Journal profile · Hematology
Transfusion
ISSN 0041-1132 · eISSN 1537-2995 · Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 1961
Transfusion: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.99; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,100; median 98 days to acceptance (115 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 25%; 474 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Transfusion is published by Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Blood transfusion and management, Blood groups and transfusion and Blood donation and transfusion practices, together about 48.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Hematology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
TRANSFUSION is the foremost publication in the world for new information regarding transfusion medicine. Written by and for members of AABB and other health-care workers, TRANSFUSION reports on the latest technical advances, discusses opposing viewpoints regarding controversial issues, and presents key conference proceedings. In addition to blood banking and transfusion medicine topics, TRANSFUSION presents submissions concerning patient blood management, tissue transplantation and hematopoietic, cellular, and gene therapies. Members of AABB receive the journal as a member benefit. Join AABB today!
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Hematology
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Canada 5, Sweden 5, United Kingdom 2, New Zealand 2, France 1 (19 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Blood transfusion and managementMedicine18.5%
- Blood groups and transfusionMedicine17.7%
- Blood donation and transfusion practicesBusiness, Management and Accounting12.4%
- Trauma, Hemostasis, Coagulopathy, ResuscitationMedicine7%
- Platelet Disorders and TreatmentsMedicine5.7%
- Hemoglobinopathies and Related DisordersMedicine5.2%
- Erythrocyte Function and PathophysiologyMedicine5.1%
- Hematopoietic Stem Cell TransplantationMedicine4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Hematology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Hematology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Hematology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCASCAB AbstractsCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.99LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 3.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.71LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.13LetPub ·
- h-index
- 122LetPub ·
- h-index
- 196OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 9,549OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.77OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 20%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 36.78%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 300LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 415Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 976,930Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 20,172 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 361 | 232 | 82 |
| 2025 | 474 | 299 | 710 |
| 2024 | 433 | 292 | 1,452 |
| 2023 | 841 | 454 | 1,894 |
| 2022 | 459 | 141 | 3,105 |
| 2021 | 571 | 200 | 5,781 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
98 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 53 days – 152 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 18 days (122 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 126 days
- Sample
- 115 articles with submission and acceptance dates (889 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 1 monthLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 25%LetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 37%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 16 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 85 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 17 daysPublisher website ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,100 / EUR 3,410 / GBP 2,730 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted13, with length limits
- brief reportel findings that are limited and scope. Brief Reports should be a maximum of 1,800 words excluding the Abstract, References, and Figure Legends. Themain text ≤ 1,800 words · references ≤ 25
- case reportCase Reports should include an Abstract, Case Presentation, Discussion, and Conclusion. Manuscripts should be a maximum of 1,800 words. They should include an a…main text ≤ 1,800 words · references ≤ 25
- clinical research focusSubmission by Manuscript Type Original Research Brief Report Case Report Report of New Alleles or Antigens Letter to the Editor Review Article Rapid Review Comm…Length not stated
- commentaryscuss any questions about this section. COMMENTARY A Commentary should be a maximum of 4,000 words. Authors are encouraged to use subheads in the text. ABSTRAmain text ≤ 4,000 words
- how do i...Submission by Manuscript Type Original Research Brief Report Case Report Report of New Alleles or Antigens Letter to the Editor Review Article Rapid Review Comm…Length not stated
- letterOriginal Research Brief ReportCase Report Report of New Allelesor Antigens Letter to the EditorReview Article Rapid ReviewCommentaryClinical Research FocusHow D…Length not stated
- letter to the editorA letter to the editor should be no longer than two double-spaced pages (10-12pt type) and have no more than five references. Tables and figures should be limit…Length not stated
- original researchOriginal Research Brief ReportCase Report Report of New Allelesor Antigens Letter to the EditorReview Article Rapid ReviewCommentaryClinical Research FocusHow D…main text ≤ 3,500 words
- rapid reviewRAPID REVIEW A Rapid Review is intended to communicate state-of-the-art information on a current, focused topic.Length not stated
- report of new alleles or antigensSubmission by Manuscript Type Original Research Brief Report Case Report Report of New Alleles or Antigens Letter to the Editor Review Article Rapid Review Comm…Length not stated
- reviewd informative. The main body of a Rapid Review is required to be in the range of 800-1,200 words. Up to 10 references may be cited. Subtopics within the maimain text ≤ 1,200 words
- review articleluhl@bidmc.harvard.edu with questions. REVIEW ARTICLE Review articles are not to exceed 4,000 words excluding references, tables, and illustrations. Authors armain text ≤ 4,000 words
- transfusion medicine illustratedSubmission by Manuscript Type Original Research Brief Report Case Report Report of New Alleles or Antigens Letter to the Editor Review Article Rapid Review Comm…Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell Publishing Ltd
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1961
- ISSN
- 0041-1132
- Electronic ISSN
- 1537-2995
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Transfusion
What CAS zone is Transfusion in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Transfusion is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Hematology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Transfusion?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.99; CiteScore 3.2, h-index 196.
How long does peer review take at Transfusion?
Based on the dates recorded on 115 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 98 days (interquartile range 53–152 days); authors report an average review time of about 1 month; the community-reported acceptance is “about 25%”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 37% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Transfusion based?
Of the 19 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Canada (5), Sweden (5) and United Kingdom (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Transfusion?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Transfusion is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, CAS, CAB Abstracts and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Transfusion open access, and what is the APC?
Transfusion is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,100.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .