Journal profile
The South Asianist
ISSN 2050-487X · University of Edinburgh Library · United Kingdom
The South Asianist: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 12 weeks (community reports).
The latest issue on the journal's website is from 2023 (Volume 9): the journal may have stopped publishing or moved platform in the last two years. Check its website before submitting.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
The South Asianist is published by University of Edinburgh Library. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Anthropological Studies and Insights, Indigenous Cultures and History and Death, Funerary Practices, and Mourning, together about 100% of its articles. Its main subfields are Anthropology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The South Asianist is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal for researchers at all levels in the humanities and social sciences whose work contributes to South Asian studies. The journal provides a platform for young, mid-career, and senior scholars to present and discuss their work, find synergies for collaboration, and spur critical debate on the socio-economic, political, environmental, cultural and religious aspects that both define South Asia as a region and divide it into single units of analysis. At The South Asianist, we are committed to integrity, collaboration, constructive feedback and inclusivity, and to develop trusting and lasting relationships with authors and peers. We particularly welcome submissions from South Asian scholars whose work focus on understudied geographical and thematic areas.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 1, Norway 1, Singapore 1, New Zealand 1 (4 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Anthropological Studies and InsightsSocial Sciences33.3%
- Indigenous Cultures and HistorySocial Sciences33.3%
- Death, Funerary Practices, and MourningSocial Sciences33.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC-SA | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 200–250 words
- Keywords
- 5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Reference style
- Chicago
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- 100 years of south asian cinema: articlesArticles should be between 5000 and 15000 wordsLength not stated
- 100 years of south asian cinema: photo essaysPhoto Essays should consist of 6 to 10 pictures with a 250 word text for each.Length not stated
- book reviewsBook reviews should not be more than 800 words.Length not stated
- contributionsContributions of minumum 4,000 words and up to maximum 8,000 words (including references, captions and notes) are welcome, in line with the rationale of The Sou…Length not stated
- film reviewsReviews should be 2000 words.Length not stated
- interviewsInterviews should be 4000 words.Length not stated
- reviewl, the instructions in Ensuring a blind review have been followed Interviews Interviews should be 4000 words. Film Reviews Reviews should be 2000 words. 100 Yea…main text ≤ 4,000 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism
- Authorship
Editors may edit; authors approve proofs. Model summary
The editorial team reserve the right to edit or alter contributions, but authors will receive proofs for approval prior to publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Authors must ensure no third-party copyright infringement. Model summary
In addition, authors are required to make sure submitted content does not infringe third party copyright.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access journal; content licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 unless otherwise stated. Model summary
The South Asianist is an Open Access journal. All material is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) licence, unless otherwise stated.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blind peer review; submissions must be anonymized. Model summary
Contributions should not entail identifiable elements such as author(s)' name, address, email, so that we can easily maintain anonymity for the purpose of double-blind peer review.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Original, unpublished work; no simultaneous submission. Model summary
Contributions must be original, unpublished work and must not be submitted to another publication simultaneously.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- University of Edinburgh Library
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2050-487X
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 9 (2023)
- Official links
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about The South Asianist
How long does peer review take at The South Asianist?
Authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of The South Asianist?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 200–250 words; Keywords: 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: Chicago. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of The South Asianist based?
Of the 4 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (1), Norway (1) and Singapore (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index The South Asianist?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, The South Asianist is indexed in DOAJ.
Is The South Asianist open access, and what is the APC?
The South Asianist is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .