Journal profile
Tourism Critiques
ISSN 2633-1233 · Emerald Publishing · United Kingdom
Tourism Critiques: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 12 weeks (community reports); 13 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Tourism Critiques is published by Emerald Publishing. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diverse Aspects of Tourism Research, Community-based Tourism Development and Sustainability and Recreation, Leisure, Wilderness Management, together about 53.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Tourism Critiques: Practice and Theory publishes peer-reviewed research and commentary open access in fields related to the development of theory, practice and policy making that relates to tourism. The journal is owned by College of Tourism, Beijing Union University, and delivered by Emerald Publishing Services. Submit to this journal About this journal
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editor-in-chief Chris RyanPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Diverse Aspects of Tourism ResearchSocial Sciences39.2%
- Community-based Tourism Development and SustainabilitySocial Sciences8.5%
- Recreation, Leisure, Wilderness ManagementPsychology5.9%
- Digital Marketing and Social MediaSocial Sciences5.2%
- Hospitality and Tourism EducationBusiness, Management and Accounting4.6%
- Culinary Culture and TourismAgricultural and Biological Sciences3.9%
- Cultural Identity and HeritageArts and Humanities3.9%
- Urbanism, Landscape, and Tourism StudiesSocial Sciences3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 16OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 24OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.5OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 57,799Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 68 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 10 | 10 | 145 |
| 2025 | 13 | 13 | 159 |
| 2024 | 15 | 15 | 175 |
| 2023 | 5 | 5 | 125 |
| 2022 | 7 | 7 | 78 |
| 2021 | 11 | 11 | 22 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted9, with length limits
- book reviewResearch Paper — up to 12000 words Case Report — up to 8000 words Practitioner Paper — up to 8000 words Technical Paper — up to 8000 words Translated Paper — up…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- case reportResearch Paper — up to 12000 words Case Report — up to 8000 words Practitioner Paper — up to 8000 words Technical Paper — up to 8000 words Translated Paper — up…main text ≤ 8,000 words
- editorialResearch Paper — up to 12000 words Case Report — up to 8000 words Practitioner Paper — up to 8000 words Technical Paper — up to 8000 words Translated Paper — up…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- practitioner paperPractitioner Paper — up to 8000 wordsLength not stated
- research paperResearch Paper — up to 12000 words Case Report — up to 8000 words Practitioner Paper — up to 8000 words Technical Paper — up to 8000 words Translated Paper — up…main text ≤ 12,000 words
- technical paperTechnical Paper — up to 8000 wordsLength not stated
- translated paperTranslated Paper — up to 12000 wordsLength not stated
- viewpointResearch Paper — up to 12000 words Case Report — up to 8000 words Practitioner Paper — up to 8000 words Technical Paper — up to 8000 words Translated Paper — up…main text ≤ 12,000 words
- viewpoint/critiqueViewpoint/Critique — up to 12000 wordsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship
Only manuscripts written in UK or US English are accepted. Model summary
This journal only accepts manuscripts written in UK or US English.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access options
Hybrid journal; open access option available with APC, or green open access self-archiving at no cost. Model summary
This is a hybrid journal. Hybrid journals are subscription journals but offer all authors the option to publish their work open access. If you choose to publish open access you will be required to pay an article processing charge (APC). Alternatively you can opt for the green open access route and self-archive your article (at no cost to the author). Read more about our open access options.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review type
Double anonymous peer review; at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers per submission. Model summary
Double anonymous peer review. All submissions are sent to at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Emerald Publishing
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2633-1233
- Print ISSN
- 2633-1225
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 7, Issue 1 (June 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Tourism Critiques
How long does peer review take at Tourism Critiques?
Authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Tourism Critiques?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Tourism Critiques is indexed in DOAJ.
Is Tourism Critiques open access, and what is the APC?
Tourism Critiques is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .