Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-Philosophy
Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie
ISSN 2409-9961 · Universität Salzburg · Austria
Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 24 weeks (community reports); 33 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie is published by Universität Salzburg. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Philosophical Ethics and Theory, Political Philosophy and Ethics and Critical Theory and Philosophy, together about 48.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Philosophy. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Die ZfPP ist ein Publikationsorgan für Arbeiten aus allen Bereichen der praktischen Philosophie, die in ihrem Themenbereich einen wertvollen Beitrag zur vorhandenen Literatur darstellen. Die ZfPP ist offen für alle Inhalte, Methoden und Traditionen, sofern diese den wissenschaftlichen Qualitätskriterien der Philosophie genügen. Neben historisch orientierten und systematischen Arbeiten sind auch solche möglich, die den Mainstream verlassen und neue, innovative Wege einschlagen.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-Philosophy
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Philosophical Ethics and TheoryArts and Humanities22.7%
- Political Philosophy and EthicsSocial Sciences20.3%
- Critical Theory and PhilosophySocial Sciences5.2%
- Phenomenology and Existential PhilosophyPsychology5%
- Ethics and bioethics in healthcareMedicine4.7%
- Migration, Refugees, and IntegrationSocial Sciences3.1%
- Environmental Philosophy and EthicsEnvironmental Science3.1%
- Philosophy, Ethics, and ExistentialismArts and Humanities2.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Philosophy | Q3 | 566/891 | 36th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.12LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.53LetPub ·
- h-index
- 12OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 15OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.24OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 395 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 36 | 36 | 66 |
| 2025 | 33 | 33 | 126 |
| 2024 | 20 | 20 | 135 |
| 2023 | 55 | 55 | 208 |
| 2022 | 33 | 33 | 124 |
| 2021 | 24 | 24 | 64 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 24 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 350 words
- Reference style
- Chicago
Article types accepted2
- aufsätzeAufsätzeLength not stated
- buchsymposienBuchsymposienLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access
- Open access Doppelblind begutachtet und vollständig Open Access
Die ZfPP ist folgenden Grundsätzen verpflichtet: Abdeckung der praktischen Philosophie in ihrer gesamten Breite ohne Eingrenzung auf bestimmte Schulen, Themen oder Methoden Open Access Qualitätssicherung durch Begutachtung Deutsch als Wissenschaftssprache Transparenz, Inklusion und Diversität Aktive Rolle in der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Universität Salzburg
- Country or region
- Austria
- Language
- German
- ISSN
- 2409-9961
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie
How long does peer review take at Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie?
Authors report an average review time of about 24 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 350 words; Reference style: Chicago. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie open access, and what is the APC?
Zeitschrift fur Praktische Philosophie is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .