Journal profile · EMERGENCY MEDICINE
Trauma Monthly
ISSN 2251-7464 · eISSN 2251-7472 · National Center for Trauma Research
Trauma Monthly: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 500; 39 articles a year; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Trauma Monthly is published by National Center for Trauma Research and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Trauma and Emergency Care Studies, Bone fractures and treatments and Orthopedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, together about 25.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Trauma Monthly (TM) provides scientists and specialists with a forum to publish contemporary research in the fields of Trauma and Emergency Medicine. It seeks to provide scientists, specialists, and traumatologists with a medium to publish contemporary research. Our aim is to publish highly cited papers within a short time frame. TM accepts submissions in the form of Research Articles, Reviews, Perspectives, Case Reports, Short Communications, Brief Reports, Commentary, Correspondence and Letters to the Editor.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): EMERGENCY MEDICINE
Editor-in-chief Mohammad HoseinPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 1%); most named Iran 74, India 9, United States 8, Italy 8, Türkiye 5 (117 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Trauma and Emergency Care StudiesMedicine12.4%
- Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine7.4%
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine6%
- Injury Epidemiology and PreventionMedicine5.6%
- Emergency and Acute Care StudiesMedicine5%
- Disaster Response and ManagementHealth Professions4.9%
- Abdominal Trauma and InjuriesMedicine4.8%
- Trauma Management and DiagnosisMedicine4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Emergency Medicine | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Emergency Medicine | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.15LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher)
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.21LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher)
- 0.16Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 35OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 163OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 5.5OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 39LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 942 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 2 | 2 | 11 |
| 2021 | 41 | 41 | 42 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | USD 500 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 350–450 words
- Keywords
- 3–6
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Graphical abstract
- Required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted15, with length limits
- case presentationOnly interesting and unique case reports with the following characteristics will be accepted; word count up to 1500, structured abstract (max 250 words), introd…Length not stated
- commentariesCommentaries/Notes (up to ~1500 words, including tables and figures) are the explanatory discussions of a previously published article.Length not stated
- commentaryfield, which may impose great impacts. Commentaries Commentaries/Notes (up to ~1500 words, including tables and figures) are the explanatory discussimain text ≤ 1,500 words
- correspondenceThese articles are generally written in response to published commentaries by authors whose articles have been subject to commentaries. These articles should no…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- in focus reviewsThe “In Focus Reviews” (up to ~4000 words, including tables and figures) present a collection of full papers and/or other article types by different research gr…Length not stated
- letterLetters to the Editor can be either about or not about a recent journal article (as a commentary article). Also, some special limitations may be considered; Up …main text ≤ 1,500 words · references ≤ 7
- letters to editorLetters to the Editor can be either about or not about a recent journal article (as a commentary article). Also, some special limitations may be considered; Up …Length not stated
- perspective0 words, including tables and figures). Perspectives A Perspective is a lightly referenced scholarly opinion based article (up to ~1500 words, including tables …main text ≤ 1,500 words
- perspectivesA Perspective is a lightly referenced scholarly opinion based article (up to ~1500 words, including tables and figures) about current or future directions in a …Length not stated
- research articlesented in one of the following formats: Research Articles A full-length research article (up to ~4000 words, including tables and figures- up to ~35 references)…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- research articlesA full-length research article (up to ~4000 words, including tables and figures- up to ~35 references) presents novel findings relevant to the Aims and Scope of…Length not stated
- reviewsociate editors. A full-length critical Review [up to ~4000 words, including tables and figures] provides a summary and discumain text ≤ 4,000 words
- reviewsA full-length critical Review [up to ~4000 words, including tables and figures] provides a summary and discussion of the relevant literature about any topic cov…Length not stated
- short communicationeadership within a special/theme issue. Short Communications Communications are preliminary reports (up to ~2000 words, including tables and figures). Perspecti…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- short communicationsCommunications are preliminary reports (up to ~2000 words, including tables and figures).Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, Peer review
- AI use Declaration of Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies:
Declaration of generative AI and AI-assisted Issues is an obligatory section in all types of articles. If there is no generative AI and AI-assisted issue to be considered, please declare it as “not applicable” or “None to be declared”. If You use of generative AI and AI-assisted technologies, please declare like following sentence:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Competing Interests
Editors and reviewers of TM declared no conflict of interests and authors must declare any conflict of interests of contributed authors very briefly in a separate paragraph at the end of the paper.All sources of funding should be declared; unless otherwise the following sentence should be given “Authors declare no conflict of interests”.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Expects authors, reviewers, and editors to consider COPE, ICMJE and Equator Network’s reporting guidelines Model summary
Thus, TM expects all authors, reviewers, and editors to consider COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics), ICMJE and Equator Network’s reporting guidelines in medical ethics plus scientific writing.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Follows ICMJE Uniform Requirements and WAME Model summary
TM follows ICMJE's (International Committee of Medical Journal Editors) Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals as well as World Association of Medical Editors (WAME).
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- National Center for Trauma Research
- ISSN
- 2251-7464
- Electronic ISSN
- 2251-7472
- Society / sponsor
- National Center for Trauma Research
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 31, Issue 3 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Trauma Monthly
What CAS zone is Trauma Monthly in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Trauma Monthly is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Emergency Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Trauma Monthly?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.6, h-index 35.
What are the manuscript requirements of Trauma Monthly?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 350–450 words; Keywords: 3–6; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Graphical abstract: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Trauma Monthly based?
Of the 117 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 1%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Iran (74), India (9) and United States (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Trauma Monthly?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Trauma Monthly is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Trauma Monthly open access, and what is the APC?
Trauma Monthly is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 500.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .