Journal profile · NURSING
Teaching and Learning in Nursing
ISSN 1557-3087 · eISSN 1557-2013 · Elsevier
Teaching and Learning in Nursing: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.5 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,700; review about 112 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 349 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Teaching and Learning in Nursing is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Simulation-Based Education in Healthcare, Nursing education and management and Innovations in Medical Education, together about 42.7% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Teaching and Learning in Nursing is the official peer-reviewed journal of the Organization for Associate Degree Nursing. The journal supports the associate degree nursing pathway by advancing research, evidence-based practice, innovation, and scholarship that strengthen nursing education and pedagogy.Published studies focus on undergraduate nursing students, faculty, teaching, learning, and educational practice.Manuscripts focused primarily on practicing nurses, staff development, or graduate and doctoral education are outside the journal’s scope. Studies involving graduate students or graduate faculty may be considered when the research directly addresses nurse educators, teaching, or learning within undergraduate nursing students.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): NURSING
Editor-in-chief Melissa L. MastorovichPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 22, Italy 3, Brazil 3 (28 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Simulation-Based Education in HealthcareMedicine17%
- Nursing education and managementNursing16.2%
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine9.6%
- Education and Critical Thinking DevelopmentSocial Sciences6.5%
- Online and Blended LearningSocial Sciences3.9%
- Interprofessional Education and CollaborationHealth Professions3.7%
- Patient Safety and Medication ErrorsHealth Professions3.5%
- Nursing Education, Practice, and LeadershipNursing3.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Nursing | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.62LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.02LetPub ·
- h-index
- 48OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 472OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.39OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 12%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 27.23%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 249LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,092 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 292 | 88 | 39 |
| 2025 | 349 | 111 | 642 |
| 2024 | 241 | 98 | 1,427 |
| 2023 | 198 | 40 | 1,079 |
| 2022 | 128 | 42 | 1,152 |
| 2021 | 96 | 23 | 1,086 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
112 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Submission to first decision
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 31 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 112 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,700 / EUR 2,530 / GBP 2,160 / JPY 334,880 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
- ANA Code of Ethics for NursesDeadline
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 175 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 1
- Reference style
- APA
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted9
- editorialThe journal accepts the following paper types:Research article: reporting on original empirical researchReview article: reporting the findings of literature rev…Length not stated
- editorialsEditorials: only by invitation (contact the editor)Length not stated
- full length articles (innovation papers)Full Length Articles (Innovation papers): report the findings of innovative teaching ideasLength not stated
- literature reviewThe journal accepts the following paper types:Research article: reporting on original empirical researchReview article: reporting the findings of literature rev…Length not stated
- research articleThe journal accepts the following paper types:Research article: reporting on original empirical researchReview article: reporting the findings of literature rev…Length not stated
- reviewThe journal accepts the following paper types:Research article: reporting on original empirical researchReview article: reporting the findings of literature rev…Length not stated
- review articleReview article: reporting the findings of literature reviews following PRISMA guidelines, and using formal review methods (integrative, systematic, scoping, etc…Length not stated
- short communicationThe journal accepts the following paper types:Research article: reporting on original empirical researchReview article: reporting the findings of literature rev…Length not stated
- tips for the adn educatorTips for the ADN Educator: Short pieces (250 words or less, including title text and any references) that describe a unique teaching, assessment, or other educa…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 1557-3087
- Electronic ISSN
- 1557-2013
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Teaching and Learning in Nursing
What CAS zone is Teaching and Learning in Nursing in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Teaching and Learning in Nursing is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Nursing. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Teaching and Learning in Nursing?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.5; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.9, h-index 48.
How long does peer review take at Teaching and Learning in Nursing?
The publisher reports about 112 days (submission to acceptance). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Teaching and Learning in Nursing?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 175 words; Keywords: ≥ 1; Reference style: APA; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Teaching and Learning in Nursing based?
Of the 28 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (22), Italy (3) and Brazil (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Teaching and Learning in Nursing?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Teaching and Learning in Nursing is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Teaching and Learning in Nursing open access, and what is the APC?
Teaching and Learning in Nursing is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,700.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .