Journal profile · Materials Science, Coatings & Films

TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING

ISSN 0020-2967 · eISSN 1745-9192 · Maney Publishing · ENGLAND · Bimonthly

TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING: CAS Zone 4 · Materials Science (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.21; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 77 days to acceptance (61 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 52 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor1.21Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Materials Science2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Materials Science
Review time77 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 61 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceEasyCommunity average
Articles per year522025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING is published by Maney Publishing and is in Zone 4 of Materials Science in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Electrodeposition and Electroless Coatings, Corrosion Behavior and Inhibition and Anodic Oxide Films and Nanostructures, together about 46.6% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Transactions of the IMF provides international peer-reviewed coverage of all aspects of surface finishing, surface engineering and surface functionalisation, from fundamental research to in-service applications. Its principal interest is the application of surface engineering and coating technologies to enhance the properties of engineering components and assemblies. Coverage extends to substrates and finishes of a wide range of materials – metals and non-metals (including composites) – applied in the many industrial sectors in which surface finishing is vital, e.g. aerospace, automotive, electronics, construction, functionalisation, medical, conservation, etc. Finishing processes include aqueous and ionic liquid electrodeposition and electroless plating as well as their pre- and post-treatments, together with complementary processes such as anodising; overlay coatings involving polymer/paint, powder and electrostatic organic finishes; electropolymerisation; vapour or spray deposition; vacuum and plasma assisted coatings; and other processes such as hot dipping. Contributions are also welcomed on novel technologies to tailor surface profile, texture, opacity, contact integrity, tribology, etc.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Materials Science, Coatings & Films

Editor-in-chief Karl S. RyderPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 8%); most named United Kingdom 7, Mainland China 1, Japan 1, Italy 1, Sweden 1 (13 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Electrodeposition and Electroless CoatingsEngineering22.4%
  2. Corrosion Behavior and InhibitionMaterials Science18.2%
  3. Anodic Oxide Films and NanostructuresMaterials Science6.1%
  4. Electrochemical Analysis and ApplicationsChemistry5.6%
  5. Metal and Thin Film MechanicsEngineering5.4%
  6. Concrete Corrosion and DurabilityEngineering4.1%
  7. Copper Interconnects and ReliabilityMaterials Science2.8%
  8. Electronic Packaging and Soldering TechnologiesEngineering2.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Materials Science Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMaterials ScienceZone 4
MinorElectrochemistryZone 4
MinorMaterials Science, Coatings & FilmsZone 4
MinorMetallurgy & Metallurgical EngineeringZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Materials Science Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMaterials ScienceZone 4
MinorElectrochemistryZone 4
MinorMetallurgy & Metallurgical EngineeringZone 4
MinorMaterials Science, Coatings & FilmsZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Materials Science Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMaterials ScienceZone 4
MinorElectrochemistryZone 4
MinorMaterials Science, Coatings & FilmsZone 4
MinorMetallurgy & Metallurgical EngineeringZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

EI CompendexCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (ANTE), Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace, Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Civil Engineering Abstracts, Computer & Information Systems Abstracts, Copper Technical Reference Library, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Electronics and Communications Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Engineering Research Database, Mechanical and Transportation Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts, Technology Research Database

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
1.21LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.2Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.4Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
3.2LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
3.2Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.25LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.25Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.46LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.46Publisher website ·
h-index
29LetPub ·
h-index
52OpenAlex ·
i10-index
810OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.08OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
8.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
5.45%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
39LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
44,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,887 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20264398
2025521456
202453896
20235314226
2022643266
20217010419

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

77 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 49 days – 102 days

Acceptance to online
median 42 days (61 articles)
Submission to online
median 117 days
Sample
61 articles with submission and acceptance dates (112 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average acceptance (community reports)
EasyLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
13 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
20 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
47 daysPublisher website ·

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted3
  1. editorialEditorialLength not stated
  2. research articleResearch ArticleLength not stated
  3. target articleTarget ArticleLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access
Open access Open access

Hybrid open access journal, part of Taylor & Francis Open Select program. Model summary

Transactions of the IMF is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability and…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Maney Publishing
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
Frequency
Bimonthly
ISSN
0020-2967
Electronic ISSN
1745-9192
Society / sponsor
Institute of Materials Finishing
Latest issue on the website
Volume 104, Issue 5 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING

What CAS zone is TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING is in Zone 4 of Materials Science, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Electrochemistry / Materials Science, Coatings & Films / Metallurgy & Metallurgical Engineering. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Materials Science. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.21; CiteScore 3.2, h-index 52.

How long does peer review take at TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING?

Based on the dates recorded on 61 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 77 days (interquartile range 49–102 days); the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING based?

Of the 13 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 8%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (7), Mainland China (1) and Japan (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists EI Compendex, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING open access, and what is the APC?

TRANSACTIONS OF THE INSTITUTE OF METAL FINISHING is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .