Journal profile · Medicine-Surgery
Surgery Open Digestive Advance
ISSN 2667-0089 · Elsevier · France
Surgery Open Digestive Advance: impact factor 2.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,160; review about 130 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 31 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Surgery Open Digestive Advance is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Colorectal Cancer Surgical Treatments, Diverse Scientific and Economic Studies and Human auditory perception and evaluation, together about 17.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Surgery Open Digestive Advance (SODA) is a new peer-reviewed open-access journal.Published e-only, the Journal focuses on clinical study and continuing education, publishing high-quality original research articles and review articles related to digestive surgery.Surgery Open Digestive Advance wishes to offer new possibilities for surgeons to share their knowledge using new communication solutions such as clinical video vignette and privileging evidence-based care. The editors will strongly encourage the publication of real-world data and papers reporting surgical advances and clinical solutions aimed at providing improved patient care. The peer review method will help to maintain quality standards, enhance performance, and ensure credibility. Viewpoints, editorials and letters on new techniques will complete the editorial offering.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Surgery
Editor-in-chief Marc PocardPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named France 9, United States 5, Argentina 3, United Arab Emirates 2, Italy 1 (22 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Colorectal Cancer Surgical TreatmentsMedicine5.9%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.9%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering5.9%
- Gallbladder and Bile Duct DisordersMedicine5.6%
- Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science5.3%
- Hernia repair and managementMedicine5%
- Esophageal and GI PathologyMedicine5%
- Gastrointestinal disorders and treatmentsMedicine4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.16LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.26LetPub ·
- h-index
- 6OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.4OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 213 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 16 | 16 | 0 |
| 2025 | 31 | 31 | 8 |
| 2024 | 56 | 56 | 33 |
| 2023 | 40 | 40 | 59 |
| 2022 | 37 | 37 | 33 |
| 2021 | 33 | 33 | 22 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
130 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 15 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 34 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 117 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 130 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 48 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 29 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,160 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,120 / EUR 1,980 / GBP 1,700 / JPY 262,940 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,000 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,150 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
Article types accepted4
- correspondence/lettersCorrespondence/Letters The text must not exceed 500 words, tables, figures and references not included. The number of references is limited to 4, except in part…Length not stated
- editorialEditorial The text must not exceed 1 000 words (figures and references not included). Except in particular cases, an editorial must not count more than 1 author…Length not stated
- meta-analysisTypes of accepted articles and their specifications are given below. Word count for the main manuscript includes only the main body of text (i.e., not tables, f…Length not stated
- reviewTypes of accepted articles and their specifications are given below. Word count for the main manuscript includes only the main body of text (i.e., not tables, f…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Publishing ethics policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- France
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2667-0089
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Surgery Open Digestive Advance
What is the impact factor of Surgery Open Digestive Advance?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.6, h-index 6.
How long does peer review take at Surgery Open Digestive Advance?
The publisher reports about 130 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Surgery Open Digestive Advance based?
Of the 22 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are France (9), United States (5) and Argentina (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Surgery Open Digestive Advance?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Surgery Open Digestive Advance is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Surgery Open Digestive Advance open access, and what is the APC?
Surgery Open Digestive Advance is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,160.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .