Journal profile
Transmotion
ISSN 2059-0911 · University of Kent · United Kingdom
Transmotion: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 30 weeks (community reports); 13 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Transmotion is published by University of Kent. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Indigenous Cultures and History, Ecocriticism and Environmental Literature and Postcolonial and Cultural Literary Studies, together about 34.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Literature and Literary Theory. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal Statement Transmotion is a biannual, fully and permanently open-access journal inspired by the work of Gerald Vizenor. Transmotion publishes new scholarship focused on theoretical, experimental, postmodernist, and avant-garde writing produced by Native American and First Nations authors, as well as book reviews on relevant work in Vizenor Studies and Indigenous Studies. ISSN: 2059-0911 Publication Frequency Transmotion publishes at least two issues per year. Fees The aim of the journal is to provide a space for cutting-edge thinking to reach its maximum audience. We believe that it is simply wrong to make money from scholarship ultimately intended to aid Indigenous survivance. As such, we will never charge an article processing fee, nor will we charge for subscriptions, nor will we charge for access to our archives. Our model is diamond open access publishing. Peer Review Transmotion operates a double-blind peer review policy. All academic articles will be evaluated by at least one peer reviewer who is unaware of the writer's identity. At least two such reviews will be required for the approval of articles submitted directly to the journal. We are aware that there may be issues with the peer review process for articles that involve specific uses of traditional Indigenous knowledges. If you believe that your article may be affected by such an issue please contact the editors in the first instance. Sponsors University of Kent California State University, San Bernardino European University, Cyprus University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Georgia University of Dayton, Ohio
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 6, United Kingdom 3, Canada 2, Germany 1, Netherlands 1 (14 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Indigenous Cultures and HistorySocial Sciences16.8%
- Ecocriticism and Environmental LiteratureArts and Humanities10.2%
- Postcolonial and Cultural Literary StudiesArts and Humanities7.8%
- Poetry Analysis and CriticismArts and Humanities7.4%
- Literature: history, themes, analysisArts and Humanities7.1%
- American Literature and CultureArts and Humanities6.9%
- Artistic and Creative ResearchArts and Humanities6.1%
- Indigenous Health, Education, and RightsSocial Sciences5.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 8OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 5OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 440 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 3 | 3 | 4 |
| 2025 | 13 | 13 | 19 |
| 2024 | 15 | 15 | 28 |
| 2023 | 27 | 27 | 13 |
| 2022 | 29 | 29 | 24 |
| 2021 | 35 | 35 | 30 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 30 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 30 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- MLA
Article types accepted4
- articlesTransmotion accepts articles and reviews formatted according to current MLA guidelines.Length not stated
- creative-critical materialsCreative-Critical Materials between reflections and creativeLength not stated
- guest editorialGuest Editorial Editorial or introduction written by guest editors. May be used in place of or in tandem with a general editorial.Length not stated
- reviewsTransmotion accepts articles and reviews formatted according to current MLA guidelines.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review
- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. Authors are able to enter into separate, additio…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review
Transmotion operates a double-blind peer review policy. All academic articles will be evaluated by at least one peer reviewer who is unaware of the writer's identity. At least two such reviews will be required for the approval of articles submitted directly to the journal. We are aware that there may be issues with the peer review process for articles that involve specific uses of traditional Indi…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- University of Kent
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2059-0911
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 11, Issue 1 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Transmotion
How long does peer review take at Transmotion?
Authors report an average review time of about 30 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Transmotion based?
Of the 14 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (6), United Kingdom (3) and Canada (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Transmotion?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Transmotion is indexed in DOAJ.
Is Transmotion open access, and what is the APC?
Transmotion is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .