Journal profile · Medicine-Hematology
Thrombosis Update
ISSN 2666-5727 · Elsevier · United Kingdom
Thrombosis Update: impact factor 3.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,230; review about 147 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 32 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Thrombosis Update is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and Management, Atrial Fibrillation Management and Outcomes and COVID-19 Clinical Research Studies, together about 45.2% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Thrombosis Update is an International Open Access journal publishing basic, translational and clinical research in vascular biology, thrombosis and hemostasis, and publishes novel cellular and molecular studies and new developments in the diagnosis, therapy, prognosis of thrombotic and vascular diseases. The journal publishes high-quality original research, review articles, case reports and brief communications.This journal publishes 4 volumes annually, in March, June, September, and December each year.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Hematology
Editor-in-chief Lucy NorrisPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 7, Ireland 6, France 5, Greece 3, Israel 3 (41 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine27.5%
- Atrial Fibrillation Management and OutcomesMedicine10.2%
- COVID-19 Clinical Research StudiesMedicine7.6%
- Blood Coagulation and Thrombosis MechanismsMedicine7.1%
- Heparin-Induced Thrombocytopenia and ThrombosisMedicine4.1%
- Acute Myocardial Infarction ResearchMedicine3.9%
- Platelet Disorders and TreatmentsMedicine3.5%
- Acute Ischemic Stroke ManagementMedicine3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.53LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.49LetPub ·
- h-index
- 16OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 26OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.22OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 236 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 21 | 21 | 4 |
| 2025 | 32 | 32 | 19 |
| 2024 | 35 | 35 | 84 |
| 2023 | 25 | 25 | 146 |
| 2022 | 32 | 32 | 150 |
| 2021 | 63 | 63 | 333 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
147 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 12 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 77 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 147 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 25 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,230 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,090 / EUR 1,960 / GBP 1,670 / JPY 259,220 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,310 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,410 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,000 words
Article types accepted10
- case reportFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
- case reportsCase Reports concerning interesting and topical cases or treatments of interest to researchers in our field. (1,500 words, 10 references, up to 4 figures or 4 t…Length not stated
- correspondenceFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
- correspondence (letters-to-the-editor)Correspondence: (Letters-to-the-Editor) are contributions which should be concerned with matters of interest to researchers in our field. (1,500 words, 10 refer…Length not stated
- full length articlesFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Length not stated
- letterFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
- literature reviewFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
- opinionFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
- review articleFull Length Articles are reports of original work. (5-6,000 words)Review Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or con…Length not stated
- review articlesReview Articles constitute a literature review of a particular area and can be clinical or concentrate on a basic science topic. (5-6,000 words)Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Submission declaration: work not published previously except as preprint/abstract/lecture/thesis/registered report; not under consideration elsewhere; publication approved by all authors; if accepted, not published elsewhere in same form without written consent of copyright-holder. Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy. Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Open access journal; refers to open access information page for options. Model summary
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process; submissions initially assessed by editors; if suitable, sent to a minimum of two reviewers; decision made by editors. Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed per Elsevier's article sharing policy; does not count as prior publication; free preprint posting service on SSRN offered. Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2666-5727
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Thrombosis Update
What is the impact factor of Thrombosis Update?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.2, h-index 16.
How long does peer review take at Thrombosis Update?
The publisher reports about 147 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Thrombosis Update?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Thrombosis Update based?
Of the 41 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (7), Ireland (6) and France (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Thrombosis Update?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Thrombosis Update is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Thrombosis Update open access, and what is the APC?
Thrombosis Update is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,230.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .