Journal profile
The Nerve
ISSN 2465-891X · The Korean Society of Peripheral Nervous System · Korea, Republic of
The Nerve: fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 54 days to acceptance (30 articles, last 24 months); 11 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
The Nerve is published by The Korean Society of Peripheral Nervous System. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cervical and Thoracic Myelopathy, Spine and Intervertebral Disc Pathology and Peripheral Nerve Disorders, together about 32.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Nerve is the official journal of the Korean Society of Peripheral Nervous System, and published twice a year (30th April, 31st October). Since the year 2015, when the journal was first founded, it has thrived to cover the latest knowledge in the neuroscience area especially studies related to the peripheral nervous system (PNS). This Journal focuses on important issues and up-to-date research regarding diseases connected to this field of study and any laboratorial investigations, original research articles, studies on valuable cases, technical notes of special surgical tactics or editorials. Although the main focus of the Nerve is in the field of PNS, it is prepared to accept studies in the field of neurosurgery, neurology or neuroscience if it is scientifically and medically significant.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editor-in-chief Je IlPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named South Korea 6 (6 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cervical and Thoracic MyelopathyMedicine13.8%
- Spine and Intervertebral Disc PathologyMedicine10.5%
- Peripheral Nerve DisordersMedicine8.3%
- Spinal Fractures and Fixation TechniquesMedicine6.8%
- Neurosurgical Procedures and ComplicationsMedicine5.5%
- Neurofibromatosis and Schwannoma CasesMedicine5.2%
- Meningioma and schwannoma managementMedicine5%
- Soft tissue tumors and treatmentMedicine4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 8OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.29OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 288 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 33 | 33 | 57 |
| 2025 | 11 | 11 | 72 |
| 2024 | 24 | 24 | 65 |
| 2023 | 34 | 34 | 69 |
| 2022 | 24 | 24 | 59 |
| 2021 | 27 | 27 | 45 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
54 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 30 days – 74 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 35 days (30 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 92 days
- Sample
- 30 articles with submission and acceptance dates (41 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | KRW 100,000 | Yes | CC BY-NC | |
| LetPub | KRW 100,000 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Page charges
- Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
- Submission fee
- Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
- Fee waivers
- No fee waivers
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 400 words
- Keywords
- ≤ 6
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,000 words
Article types accepted5
- case reportThe type of manuscript (Clinical research, Laboratory study, Case report, Technical note, Review article) should be also addressed.Length not stated
- clinical researchThe type of manuscript (Clinical research, Laboratory study, Case report, Technical note, Review article) should be also addressed.Length not stated
- laboratory studyThe type of manuscript (Clinical research, Laboratory study, Case report, Technical note, Review article) should be also addressed.Length not stated
- review articleThe type of manuscript (Clinical research, Laboratory study, Case report, Technical note, Review article) should be also addressed.Length not stated
- technical noteThe type of manuscript (Clinical research, Laboratory study, Case report, Technical note, Review article) should be also addressed.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship 1. Authorship
The Nerve follows the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) criteria of authorship. All persons designated as authors should qualify for authorship, and will be required to submit a statement confirming that they meet the authorship criteria. The order of authorship should be a joint decision by all the co-authors. Every author should have participated sufficiently in the work…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest 2. Conflicts of Interest
The Nerve's policy requires that every author disclose any direct or indirect financial or personal interests. All papers when submitted should contain a disclosure statement indicating any potential conflicts of interest that might constitute an embarrassment to any of the authors were it not declared and emerged after publication. The Journal encourages authors to err on the side of full disclos…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability 4. Availability of data and materials
A condition of publication in The Nerve is that the authors agree to make materials, data and associated protocols promptly available to readers if requested. Where reagents are not available commercially, authors must make these freely available to academic researchers for their own use. If there are any restrictions on materials/data, authors must disclose this at the time of submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics 5. Publishing misconduct
An article is reviewed for publication on the understanding that the work it represents has not been submitted for publication elsewhere. All authors will be required to submit a statement confirming that the manuscript represents original work that has not been published, accepted or is currently being considered for publication elsewhere except as an abstract. If you have submitted your manuscri…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright and Creative Commons Attribution License
Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License of CC BY-NC 4.0 Model summary
Copyrights of all published materials are owned by the Korean Society of Peripheral Nervous system and must not be published elsewhere without written permission. The Nerve also follow the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License of CC BY-NC 4.0 (Creative Commons — Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International — CC BY-NC 4.0)
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Copyrights of all published materials are owned by the Korean Society of Peripheral Nervous system Model summary
Copyrights of all published materials are owned by the Korean Society of Peripheral Nervous system
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
All submitted manuscripts are peer-reviewed Model summary
All submitted manuscripts are peer-reviewed
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines 9. Clinical trial registration
The Nerve requires the registration of all clinical trials in line with the ICMJE and WHO declarations. From 1 January 2009, all prospective, interventional studies whether begun before or after that date must be registered with either a WHO primary registry or an approved ICMJE registry before the onset of enrolment of patients to be considered for publication. Trials beginning after 1 January 20…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- The Korean Society of Peripheral Nervous System
- Country or region
- Korea, Republic of
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2465-891X
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 12 (April 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about The Nerve
How long does peer review take at The Nerve?
Based on the dates recorded on 30 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 54 days (interquartile range 30–74 days); authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of The Nerve?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 400 words; Keywords: ≤ 6; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of The Nerve based?
Of the 6 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Korea (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index The Nerve?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, The Nerve is indexed in DOAJ.
Is The Nerve open access, and what is the APC?
The Nerve is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .