Journal profile · Medicine-Dermatology
Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology
ISSN 1984-5510 · eISSN 1984-8773 · Sociedade Brasileira de Dermatologia · Brazil
Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 15 weeks (community reports); 75 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology is published by Sociedade Brasileira de Dermatologia. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dermatologic Treatments and Research, Facial Rejuvenation and Surgery Techniques and Nonmelanoma Skin Cancer Studies, together about 34% of its articles. Its main subfields are Dermatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Surgical & Cosmetic Dermatology, first published in 2009, is a medical journal devoted to disseminating experience in the fields of Dermatologic and Cosmetic Surgery, Cutaneous Oncology, Images in Dermatology, Cosmetic Dermatology, Laser and Others Technologies in Dermatology. It is a continuous publication (CP) periodical of the Brazilian Society of Dermatology.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Dermatology
Editor-in-chief Hamilton Ometto StolfPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Brazil 4, United States 1 (5 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Dermatologic Treatments and ResearchMedicine16.1%
- Facial Rejuvenation and Surgery TechniquesMedicine9.2%
- Nonmelanoma Skin Cancer StudiesMedicine8.7%
- Reconstructive Facial Surgery TechniquesMedicine7.1%
- Cancer and Skin LesionsMedicine7%
- melanin and skin pigmentationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.8%
- Cutaneous Melanoma Detection and ManagementMedicine5.8%
- Skin Protection and AgingMedicine3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dermatology | Q4 | 136/152 | 10th |
| Surgery | Q4 | 559/597 | 6th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
LILACS, Sumarios.org, Latindex, Periódica, RedalycPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.3Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.14LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher)
- 0.3Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.26LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher)
- 0.14Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 13OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 22OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.11OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 825 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 38 | 38 | 58 |
| 2025 | 75 | 75 | 115 |
| 2024 | 39 | 39 | 172 |
| 2023 | 44 | 44 | 133 |
| 2022 | 57 | 57 | 109 |
| 2021 | 60 | 60 | 118 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- 3–10
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted5
- case reportCase report is the description of cases or series of relevant cases in the areas of interest of S&CD, depicting treatments, complications, etc. It must contain …Length not stated
- diagnostic imagingDiagnostic Imaging addresses topics or clinical cases where imaging exams (dermoscopy, confocal microscopy, ultrasound, and other methods) are essential for dia…Length not stated
- how i do it?How do I do it? describes new techniques or details of procedures. It must contain unstructured abstract of up to 100 words, an introduction with a literature r…Length not stated
- letters to the editorLetters to the editor are objective, brief, and constructive comments on previously published studies or research. The text should be up to 600 words, with a ma…Length not stated
- review articlesReview articles deepen specific themes in the areas of interest of S&CD, algorithms, compilations, statistics, consensus, and guidelines. These papers have a fr…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review, Preprints
- License & copyright
Copyright and licensing: Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence. Model summary
All content the journal, except where identified, under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Peer review: double-blind peer review. Model summary
Surgical & Cosmetic Dermatology adopts a double-blind peer review.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints PREPRINT
Preprint policy: preprint sharing allowed anywhere at any time; encouraged to link to formal publication via DOI; can update preprints on bioRxiv, medRxiv or others with accepted manuscript. Model summary
We accept the submission of articles deposited in preprints repositories. Authors can share their preprint anywhere at any time.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Sociedade Brasileira de Dermatologia
- Country or region
- Brazil
- Language
- English, Portuguese
- ISSN
- 1984-5510
- Electronic ISSN
- 1984-8773
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology
How long does peer review take at Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology?
Authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: 3–10; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology based?
Of the 5 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Brazil (4) and United States (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology open access, and what is the APC?
Surgical and Cosmetic Dermatology is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .