Journal profile · VETERINARY SCIENCES
Veterinary Record Open
ISSN 2399-2050 · eISSN 2052-6113 · Wiley · United Kingdom
Veterinary Record Open: CAS Zone 3 · Agricultural & Forestry Sciences (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.7 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,670; median 183 days to acceptance (38 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 41% (journal website); 22 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Veterinary Record Open is published by Wiley and is in Zone 3 of Agricultural & Forestry Sciences in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Veterinary Practice and Education Studies, Human-Animal Interaction Studies and Veterinary Oncology Research, together about 25.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Small Animals. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Veterinary Record Open is a journal dedicated to publishing veterinary research across a range of topic areas, including those of a more niche and specialist nature to that considered in the weekly Vet Record. Original research from all disciplines of veterinary interest will be considered. Veterinary Record Open is an Open Access, continuous publication journal of the British Veterinary Association. Publishing procedures are built around rapid peer review and continuous publication, with research being published online as soon as the article is ready. Authors are asked to pay article publishing charges on acceptance; the ability to pay does not influence editorial decisions. Veterinary Record Open adheres to the highest possible industry standards concerning publication ethics. To read the journal's detailed guidelines please see our policies. Online ISSN:2052-6113British Veterinary Association
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): VETERINARY SCIENCES
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 10, Spain 3, Italy 2, Canada 1, Portugal 1 (19 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Veterinary Practice and Education StudiesHealth Professions9.6%
- Human-Animal Interaction StudiesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology8.5%
- Veterinary Oncology ResearchMedicine7.3%
- Animal Behavior and Welfare StudiesVeterinary6.4%
- Animal Disease Management and EpidemiologyAgricultural and Biological Sciences5.5%
- Veterinary Medicine and SurgeryVeterinary5.5%
- Veterinary Orthopedics and NeurologyVeterinary5.5%
- Veterinary Equine Medical ResearchVeterinary5.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Agricultural & Forestry Sciences Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Agricultural & Forestry Sciences | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Veterinary Sciences | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Agricultural & Forestry Sciences Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Agricultural & Forestry Sciences | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Veterinary Sciences | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PMCPubMedEmbaseCAB AbstractsPublisher website
Other: Animal Science Database (CABI), VetMed Resource (CABI)
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.7Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.49LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- h-index
- 28OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 115OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.97OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 17LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 18Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 80,535Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 329 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 25 | 25 | 0 |
| 2025 | 22 | 22 | 16 |
| 2024 | 13 | 13 | 42 |
| 2023 | 24 | 24 | 123 |
| 2022 | 30 | 30 | 236 |
| 2021 | 25 | 25 | 207 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
183 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 138 days – 240 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 17 days (38 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 201 days
- Sample
- 38 articles with submission and acceptance dates (41 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 19 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 41%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 41%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 47 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 47 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 153 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 15 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Anonymous peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,670 / EUR 2,410 / GBP 2,100 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,310 / GBP 1,820 / EUR 2,090 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
Article types accepted4
- protocolVeterinary Record Open considers any research paper, including systematic reviews and study protocols. There are no official word count limits but we recommend …Length not stated
- research paperVeterinary Record Open considers any research paper, including systematic reviews and study protocols. There are no official word count limits but we recommend …Length not stated
- study protocolVeterinary Record Open considers any research paper, including systematic reviews and study protocols.Length not stated
- systematic reviewVeterinary Record Open considers any research paper, including systematic reviews and study protocols. There are no official word count limits but we recommend …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Self-archiving
- AI use Artificial Intelligence Generated Content
AIGC tools not allowed for peer review. Model summary
Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools—such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs)—cannot be considered capable of initiating an original piece of research without direction by human authors. They also cannot be accountable for a published work or for research design, which is a generally held requirement of authorship (as discussed in the previous section), no…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
All listed authors should have contributed to the manuscript substantially and have agreed to the final submitted version. Review editorial standards and scroll down for a description of authorship criteria. All those listed as authors should qualify for authorship according to the following criteria:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflicts of Interest Statement
Veterinary Record Open requires that all authors disclose any potential sources of conflict of interest. Any interest or relationship, financial or otherwise that might be perceived as influencing an author's objectivity is considered a potential source of conflict of interest. These must be disclosed when directly relevant or directly related to the work that the authors describe in their manuscr…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data Sharing and Data Availability
This journal encourages data sharing. Review Wiley’s Data Sharing policy where you will be able to see and select the data availability statement that is right for your submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Member of COPE. Model summary
Veterinary Record Open is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), and as such, follows COPE’s guidance in handling ethical concerns raised about research published in the journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Reproduction of Copyright Material
If excerpts from copyrighted works owned by third parties are included, credit must be shown in the contribution. It is your responsibility to also obtain written permission for reproduction from the copyright owners. For more information visit Wiley’s Copyright Terms & Conditions FAQ.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access
There is a 25% discount for articles where the corresponding author is a BVA member, the code for which can be found on the BVA website.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 1. Submission, Peer Review and Ethical Policies
Single-blind peer review model. Model summary
Please note that Veterinary Record Open is an invitation-only journal. Once the submission materials have been prepared in accordance with the author guidelines, new submissions should be made online via the Wiley Authors submission portal: https://authors.wiley.com/journal/vro2. You may check the status of your submission at any time by logging into https://authors.wiley.com/dashboard and clickin…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprint policy: accepts preprint-published articles and allows posting to preprint servers. Model summary
Veterinary Record Open accepts articles previously published on preprint servers. Veterinary Record Open will consider for review articles previously available as preprints. You may also post the submitted version of a manuscript to a preprint server at any time.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving Self-Archiving
Veterinary Record Open allows authors to deposit versions of their work in an institutional or other repository of their choice – for further details, please see: https://v2.sherpa.ac.uk/id/publication/27128.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2399-2050
- Electronic ISSN
- 2052-6113
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 13, Issue 2 (December 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Veterinary Record Open
What CAS zone is Veterinary Record Open in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Veterinary Record Open is in Zone 3 of Agricultural & Forestry Sciences, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Veterinary Sciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Agricultural & Forestry Sciences. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Veterinary Record Open?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.7 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.8, h-index 28.
How long does peer review take at Veterinary Record Open?
Based on the dates recorded on 38 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 183 days (interquartile range 138–240 days); authors report an average review time of about 19 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 41% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Veterinary Record Open based?
Of the 19 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (10), Spain (3) and Italy (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Veterinary Record Open?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Veterinary Record Open is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC, PubMed, Embase and CAB Abstracts; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Veterinary Record Open open access, and what is the APC?
Veterinary Record Open is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,670.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .