Journal profile
Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship
ISSN 2766-8991 · Community College of Baltimore County · United States
Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 8 weeks (community reports); 10 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship is published by Community College of Baltimore County. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Higher Education Research Studies, Evaluation of Teaching Practices and Innovative Teaching Methods, together about 35.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Founded in 2020, Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship (TALES) is an open-access, peer-reviewed academic journal published by the Community College of Baltimore County. The first issue was published in August of 2021. TALES' primary goals are to publish original research articles that contribute to teaching and learning excellence.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editor-in-chief Robin K. MinorPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Higher Education Research StudiesSocial Sciences15.2%
- Evaluation of Teaching PracticesSocial Sciences11.6%
- Innovative Teaching MethodsSocial Sciences8.9%
- Open Education and E-LearningComputer Science6.3%
- Online and Blended LearningSocial Sciences5.4%
- Publishing and Scholarly CommunicationArts and Humanities5.4%
- Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences4.5%
- Online Learning and AnalyticsComputer Science3.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 2OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.13OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 66 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 10 | 10 | 10 |
| 2025 | 10 | 10 | 4 |
| 2024 | 11 | 11 | 6 |
| 2023 | 14 | 14 | 4 |
| 2022 | 10 | 10 | 4 |
| 2021 | 11 | 11 | 1 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 8 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- Templates
- Word
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- conference proceedingsConference Proceedings record the pertinent events of a conference or other meeting sponsored by a society or association such as abstracts or reports of papers…Length not stated
- editorialAt this time, TALES accepts author submissions for original research and reviews. Original Articles Original articles should demonstrate direct scholarship in a…Length not stated
- original articleAt this time, TALES accepts author submissions for original research and reviews. Original Articles Original articles should demonstrate direct scholarship in a…main text ≤ 5,000 words · figures and tables ≤ 10 · references ≤ 40
- original articlesOriginal articles should demonstrate direct scholarship in a course through intervention, data collection and analysis of results.Length not stated
- original researchAt this time, TALES accepts author submissions for original research and reviews. Original Articles Original articles should demonstrate direct scholarship in a…Length not stated
- reviewAt this time, TALES accepts author submissions for original research and reviews. Original Articles Original articles should demonstrate direct scholarship in a…Length not stated
- review articleAt this time, TALES accepts author submissions for original research and reviews. Original Articles Original articles should demonstrate direct scholarship in a…main text ≤ 3,500 words · figures and tables ≤ 6 · references ≤ 80
- review articlesAll review articles are subjected to the same peer-review and editorial processes as original articles.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review
- License & copyright Licensing, Copyright, and Article Processing Charges
TALES is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License. All articles published in TALES carry the same CC BY NC 4.0 license. Authors retain their copyright. There is no article processing charge to publish in TALES.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review and Editing
Manuscripts will be sent for blind peer review with author names and affiliations removed. All manuscripts accepted for publication will be edited in the journal offices to adhere to TALES’ house style. The corresponding author will receive a proof for approval before publication. The peer review process at TALES is meant to be a positive experience that enhances the overall quality of the article…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Community College of Baltimore County
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2766-8991
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 6, Issue 1 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship
How long does peer review take at Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship?
Authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: APA; Templates: Word; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship is indexed in DOAJ.
Is Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship open access, and what is the APC?
Teaching and Learning Excellence through Scholarship is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .