Journal profile · Dermatology
Wound Repair and Regeneration
ISSN 1067-1927 · eISSN 1524-475X · Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd · UNITED STATES · Bimonthly · Founded 1993
Wound Repair and Regeneration: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.33; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,750; median 106 days to acceptance (84 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 135 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Wound Repair and Regeneration is published by Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Wound Healing and Treatments, Diabetic Foot Ulcer Assessment and Management and Pressure Ulcer Prevention and Management, together about 51.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Wound Repair and Regeneration is the official journal of The Wound Healing Society, The European Tissue Repair Society, The Japanese Society for Wound Healing, and The Australian Wound Management Association.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Dermatology
Editor-in-chief Boris HinzPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 10%); most named Canada 7, Japan 5, United Kingdom 4, Australia 4, Mainland China 3 (31 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Wound Healing and TreatmentsMedicine35.3%
- Diabetic Foot Ulcer Assessment and ManagementMedicine8.4%
- Pressure Ulcer Prevention and ManagementHealth Professions8.2%
- Dermatologic Treatments and ResearchMedicine5.2%
- Diagnosis and Treatment of Venous DiseasesMedicine4.5%
- Surgical Sutures and AdhesivesMedicine4.3%
- Periodontal Regeneration and TreatmentsMedicine3.7%
- Tendon Structure and TreatmentMedicine3.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Cell Biology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCAB AbstractsCINAHLCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.33LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.3Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.86LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.26LetPub ·
- h-index
- 96LetPub ·
- h-index
- 158OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,012OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.18OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 2.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 46.03%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 94LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 117Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 440,779Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,898 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 97 | 62 | 43 |
| 2025 | 135 | 90 | 442 |
| 2024 | 104 | 65 | 919 |
| 2023 | 88 | 57 | 793 |
| 2022 | 84 | 33 | 1,423 |
| 2021 | 108 | 32 | 1,983 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
106 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 73 days – 162 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 14 days (88 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 130 days
- Sample
- 84 articles with submission and acceptance dates (252 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 15%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 15%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 14 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 14 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 112 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,750 / EUR 3,120 / GBP 2,500 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- basic science articlesBasic Science Articles focus on new paradigms for advancing the basic understanding of wounds and healing, development of novel interventions and analyses, and …Length not stated
- brief communicationBrief Communication may report original data, new technology describing a novel or re-worked methodology relevant to the study of wounds and wound healing or di…Length not stated
- clinical science articlesClinical Science Articles cover human clinical trials, meta-analyses and other work relevant to investigation of evidence-based, advanced wound treatment and ca…Length not stated
- consensus articlesConsensus Articles provide statements on clinical knowledge/practice of wound care, including identification, diagnostics and therapeutic strategies that are ge…Length not stated
- letterhould not have an abstract; body of the letter should not exceed 1,000 words, 2 figures or tables, and 10 references). The Editor will nmain text ≤ 1,000 words
- letter to the editorLetter to the Editor is usually written in response to a recent published article in the journalLength not stated
- original research articlesThese articles focus on original, unpublished data generated by the submitting authors that is relevant to wound healing, tissue repair and regenerationLength not stated
- perspective articlesPerspective Articles are concise, contemporary reviews of timely and relevant topics in the field of wound healing, tissue repair or regenerationLength not stated
- regeneration scienceRegeneration Science deals with the unique restoration of tissues and organs beyond the normal capabilities of post-natal healing.Length not stated
- systematic review articlesSystematic Review Articles research a body of literature based on a highly specific question.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, License & copyright, Peer review, Preprints
- Publication ethics
Member of COPE; follows COPE guidelines Model summary
WRR is a member of COPE and we ensure COPE guidelines are followed.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright Release Form
After the paper is accepted, the Corresponding Author will receive an email prompting him or her to log in to Author Services, where via the Wiley Author Licensing Service (WALS) he or she will be able to complete the license agreement on behalf of all authors on the paper.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Does not publish case studies or case series Model summary
WRR does not publish case studies or case series.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprints allowed; authors may post submitted version to preprint server Model summary
WRR will consider for review articles previously available as preprints. Authors may also post the submitted version of a manuscript to a preprint server at any time.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1993
- ISSN
- 1067-1927
- Electronic ISSN
- 1524-475X
- Society / sponsor
- Wound Healing Society
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 34, Issue 5 (October 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Wound Repair and Regeneration
What CAS zone is Wound Repair and Regeneration in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Wound Repair and Regeneration is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Cell Biology / Dermatology / Medicine, Research & Experimental / Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Wound Repair and Regeneration?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.33; CiteScore 6, h-index 158.
How long does peer review take at Wound Repair and Regeneration?
Based on the dates recorded on 84 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 106 days (interquartile range 73–162 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 15% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Wound Repair and Regeneration based?
Of the 31 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 10%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (7), Japan (5) and United Kingdom (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Wound Repair and Regeneration?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Wound Repair and Regeneration is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, CAB Abstracts, CINAHL and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Wound Repair and Regeneration open access, and what is the APC?
Wound Repair and Regeneration is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,750.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .