Journal profile · Materials Science, Coatings & Films
Thin Solid Films
ISSN 0040-6090 · eISSN 1879-2731 · Elsevier · NETHERLANDS · Semimonthly · Founded 1967
Thin Solid Films: CAS Zone 4 · Materials Science (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.38; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,120; review about 162 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 239 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Thin Solid Films is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Materials Science in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Semiconductor materials and devices, Metal and Thin Film Mechanics and ZnO doping and properties, together about 28.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Materials Chemistry and Electrical and Electronic Engineering. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
International Journal on the Science and Technology of Condensed Matter Films Thin Solid Films is an international journal which serves scientists and engineers working in the fields of thin film synthesis, characterization, modelling, and applications. The topical scope of Thin Solid Films reflects a wide range of thin film related themes: Thin film synthesis, with particular emphasis on the control of growth for desired physical propertiesSurfaces and interfacesSolar energy conversionCatalysisBatteries and other electrochemical devicesMetallurgical, protective, and hard coatingsElectronics, optics, and opto-electronicsMagnetics and magneto-opticsSuperconductivityNote to authors Contributions to Thin Solid Films should concern thin films and their potential applications. Details of film synthesis are required, together with the reproducibility of achieved results. Simulations should always be compared with corresponding original or published experimental data.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Materials Science, Coatings & Films
Editor-in-chief Timothy A. GessertPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 11%); most named United States 8, Mainland China 3, Belgium 3, Hong Kong, China 2, United Kingdom 2 (28 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Semiconductor materials and devicesEngineering11.7%
- Metal and Thin Film MechanicsEngineering9.5%
- ZnO doping and propertiesMaterials Science7.7%
- Thin-Film Transistor TechnologiesEngineering6%
- Diamond and Carbon-based Materials ResearchMaterials Science5.5%
- Chalcogenide Semiconductor Thin FilmsEngineering5.4%
- Semiconductor materials and interfacesPhysics and Astronomy5.1%
- Copper Interconnects and ReliabilityMaterials Science4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Materials Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Coatings & Films | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Physics, Condensed Matter | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Multidisciplinary | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Physics, Applied | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Materials Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Multidisciplinary | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Coatings & Films | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Physics, Applied | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Physics, Condensed Matter | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Materials Science Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Materials Science | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Coatings & Films | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Materials Science, Multidisciplinary | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Physics, Applied | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Physics, Condensed Matter | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.38LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 4.3Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.41LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.67LetPub ·
- h-index
- 175LetPub ·
- h-index
- 255OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 26,555OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.85OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 16.02%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 231LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 47,397 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 179 | 39 | 73 |
| 2025 | 239 | 63 | 540 |
| 2024 | 286 | 86 | 1,396 |
| 2023 | 383 | 114 | 2,632 |
| 2022 | 422 | 96 | 3,423 |
| 2021 | 413 | 96 | 4,117 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
162 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 7.5 months
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 7.5 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 87%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 13 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 64 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 162 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,120 / EUR 2,920 / GBP 2,500 / JPY 386,970 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,510 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
Article types accepted9, with length limits
- editorial• Full length (regular) papers not previously published nor posted on the web.• Invited review articles.• Letters, 1800-2500 words, reporting important results …Length not stated
- full article• Full length (regular) papers not previously published nor posted on the web.• Invited review articles.• Letters, 1800-2500 words, reporting important results …Length not stated
- full length (regular) papersFull length (regular) papers not previously published nor posted on the web.Length not stated
- full paper• Full length (regular) papers not previously published nor posted on the web.• Invited review articles.• Letters, 1800-2500 words, reporting important results …Length not stated
- invited review articlesInvited review articles.Length not stated
- letter• Full length (regular) papers not previously published nor posted on the web.• Invited review articles.• Letters, 1800-2500 words, reporting important results …main text ≤ 2,500 words
- lettersLetters, 1800-2500 words, reporting important results that justify priority handling.Length not stated
- review• Full length (regular) papers not previously published nor posted on the web.• Invited review articles.• Letters, 1800-2500 words, reporting important results …Length not stated
- review article• Full length (regular) papers not previously published nor posted on the web.• Invited review articles.• Letters, 1800-2500 words, reporting important results …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- NETHERLANDS
- Language
- Multi-Language
- Frequency
- Semimonthly
- Founded
- 1967
- ISSN
- 0040-6090
- Electronic ISSN
- 1879-2731
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Thin Solid Films
What CAS zone is Thin Solid Films in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Thin Solid Films is in Zone 4 of Materials Science, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Materials Science, Coatings & Films / Physics, Condensed Matter / Materials Science, Multidisciplinary / Physics, Applied. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Materials Science. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Thin Solid Films?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.38; CiteScore 4.3, h-index 255.
How long does peer review take at Thin Solid Films?
The publisher reports about 162 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 7.5 months. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Thin Solid Films based?
Of the 28 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 11%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (8), Mainland China (3) and Belgium (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Thin Solid Films?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Thin Solid Films is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Thin Solid Films open access, and what is the APC?
Thin Solid Films is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,120.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .