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.19OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 202LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 249Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 2,725,272Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 17,182 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 239 | 239 | 81 |
| 2025 | 269 | 269 | 618 |
| 2024 | 288 | 288 | 1,837 |
| 2023 | 279 | 279 | 3,048 |
| 2022 | 196 | 196 | 2,715 |
| 2021 | 246 | 193 | 4,428 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
127 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 84 days – 155 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 23 days (100 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 154 days
- Sample
- 100 articles with submission and acceptance dates (570 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–6 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 13%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 13%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 112 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 19 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 21 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,370 / GBP 2,680 / EUR 3,050 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,060 / EUR 2,770 / GBP 2,430 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 350 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 2,500 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
- Not considered
- case reports; research protocols
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- commentaryCommentaries are discussion essays on subjects of current interest or controversy, giving room for the authors own views supported by evidence as they choose. T…main text ≤ 2,500 words · abstract ≤ 40 words · references ≤ 25
- editorialEvaluation of the manuscript includes a combined editorial and external peer-review process. Not all submitted articles will be sent out for external peer-revie…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- letter to the editorIn general, letters to the Editor should comment on and refer to articles published recently in AOGS. The original authors will be given an opportunity to prese…main text ≤ 500 words · references ≤ 5
- original researchFollow the specific guidelines for the type of manuscript you plan to submit: original research, systematic review, updated systematic review, state-of-the-art …Length not stated
- review articlerrent as possible. The state-of-the-art review articles should not exceed 4000 words. The recommended number of references is 60. If the main temain text ≤ 4,000 words
- state-of-the-art reviewFollow the specific guidelines for the type of manuscript you plan to submit: original research, systematic review, updated systematic review, state-of-the-art …Length not stated
- systematic reviewFor advice on writing systematic reviews authors may consult the Cochrane Reviewers' Handbook. The systematic reviews must be in accordance with the PRISMA guid…main text ≤ 4,000 words · abstract ≤ 350 words
- updated systematic reviewFollow the specific guidelines for the type of manuscript you plan to submit: original research, systematic review, updated systematic review, state-of-the-art …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Self-archiving
- AI use Use of Artificial Intelligence
Large language models (LLM), commonly known as machine learning (ML) or artificial intelligence (AI), should not be used to generate text or fabricate data. If the authors have used such tools for other purposes during the preparation of their manuscript, such as editing and linguistic enhancement, it should be transparently reported either in the Material and methods section or in the Acknowledge…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data sharing
Data sharing encouraged Model summary
This journal expects data sharing. You can learn more about data sharing in Wiley’s Data Sharing Policies resource.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Publication Ethics
COPE member Model summary
AOGS is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics(COPE) and please note that by submitting your manuscript to AOGS you accept to abide to international ethical standards in research and that your manuscript may be screened for plagiarism and similarity against previously published articles and other internet-based resources.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright After Acceptance > Copyright and Licensing
AOGS will join Wiley’s Open Access portfolio as of January 2022. Authors of papers accepted prior to 30th July 2021 may choose to publish under the terms of the journal’s standard copyright agreement, or Open Access under the terms of a Creative Commons License. Standard re-use and licensing rights vary by journal. Note that certain funders mandate a particular type of CC license be used. This jou…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Your Open Access fees might be covered
AOGS is now part of Wiley’s Open Access portfolio. As a result, all submissions are subject to an Article Publication Charge if accepted and published in the journal (unless a waiver is applied). Automatic Article Publication Charge waivers and discounts will be given to authors from countries on Wiley’s Waivers and Discounts List. Authors should submit a waiver or discount request during the subm…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Editorial Board Decisions and Peer Review
The Chief Editor and/or editorial board members will screen and decide on the suitability of submitted manuscripts to AOGS in accordance with the aims and scope of the journal and specific editorial board policy decisions. Submissions from editorial board members will be handled sensitively so as to avoid potential conflicts of interest. A manuscript may be rejected before or after peer-review, if…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprints allowed Model summary
AOGS will consider for review articles previously available as preprints. Authors may also post the submitted version of a manuscript to a preprint server at any time.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving Self-Archiving Policy
Authors of articles published in AOGS are permitted to self-archive the submitted (preprint) version of the article immediately on acceptance, and may self-archive the accepted (peer-reviewed) version after an embargo period. For further details, follow this link.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- Country or region
- DENMARK
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1926
- ISSN
- 0001-6349
- Electronic ISSN
- 1600-0412
- Society / sponsor
- Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 105, Issue 10 (October 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica
What CAS zone is Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Obstetrics & Gynecology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.47; CiteScore 5.4, h-index 161.
How long does peer review take at Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica?
Based on the dates recorded on 100 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 127 days (interquartile range 84–155 days); authors report an average review time of 3–6 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 13% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 350 words; Keywords: ≥ 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 2,500 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica based?
Of the 9 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Sweden (4), United Kingdom (2) and Canada (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists AHCI, MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, CAB Abstracts and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica open access, and what is the APC?
Acta Obstetricia Et Gynecologica Scandinavica is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,370.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .