Journal profile · PSYCHOLOGY, EXPERIMENTAL

Visual Cognition

ISSN 1350-6285 · eISSN 1464-0716 · Taylor & Francis

Visual Cognition: CAS Zone 4 · Psychology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.1; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 241 days to acceptance (54 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 19% (journal website); 47 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.1Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Psychology2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Psychology
Review time241 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 54 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance19%From the journal's website
Articles per year472025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Visual Cognition is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Psychology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Visual perception and processing mechanisms, Neural and Behavioral Psychology Studies and Face Recognition and Perception, together about 51% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cognitive Neuroscience. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Visual Cognition publishes new empirical and theoretical work that advances our understanding of human visual cognition. The journal is devoted to research at the interface of visual perception and cognition, and studies may address any aspect of visual cognition such as object, face, and scene perception; visual attention; visual memory and visual imagery; visual word recognition and reading; eye movement control and vision for action; social vision, and visual development. Besides behavioral methods with healthy human adults, the journal also welcomes reports based on alternative populations or methods such as neuroimaging (e.g., fMRI, ERP, MEG) or computational/mathematical modeling. Visual Cognition welcomes the following types of contribution: Full Research articles typically involve multiple experiments and a relatively in-depth discussion of the theoretical implications of the work. There are no length restrictions though authors should strive for brevity. Review articles provide a critical review of a topic area in a way that makes a substantial theoretical contribution. There are no length restrictions. Brief articles report new and unexpected empirical findings of broad interest and will be favoured for novelty of approach, method, and theoretical impact. Brief Articles are limited to 3000 words including abstract, notes, captions, and appendices, but excluding bibliography, which should not exceed 30 references. Figures and tables should be used sparingly. A word count should be included on the title page. Opinion papers these are intended as brief to medium length opinion article that make the case for a particular way to advance the research with regard to an important topic in the field of visual cognition. Submissions should demonstrate a thorough understanding of the current state of the field and make a clear case for how we can move forward in meaningful ways. It is essential that the views expressed should be based on an objective view of the field, rather than serve to advance an existing agenda. The goal is to provide an outlet for authors to make a call to action, provoking thoughtful discussion and exciting new research. Submissions will be either by invitation or via a pre-submission discussion with the Chief Editors. Submissions will be subject to peer review, with an emphasis on evaluating the importance of the issue being raised by the author and the extent to which a clear path for future research is presented. Peer Review: All

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): PSYCHOLOGY, EXPERIMENTAL

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 1, United Kingdom 1, Singapore 1 (3 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Visual perception and processing mechanismsNeuroscience20.3%
  2. Neural and Behavioral Psychology StudiesNeuroscience17.2%
  3. Face Recognition and PerceptionNeuroscience13.5%
  4. Multisensory perception and integrationPsychology5.7%
  5. Visual Attention and Saliency DetectionComputer Science5.5%
  6. Neural dynamics and brain functionNeuroscience4.4%
  7. Evolutionary Psychology and Human BehaviorPsychology4.1%
  8. Action Observation and SynchronizationPsychology2.6%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Psychology Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorPsychologyZone 4
MinorPsychology, ExperimentalZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Psychology Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorPsychologyZone 3
MinorPsychology, ExperimentalZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Psychology Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorPsychologyZone 4
MinorPsychology, ExperimentalZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

SSCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

INSPECEmbasePsycINFOCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: Biobase, Communication Abstracts, Ergonomics Abstracts, European Reference Index for the Humanities (ERIH), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), Research Alerts, Social SciSearch, Social Services Abstracts

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
1.1LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.1Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.1Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.1LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
2.1Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.6LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.6Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.57LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.57Publisher website ·
h-index
113OpenAlex ·
i10-index
982OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.46OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
20.67%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
37LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
112,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,681 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026760
2025472018
20247138164
20235320159
20223920269
20218333845

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

241 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 168 days – 329 days

Acceptance to online
median 14 days (54 articles)
Submission to online
median 255 days
Sample
54 articles with submission and acceptance dates (57 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Acceptance rate (publisher)
19%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
22 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
104 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
15 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted4
  1. brief articlesBrief articles report new and unexpected empirical findings of broad interest and will be favoured for novelty of approach, method, and theoretical impact. Brie…Length not stated
  2. full research articlesFull Research articles typically involve multiple experiments and a relatively in-depth discussion of the theoretical implications of the work. There are no len…Length not stated
  3. opinion papersOpinion papers these are intended as brief to medium length opinion article that make the case for a particular way to advance the research with regard to an im…Length not stated
  4. review articlesReview articles provide a critical review of a topic area in a way that makes a substantial theoretical contribution. There are no length restrictions.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
Open access Open access

Visual Cognition is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability and reader…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Single anonymized peer review; submission via ScholarOne Manuscripts. Model summary

All peer review is single anonymized and submission is online via ScholarOne Manuscripts.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
ISSN
1350-6285
Electronic ISSN
1464-0716
Latest issue on the website
Volume 34, Issue 1 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Visual Cognition

What CAS zone is Visual Cognition in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Visual Cognition is in Zone 4 of Psychology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Psychology, Experimental. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Psychology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Visual Cognition?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.1; CiteScore 2.1, h-index 113.

How long does peer review take at Visual Cognition?

Based on the dates recorded on 54 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 241 days (interquartile range 168–329 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 19%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Visual Cognition based?

Of the 3 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (1), United Kingdom (1) and Singapore (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Visual Cognition?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Visual Cognition is indexed in SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists INSPEC, Embase, PsycINFO and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Visual Cognition open access, and what is the APC?

Visual Cognition is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .